Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, and evidence based
Thoroughly impressed. It makes a nice change to see personality tests coming from an organisation with access to really significant data. I found the summary of my strengths really useful with a number of good ideas of new things I could get involved in.

The book itself is really a glorified set of log in details for the website which hosts the test itself...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by TreeFrog

versus
59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
You buy the book and get a code to access a website. On the website you can enter your code to do a 177 question 'quiz'. You are only able to do this the once and then it's fixed. This even though the book itself says 'if you take the same version of StrengthsFinder again a few months later, it is not unusual for a couple of your top five themes to change.' So, you cannot...
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Lez


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, and evidence based, 18 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
Thoroughly impressed. It makes a nice change to see personality tests coming from an organisation with access to really significant data. I found the summary of my strengths really useful with a number of good ideas of new things I could get involved in.

The book itself is really a glorified set of log in details for the website which hosts the test itself. Once you have logged on and done the test, you have access to all the information online and the book becomes somewhat redundant.

*Do not buy a second hand copy* as the chances are that the log in details won't work (having been used already).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Lez "Now I've stopped studying - now I can read." (OAKHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
You buy the book and get a code to access a website. On the website you can enter your code to do a 177 question 'quiz'. You are only able to do this the once and then it's fixed. This even though the book itself says 'if you take the same version of StrengthsFinder again a few months later, it is not unusual for a couple of your top five themes to change.' So, you cannot then look at how strong each of your 'themes' is and cannot see how you might change over time after trying to apply some of the suggestions offered.

The book itself does give a description of the 34 themes, but the website doesn't really offer much extra. You can look at your results (but never retake the test) and look at the 10 ideas of action (which are in the book anyway). I was hoping for a lot more to be available on the website. More ideas, more questions to ask yourself, more ways to actually *use* the ideas and suggestions given.

Strikes me that this is little more a promotional tool to then pay huge amounts of money for further consultation.

Overall, not a complete waste of time, but I'm not sure it's entirely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY SECOND HAND, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
It will not work because the code is already used. Beware because they wont warn you and you will waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GALLUP - Strengthsfinders, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. E. S. Furmedge (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
We've rolled Strengthsfinders out throughout our company and it's been quite useful. However beware there is an issue whereby lot's of the unique codes in the back were duplicated. At first GALLUP were very helpful when I was querying this and asking for new codes, then they got suspicious and refused to send me any new ones without lengthy conversations and debates. Not good as we are a very large FTSE 35 Company and clearly have alot of managers to give this book to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
I have just completed the online test, and initially was surprised at my top 5 strengths. However, on reading the book, I can honestly say it was incredibly accurate! A really great business tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strengthsfinder 2.0, 7 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
Was a bit sceptical about this when my ex-husband recommended it to my daughter. However, have since viewed results from my daughter and my elder son, and they are remarkably accurate - I can completely recognize them from the 5 main threads of their strengths. Doesn't necessarily help with their career choices though! However, having been in the 'wrong job' for most of my life, I do think it's important to recognize and go with your own inner self and your own strengths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful easy read, 23 July 2009
By 
F. Coelho (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
This has been a useful little book. It takes a positive approach on one's capacity rather than focusing on what your're lacking. That is refreshing. The online test was good although the time limit became a little irritating as I was not alone in the room and missed several questions because I was interrupted. Lock yourself away before starting the test!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read if you don't know your strengths, 28 Nov 2009
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
the book's value is in it's password that lets you give the personality test that the Galup's institute has developed. It tells you which are your top 5 strength areas among 37 themes. I did the test, and was more than impressed. The test was so accurate that I was puzzled. Everything was true about me, especially the first 2 areas.

I bought this book 1 year ago. This book gave me guidelines for making choices regarding my career. so if you are not sure of your best area, and what you can excel at definitely buy this book and try the test.

I am buying 2 more for 2 friends :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mirror, mirror on the wall....", 4 April 2007
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
You will probably find no head-snapping revelations in this book if you have already read Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman's First, Break All the Rules and/or Buckingham and Donald O. Clifton's Now, Discover Your Strengths (especially the latter). Nor does Tom Rath claim to offer any. Rather, this is a new and upgraded edition of the Gallup organization's previous online test (StrengthsFinder 1.0) that enables those who take it to identify and measure their talents relative to "more than 5,000 new personalized Strengths Insights that we have discovered in recent years."

In Rath's two previously published books, How Full Is Your Bucket? co-authored with Donald O. Clifton and Vital Friends, he shares his own reactions to an abundance of research data which reveals the importance of two separate but related forces which have profound impact on the workplace: getting strengths in alignment with work to be done and then developing them even more with strategic delegation and close supervision.

What we have in this book, Strengths Finder 2.0, is a wealth of new research material that Rath examines with exceptional precision and uncommon eloquence. I strongly encourage each reader to take full advantage of the self-diagnostic opportunities that both Rath and the Gallup organization generously offer. Of course, once various exercises are completed, a significant challenge remains: to take effective and productive action to apply what has been learned. It is helpful to be aware of what Jeffrey Pfeffer and Robert I. Sutton so aptly characterize as the "knowing-doing" and "doing-knowing" gaps. It is also helpful to recall Peter Drucker's observation more than 40 years ago: "There is surely nothing quite so useless as doing with great efficiency what should not be done at all."

Presumably Rath agrees that, more often than not, the Yoda is right: "Do or do not. There is no try."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book does NOT include the actual Strengths Finder test, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strengthsfinder 2.0: A New and Upgraded Edition of the Online Test from Gallup's Now Discover Your Strengths (Hardcover)
I bought this book expecting it to include the actual test - but this was not the case.
You have to access the test online and PAY to obtain the results.
Im ok about paying for the test if thats whats required however I expect to be informed UPFRONT that this will be an additional cost and that it is not included in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3440930)

This product

Only search this product's reviews