Customer Reviews


29 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 23 Jun. 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:57 Mins

This is a wonderful art book for a spellbinding animation series. Making the series took 6 years, hundreds of artists, and hundreds of thousands of drawings. This book showcases a selection of some really beautiful illustrations.

There are loads of character and background designs inside, in sketches and in their finished coloured form. The main characters like Aang and others come with cool animation sequences created with pencils. Also included are many of the discarded concepts which were difficult to animate or doesn't suit the story. Appa had some really awesome spiral horns but were discarded, unfortunately. The character drawings are superb. Just by looking at their different expressions you can pretty much guess their characteristics.

Besides the characters which includes the town folks and soldiers, there are also drawings for many miscellaneous stuff like storyboards, airships, hybrid animals, wanted posters, promotional posters, chibi (or super deformed) style and random doodles from meetings.

Did I mention the background paintings? The world created is so beautiful!

The whole book is annotated heavily by Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino. They talk about everything on production, from creating the pilot episode to Nickelodeon approving the final season. You can see and read about their influences and inspiration everywhere, from Buddhism, Studio Ghibli, Gainax, Chinese martial arts, etc. It's very interesting to see how they apply what they learned from research to their drawings and animation.

This is a fantastic art book for the series and fans, which should appeal to anyone who hasn't watch the series. Good art appeals to all.

Highly recommended!

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The astounding artwork of the last Airbender., 6 Mar. 2012
By 
Ms. S. Findley (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
I've watched all the episodes of the Last Airbender and i loved it.

When i discovered that there was an artbook to the animated series, i needed to add it to my Artbook collection.

As soon as it came through the door, i sat down and read it, i was amazed with all of the original sketches (from the scrapped sketch ideas to finalised drawing sequences from a few episodes)

I also love how the chapters are done like the animated series-book chapters i.e. Water etc.

I was especially amazed by the hybrid animal section-my favourite animal hybrids are the Rabbit/Kangaroo and the funny penguin hybrid with whiskers.

For anyone who is a long time fan of the cartoon and wants to read up on how the show got started from ideas on paper to the actual screen; i'd highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!, 23 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
As a huge ATLA fan this book was a must have for me and is a definite must have for fans and people who just enjoy great artwork. The book is fantastic quality and laid out really well with lots of commentary by Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino. It's incredibly interesting to see the processes they went through and how the characters changed and to see designs that could have or weren't used. I highly recommend this book to ATLA fans and to people who love 'the art of' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Illustrations from a beautiful series, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
Got it as a gift from my girlfriend! (bought with my account haha)
- 'The art of:' books always have great artwork and this is one of them. Great for book collection for anyone that loves animation or illustration. It's filled with pieces you've probably overlooked in the series and more than weren't included. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight., 18 July 2012
By 
N. Joshi "Joshi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
This is a refreshing "Art of..." that delves into the history of the show, how it came to be what it is and the different directions it could have taken, all through the eye of art design. There are plenty of concepts and some wonderful finished paintings for things like backgrounds or promotional pieces and all of it is commented on entirely by Mike DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko, the creators of the show.

It's a wonderful book for any fan of the show and really gives a good insight into the thought processes of these guys and the hardworking people who worked on the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
If you love avatar or korra then this book is a must for fans, you wont regret spending your money when i arrives and you see how amazing, detailed and he mass amount of information on each page and the outstanding drawing on every page. i can fault this book in the slightest, only PRAISE HERE ! such a good price as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
if you love Avatar then you will love this book. weather you are an artist or not you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to visually recreate you own legend of Aang, get this book!, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
You love Avatar, the legend of Aang? You love the way the series was drawn and animated? You love to know how they did it, how they got there and how to it yourself? Get this book, full of sketches and explanations. You'll forget time and place and become one with the story of the last airbender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More production art than you can shake a stick at, 2 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
Recently I started watching the Last Airbender animated series and I liked a number of things about the series, in particular the animation and design work so when I found out about this book, I immediately made it a part of my book collection.

This book is a bible of the production process behind one of the world's most successful animated series, showing concept sketches from when Aang was just a sky shepherd tending to a herd of flying animals to the storyboards of the final episode of the series. The makers of the series have put the best concept art, environment paintings, character designs and storyboards into this book and offered commentary on the six year development of Avatar, making this a true collector's piece for anyone who's a fan of the series or of production art in general.

I highly recommend this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fan's must have, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series (Hardcover)
This book shows how much work went into the creation of the series. With all 3 series art, story boards, concept, back grounds, key frames and more. With information behind ideas and how the series was created. There is nothing more you can ask for from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series
Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Art of the Animated Series by Bryan Konietzko (Hardcover - 1 Jun. 2010)
£20.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews