Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2012
I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of this great book signed by Doctor Nick himself, and as an avid Elvis fan and collector this has pride of place in my collection. In the front of the book he wrote, and I quote, "Ken, the book of love and truth 2010" and having read the book, and the passion with which Doctor Nick defends Elvis, and the hell he went through in the American courts, before clearing his name is covered, warts and all, the quote says it all. There have been many books written about Elvis by those close to him, many of which saw him as little more than a cash cow and were in it for what they could get. Doctor Nick's book is a clear insight into the continual battle Elvis had with prescription drugs. This book is well worth reading, if you want a clear insight into both Doctor Nick and his most famous patient.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
There have been hundreds of books written about Elvis Presley, many of them sensationalist, sychophantic or just plain sleazy. This is different. The book is in two parts. In the first section Dr. Nichopoulos tells of Elvis's myriad health problems and his attempts to curb Elvis's self-acknowledged destructive tendencies in order to treat them (not an easy task as Elvis simply found what he wanted elsewhere). The second part of the book shows how Dr. Nichopoulos struggled over many years to clear his name. It is shocking to see how the media instigated what can only be described as a witch hunt, and how everyone involved seemed to have their own personal agenda.
The book is well-written and Dr. Nichopoulos comes across as sincere and honest. He has managed to change my long-held perception that Elvis Presley was himself the architect of his own destruction. This I believe was the main goal of Dr. Nichopoulos in writing the book and he has succeeded, at least as far as I'm concerned. I can only sympathise with both men.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
Have wanted this book for a long time, and it has certainly not dissapointed me. Very emotional, interesting, and enlightening to say the least. As a massive massive Elvis fan, this has been a welcome addition to my large collection of books and memorabilia.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Dr Nick first treated Elvis around 1967 for saddle soars at his Circle G Ranch after which Elvis cultivated a relationship which included having him on hand for up to $800 a day whilst h was on tour.
Dr Nick was also the recipient of numerous gifts which included jewellery, cars and also persuaded Elvis to put his name on to Elvis Presley racket ball courts of which he was to be a business partner and Elvis had to shell out $1.3 million dollars.
This scheme got out of hand and once the real expenses of this project became known to Elvis, Elvis tried pulling out at which point Dr Nick and Joe Esposito threatened to sue Elvis for breach of contract.

Needless to say this put friction between Elvis and the good doctor, the only reason Elvis didn't fire Dr Nick was because he was a constant source of prescription pills, without which Elvis could not operate.

Unfortunately many celebrities with drug problems, cultivate friendships with doctors - Remember Michael Jackson and Conrad Murray ?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
A fantastic read. If you're a true Elvis fan, you have to read this book!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
Lots has been written about Elvis' drug problem but this put it into the perspective of all the health problems he had. A true insight into his life.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
very interesting and also very sad.for a lifelong elvis fan i feel sad that the people around let it happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
I really felt sorry for the Doctor, all the evidence he had that he did nothing wrong but suffered.

A good insight and interesting comments in the the odd fleeting comment about Ginger. I just read Gingers book and what she says and what he says differ greatly. He doesnt mention her but in passing, so he never read her book first(couldnt have, written in different decades) so he had nothing to challenge. It makes her book look a bit questionable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
very good read and good seller+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)