Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended
As a fan of the Buffy and Angel television series and comic books, I adored this. When I was deciding whether or not to buy this, I was cautious, as, so far, I have found the Andrew Chambliss writing on the Buffy Season Nine comic books not quite as sharp as the work of the Season Eight writers.

However, Christos Gage's writing for Angel and Faith has an edge...
Published 24 months ago by Dogtooth

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars gah. spoilers in the abstract.
one star review for revealing major character death in the 5 line summary of this item. I was just reading the description to work out what order to buy the angel comics in and now have had a major plot point poorly and pointlessly spoiled.

Better metadata please, melonfarmers.
Published 14 months ago by Christopher Gutteridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This (Paperback)
As a fan of the Buffy and Angel television series and comic books, I adored this. When I was deciding whether or not to buy this, I was cautious, as, so far, I have found the Andrew Chambliss writing on the Buffy Season Nine comic books not quite as sharp as the work of the Season Eight writers.

However, Christos Gage's writing for Angel and Faith has an edge and wit that makes it impossible to put down. He creates an compelling story, capturing the the essence of the characters perfectly.

This volume includes one Angel and Faith issue featuring Harmony, also enjoyably written by Gage. The art for the Harmony issue is by Phil Noto, and while I have reservations about his inking, he has a talent for capturing expressions.

The main body of the book is the four issues pencilled and inked by Rebekah Isaacs, whose art for Angel and Faith is just wonderful. Her likenesses of the characters are spot-on with a subtle mastery of expressions, the ability to draw gorgeous portraits of characters and give them a potent sense of motion.

If you are new to the characters of Angel and Faith, you won't be familiar with their history, but you will enjoy this book. If you are an existing fan, you will absolutely love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What happens to Angel after the end of Buffy season 8, 12 Jan 2013
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This (Paperback)
This is a continuation of Angel's story after the shock death of a much loved character at the end of season 8, and shows how Angel is coping (or not) with the consequences of his actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad and Harmony, 16 April 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This (Paperback)
The stories running through issues #1-5 of Dark Horse Comics' series `Angel and Faith' are collected as Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This. The title story is issues #1-4, and issue #5 features a stand-alone story (guest-) starring Harmony, the Paris Hilton of vampires.

THE STORY SO FAR
This story takes place after Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8, which I have not yet read, and after the various Angel comics published by IDW (Angel: After The Fall Volume 1 HC: After the Fall v. 1 (Angel (IDW Hardcover)), etc.). Angel apparently was suffering from one of his funny turns in Season 8 (and I don't mean funny ha ha); and a major character died as a result. Now, full of angst (though no more than usual), Faith and Angel are sharing a house in old London town, and Faith is trying to help Angel through his latest existentialist crisis. Magic was also destroyed, or banished, or something at the end of Season 8; anyway, it no longer exists, though vampires, demons and the like are still around, but without any particularly special abilities.

THIS SERIES
This initial story revolves around Angel's guilt and his attempt to find ways to resurrect the dead major character - which the character advised against, according to Faith - and goes looking for ways to do just that. There is an underground trade in Mohra demon blood, which apparently could cure all ills and even reanimate the dead. There is a small amount still remaining from before the death of magic, and Angel is looking for it. Faith is meanwhile acting as den-mother to a group of ex-slayers, while also acting as Mrs Peel to Angel's John Steed. During the course of their adventures, two characters who were involved with Angel in Season 8 are also about and causing trouble, and are also very evil. There is much more to the story than the brief outline above, as both Angel and Faith go through some character development in the course of their adventures.

The Harmony story is a one-off and very entertaining humorous one - just to remind us that it is not all doom and gloom in the Angel and Faith and Buffyverse. The scripting is very good throughout; the art is reasonably good on the main story, but the artist on the Harmony story needs to work on posture and facial expression.

I enjoyed the book, and will be off to the library for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed reading this, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This (Paperback)
I haven't yet read the after the fall series with angel but started the spike graphic novels, and ive read up to series 9 volume 3 (last one to be printed) of buffy.
So i am a bit confused by some plot issue but thats because im waiting for my local comic shop to deliver after the fall, but it's a really good comic and really enjoyable for a buffy fan or an angel fan. yayaya angel and faith comics rule
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars gah. spoilers in the abstract., 21 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This (Paperback)
one star review for revealing major character death in the 5 line summary of this item. I was just reading the description to work out what order to buy the angel comics in and now have had a major plot point poorly and pointlessly spoiled.

Better metadata please, melonfarmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This
Angel & Faith, Vol. 1: Live Through This by Christos Gage (Paperback - 3 July 2012)
9.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews