Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the floating city of Columbia
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:25 Mins
A lot of games these days have pretty weird characters. BioShock is one of them with its own kind of weirdness, especially the characters.

This is a large 184-page hardcover concept artbook published by Dark Horse.

The concept art features the environment, characters, weapons and other props such as propaganda posters. I...
Published 14 months ago by Parka

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment after the art of Bioshock 2
I dont write reviews on this, but I received this today and I have to say i'm disappointed in it. Not the packaging or anything, but the content itself. I felt that the incredibly Bioshock 2 book (which ive owned for years) had tons of genuinely amazing things they wanted to show us and they packed it in to amazing effect. This feels like more of a cash in. There's still...
Published 3 months ago by jody


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the floating city of Columbia, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:25 Mins

A lot of games these days have pretty weird characters. BioShock is one of them with its own kind of weirdness, especially the characters.

This is a large 184-page hardcover concept artbook published by Dark Horse.

The concept art features the environment, characters, weapons and other props such as propaganda posters. I like the environment art for the floating city of Columbia. It's beautiful yet mysterious.

There's plenty of character art, that of Elizabeth, Booker, Songbird and many of the grotesque and mechanical enemies, Heavy Hitters. It makes you wonder about the twisted minds of those in Columbia who created these monstrous beings. They have included quite a bit of discarded art that couldn't make it to the game as well.

The art is accompanied by some commentary and annotated handwritten text. No much. If you've not played the game, it's quite impossible to know what the game is about by looking at the art.

It's a nice companion video game artbook, but overall, I felt the art is not as refine as Deco Devolution: The Art of BioShock 2, but this is also sort of a different title.

A Kindle edition for this is also available. You can check out the preview pages on Amazon.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant presentation, 9 April 2013
By 
J. C. Neale (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
Bioshock Infinite has such a tremendous effort of character, art & design that this art book, for me, was an absolute must have.

Firstly, and as you can expect, the book is presented wonderfully. Under the outer sleeve is a weathered effect hardback book with a gold-foil print.

After a page of introduction by Ken Levine, the artwork begins.
There are eleven chapters in all:

1. Finding Columbia
2. Elizabeth
3. Booker Dewitt
4. Songbird
5. Founders, Citizens & Vox Populi
6. Heavy Hitters
7. Advertisements & Propaganda
8. Vigors
9. Sky-Hook
10. Weapons & Airships
11. Columbia

The first point to note is that this book is a pure art book, as in there is very little in the form of writing or extended descriptions. The artwork is usually full page or fantastic double page spreads, showing ideas and forms that never made it and designs that changed over time. The artwork of the characters, items, people and places have only small printed annotations here and there, together with the scribbles from the concept artists at times.

Perhaps the lack of text or extended explanation may disappoint some, but for me it is a perfect approach. This is an art book, and especially considering the fact this is an art book for Bioshock Infinite, the artwork and design speaks for itself.
Images aren't pushed into bordered corners by blinding walls of text, and they haven't crammed as much as they can onto each page. Instead, everything is given it's own space, and it never feels messy.

There's a lot covered, and it's worth noting that the main focus of the book tends to be orientated around the design conceptions, the changes, and the designs that never ended up in the game. So basically, you won't find every single piece of Infinite's art work in here, and more often than not you won't find the finalised versions (Another point that perhaps will be a downer for some)

But overall, this is fantastic exploration of the art and design that went into create the deep, vibrant world of Bioshock Infinite and is an interesting insight into how the designs evolved - All presented in a fantastic fashion.

Wholeheartedly recommended to any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment after the art of Bioshock 2, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
I dont write reviews on this, but I received this today and I have to say i'm disappointed in it. Not the packaging or anything, but the content itself. I felt that the incredibly Bioshock 2 book (which ive owned for years) had tons of genuinely amazing things they wanted to show us and they packed it in to amazing effect. This feels like more of a cash in. There's still some great stuff, but it's padded with filler. There's a lot of very unrefined, quick sketchy stuff in there. That would be fine if it was a footnote, but the thing that make me feel like they were filling space is that many of these underwhelming sketches receive single or sometimes double page spreads.

This is when it feels most like a cash in, it's like; OK, we need to make the art book now, we need to fill this many pages on this character, and this many pages on that character. There's so much rich and beautiful imagery in this game and this book really doesn't explore enough of it, it feels small. I even have a sneaking suspicion that some of the less impressive stuff was produced in a hurry only to fill space in this book.

I've seen the Bioshock 2 art book going very cheaply on here, it would recommend that much more highly and you'll save yourself a lot of money in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the kindle edition, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't buy the kindle edition!

I was hoping to save some space on the bookshelf so I ordered the digital version.

-The pages don't appear full screen (which would've been fine) but rather in a window in the middle of the screen.

-You can't zoom in.

-You can enlarge some parts of images which comprise several different illustrations but the control of this is not intuitive.

-You can't read some of the text as it's too small onscreen.

So 1 star for the kindle edition!

I have seen and looked through the hardcover edition and that's gorgeous, so go for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a gift, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
Present for my husband, who loves these type of books. He thinks its fantastic. He has similar products and wants more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but don't get the Kindle version., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful book but greatly hampered in Kindle form as you cannot pinch-zoom so most of the amazing art is lost. This is even on a relatively large Retina Display. With the ability to pinch and zoom this would be 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
Got this book as I am a fan of the Bioshock games, in particular it's art design. This book does not disappoint. Every character, scene and item seems to be featured in here and it is truly wondrous to see how the artists developed the look and feel of the game. One of those books you keep on picking up and flicking through for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
loved bioshock infinite the game, and the propaganda posters in the game, made sense to buy It. bought for a friend who loved it, hes even considering to get a couple images blown up to hang on the wall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
Really well printed, lots of content. If you're a fan of the game buy it, or even if you just like game art buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves it, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of BioShock Infinite (Hardcover)
I am reliably informed the book is brilliant and instructive (by my 18 year old daughter, who the book was bought for as a gift).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of BioShock Infinite
The Art of BioShock Infinite by Irrational Games (Hardcover - 9 April 2013)
20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews