Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its Time
I first read Fevre Dream in the early eighties and on a recent quest to re-acquire the top ten paperbacks of my youth this novel was top of my list.

When you consider the hype for Twilight and Vampire Diaries and what they have done to change the modern perception of vampires, I must say they have borrowed a lot from this novel. The author, more known for his...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Warren Bowman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A far better vampire story than anything I have read in years
In decade where pretty much everything I have read including Vampires portrays them as misunderstood or vegetarian creatures rather than the monsters that the legends originally depicted, it is refreshing to read this novel and catch a glimpse of an actual good old fashioned vampire story.

Granted Fevre Dream was written in the 80s so it has not been effected...
Published 13 months ago by GOTTON


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A novel that grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go, 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Blood, death, and high drama on the Mississippi as cruelty and viciousness are weighed against the power of self-sacrifice and true friendship. Vividly imagined, moving, frightening, this is an excellent novel to be recommended to anyone who likes an exciting, well-crafted read. Though containing scenes of chilling horror, it never descends to the 'gross out', and its evils are complex and thought-provoking. A genuine period feel is evoked, showing there's more to steamers than Show Boat, and more to New Orleans than Anne Rice, and historical and social issues point up the moral dilemmas and contexts of the story without feeling over-obtrusive. A richly rewarding read for more than just horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fevre Dream, 1 Dec 2004
This review is from: Fevre Dream (Paperback)
The book is a rattling good pot-boiler which nods to both Dracula and Interview with a vampire in spirit, if not in style. If you enjoy your vampire stories well thought out, with timely twists and reasonable plot development, this will not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars come aboard and enjoy the ride, 8 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. Adam D. Seed "adzefc" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is the first george martin book i have read after being recommended to him by an avid robert mccammon fan.
simply brilliant sums this book up perfectly. it intrigues you from the very first moment and the atmosphere and writing is fantastic.
one of the best vampire novels i have read. PERIOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a novel, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this and as I love the author decided to purchase it. Very good but surprised when I opened it up as it was a comic layout, I expected a written fantasy novel. It was either not made clear or I overlooked its format when ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read all the Song of Fire and Ice books and decided to try this one. Really great read. Now finish of Winds of Winter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like vampire stories (and zombie movies) and it's brilliant to have a "hero" like Abner Marsh. Not your usual macho - strong - silent - good looking type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did not sleep very well reading this, staying up late as I found it near impossible to put down. The story was original and I would recommend to everyone. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not up to the song of ice and fire trilogy standard but it is a good book, unusual and different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, but not great., 19 Nov 2005
This review is from: Fevre Dream (Paperback)
George R.R. Martin's A Song of Fire and Ice books are by far the best I've ever read, so I thought I'd give one of his earlier books a try.
This book was very light on "horror." There are no shocking, blood-chilling moments. The vampires themselves are locked in a good vs. evil battle and act in very predictable and boring ways. When he has the chance, will the good vampire kill the evil one and end the threat to everything he has worked to accomplish so far, not to mention ending the threat to him and his friends? No, he'll predictably let his evil enemy live so that enemy can come back and once again pose a threat ten pages on. Predictable, frustrating and boring.
The books' saviour comes in the form of an interesting and likeable main character (not a vampire) and Martin's excellent descriptions and use of the steamboat world and the Mississippi River trade. In fact, I wish the book had just stuck with this theme and left the vampires out.
Overall, it's an entertaining read, but far from a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb storytelling, 2 Oct 2003
The phrase "gripping from start to finish" is too often misused in so many reviews. However, Fevre Dream, is one novel that deserves the praise. It has been a long time since I've read such a consistently well written, gripping novel, of any genre, and I can genuinely say I enjoyed every page. George RR Martin has created a wonderfully vivid cast of characters - including the steamer herself - that carry this superbly plotted story, and should stay with the reader for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fevre Dream
Fevre Dream by George R. R. Martin (Hardcover - Mar 2008)
Used & New from: £307.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews