Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DALLAS GOES GAY!
Fabulous - what a truely great read!

A gay, romantic lovestory (taken straight from the pages of a Dallas TV script!). This great story includes family woes, mystery, evil, love, brothers, sisters, cattle, ranch hands, a steakhouse, trucks, homophobia, secrets and MOST IMPORTANT fabulous gay characters!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book - its...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by R. L. Judd

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much at stake
I bought this novel on the strength of the reviews here, and I have to say I was rather disappointed. That's not to say that the characters weren't likable, but just that the plot seemed to have been thrown together around a series of sex scenes, rather than the sex being part of the wider plot.

At no point, even when they were being shot at or subject to...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Josephine Myles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DALLAS GOES GAY!, 29 Oct 2007
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tin Star (Paperback)
Fabulous - what a truely great read!

A gay, romantic lovestory (taken straight from the pages of a Dallas TV script!). This great story includes family woes, mystery, evil, love, brothers, sisters, cattle, ranch hands, a steakhouse, trucks, homophobia, secrets and MOST IMPORTANT fabulous gay characters!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book - its lighthearted, romantic fun, with gay characters taking centre stage. ENJOY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Erotic Romance? Yes!, 19 Dec 2008
By 
A. R. Mash (Saffron Walden, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tin Star (Paperback)
Cowboys in Texas. Hot erotic romance. Bit of an oxymoron? Yes. But is it true? Yes. After Brokeback Mountain, gay cowboys may seem a bit of a cliche or at least bandwagon jumping, [and that may well be the case] but it makes a change from the usual staple fare of gay novels, the teenage coming out story. Pacily written, with steamy, nay, explicit sex scenes, [tell me how does a woman know what gay sex can or should be like so accurately?] and yet still romantic. Worth reading? Definitely. High literature? No. The plot is predictable, and some of the characters would strain to be called sketchy, but the main characters are fairly well developed and the pacing is good. The tension is maintained throughout, even though one knows the outcome before the end, in fact probably before the end of the first chapter. A good fun read, escapist and perhaps what one would like to dream of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J L Langley Writes Good M/M Romances...., 11 July 2007
By 
Avid Reader (Middle England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tin Star (Paperback)
This book has all your basic ingredience... small pinch of comedy, a Tablespoon of Family angst, a stock of mystery, Prime Rib Cowboys, simmering Hot Sex and served with Romance (I may have lost the plot there just slightly but it made sense at the time)

Anyway...
Ethan's best friend just turned up with Shocking news his baby brother just outed himself and their papa went and disowned the poor kid. Ethan's not going to sit back and let Jamie be forced out of his home town so offers the kid a job on his ranch... you can never have enough good ranch hands.

Jamie has idolised Ethan since before he could walk and when his sex drive kicked in Ethan was the star of more than one hot fantasy living on his ranch seeing his hot bod every day is going to be hell... or is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much at stake, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Tin Star (Paperback)
I bought this novel on the strength of the reviews here, and I have to say I was rather disappointed. That's not to say that the characters weren't likable, but just that the plot seemed to have been thrown together around a series of sex scenes, rather than the sex being part of the wider plot.

At no point, even when they were being shot at or subject to homophobic abuse, did I really feel that there was any danger for the two main characters, and all the little obstacles the author threw in their way were dealt with far too quickly for there ever to be any real narrative tension.

It's not an awful book, in fact it's rather sweet and charming in it's way and I'm sure a lot of m/m romance readers will just love it, but it failed to grab my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 20 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Tin Star (Paperback)
I was drawn in from the first page, you can't help but fall for Ethan and Jamie. Cowboys, sex and so much more. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only ever a few pages away from a hot sex scene!, 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tin Star (Kindle Edition)
If you arrived at this book by doing a search for 'gay cowboy love' (go on, admit it!) then you probably won't be disappointed. The plot is as follows: Jamie Killian is kicked out of his evil father's ranch for coming out, Ethan (a family friend) takes him in, Jamie and Ethan have sex, Jamie and Ethan have more sex, Jamie and Ethan have even more sex. Oh, there's also some homophobia, vandalism, shootings and family intrigue thrown in.

Although the sex scenes are hot I would have liked Jamie and Ethan to have held back a bit at the beginning just to ramp up the sexual tension, rather than jumping into bed together at the first opportunity. It also would have made it more convincing that they were 'in love' rather than just 'in lust'. Their love is quite sweet and romantic but it was a bit too instant for my liking.

If you are looking for anything deep and meaningful you won't find it here, but if you're looking for a light, romantic, pacy, sexy read, then this book is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tin Star, 15 May 2008
This review is from: The Tin Star (Paperback)
A fabulous love story between two hot, sexy men. I loved it from the first chapter. Very good book and well worth a bedtime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Tin Star (Kindle Edition)
This is first book I have read from this author and found this book really enjoyable.I loved Ethan and Jamie who wouldnt they made a believable couple and plenty hot sex going on as well as a good plot will definatly read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more plot please, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tin Star (Kindle Edition)
Bought this based on the amount of higher reviews on here but I was disappointed. The characters were sweet but on occasion I felt the dialogue came across as juvenile and the parts of the plot that were supposed to be tense and gripping didn't quite pull it off. The gay cowboys in repressed small town as been done before and better (Morning Report by Sue Brown being one.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars packed with events but could ahve been more gripping, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tin Star (Kindle Edition)
I liked the characters Ethan and Jamie, and the secondary characters all play their part well. the story is interesting and certainly kept me curious as to what would happen next - and plenty did. But given that it is based in a background of bigotry and hate I didn't feel the true depth of threat came through. Although serious injuries occur they were too easily resolved and there was a lack of risk despite a potentially fatal injury. It is still a good read and enjoyable but I was expecting more from reviews i have read and also from having thoroughly enjoyed other books by the same author (would definitely recommend those).Without Reservations: With or Without, Book 1 With Caution: With or Without, Book 2 With Abandon: With or Without, Book 3 His Convenient Husband: Innamorati, Book 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

The Tin Star
The Tin Star by J. L. Langley (Paperback - 31 Aug 2006)
6.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews