Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2007
Fabulous - what a truely great read!

A gay, romantic lovestory (taken straight from the pages of a Dallas TV script!). This great story includes family woes, mystery, evil, love, brothers, sisters, cattle, ranch hands, a steakhouse, trucks, homophobia, secrets and MOST IMPORTANT fabulous gay characters!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book - its lighthearted, romantic fun, with gay characters taking centre stage. ENJOY!!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2008
Cowboys in Texas. Hot erotic romance. Bit of an oxymoron? Yes. But is it true? Yes. After Brokeback Mountain, gay cowboys may seem a bit of a cliche or at least bandwagon jumping, [and that may well be the case] but it makes a change from the usual staple fare of gay novels, the teenage coming out story. Pacily written, with steamy, nay, explicit sex scenes, [tell me how does a woman know what gay sex can or should be like so accurately?] and yet still romantic. Worth reading? Definitely. High literature? No. The plot is predictable, and some of the characters would strain to be called sketchy, but the main characters are fairly well developed and the pacing is good. The tension is maintained throughout, even though one knows the outcome before the end, in fact probably before the end of the first chapter. A good fun read, escapist and perhaps what one would like to dream of.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
I bought this novel on the strength of the reviews here, and I have to say I was rather disappointed. That's not to say that the characters weren't likable, but just that the plot seemed to have been thrown together around a series of sex scenes, rather than the sex being part of the wider plot.

At no point, even when they were being shot at or subject to homophobic abuse, did I really feel that there was any danger for the two main characters, and all the little obstacles the author threw in their way were dealt with far too quickly for there ever to be any real narrative tension.

It's not an awful book, in fact it's rather sweet and charming in it's way and I'm sure a lot of m/m romance readers will just love it, but it failed to grab my attention.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
This book has all your basic ingredience... small pinch of comedy, a Tablespoon of Family angst, a stock of mystery, Prime Rib Cowboys, simmering Hot Sex and served with Romance (I may have lost the plot there just slightly but it made sense at the time)

Anyway...
Ethan's best friend just turned up with Shocking news his baby brother just outed himself and their papa went and disowned the poor kid. Ethan's not going to sit back and let Jamie be forced out of his home town so offers the kid a job on his ranch... you can never have enough good ranch hands.

Jamie has idolised Ethan since before he could walk and when his sex drive kicked in Ethan was the star of more than one hot fantasy living on his ranch seeing his hot bod every day is going to be hell... or is it?
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
I was drawn in from the first page, you can't help but fall for Ethan and Jamie. Cowboys, sex and so much more. A great read!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
A fabulous love story between two hot, sexy men. I loved it from the first chapter. Very good book and well worth a bedtime read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
The story line is fairly standard adult coming out but still difficult to put down. I read it before Broken H which is certainly the right order. The plot twists are unexpected. A great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
If you arrived at this book by doing a search for 'gay cowboy love' (go on, admit it!) then you probably won't be disappointed. The plot is as follows: Jamie Killian is kicked out of his evil father's ranch for coming out, Ethan (a family friend) takes him in, Jamie and Ethan have sex, Jamie and Ethan have more sex, Jamie and Ethan have even more sex. Oh, there's also some homophobia, vandalism, shootings and family intrigue thrown in.

Although the sex scenes are hot I would have liked Jamie and Ethan to have held back a bit at the beginning just to ramp up the sexual tension, rather than jumping into bed together at the first opportunity. It also would have made it more convincing that they were 'in love' rather than just 'in lust'. Their love is quite sweet and romantic but it was a bit too instant for my liking.

If you are looking for anything deep and meaningful you won't find it here, but if you're looking for a light, romantic, pacy, sexy read, then this book is highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
After reading this novel I was quite disappointed. I read her previous books about werewolves and I expected something like that, but I found it really blank and boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I loved this book, couldn't put it down. Loved Ethan and Jaime. This is a love story, it also has how horrendous some people can so easily turn their backs on their own. And how others can love u as their own.

I recommend taking a chance, I did and loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.