Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Churchillian Excellence
My copy of "The River War" is a battered 1960 copy purchased some years ago in a second hand bookshop. It is one of the handful of books that I have read more than twice. It is just so well written.
Bearing in mind that Winston Chruchill was present at the final Battle of Omdurman, he had a ringside seat in this "little war", actually taking part in a cavalry...
Published on 22 Mar 2004

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The River War" by Winston S. Chuchill
The Prime Classics 2005 edition, published by Wildside Non-fiction, of Churchill's account of the reconquest of the Sudan, is spoiled by the lack of maps and the lack of an index. This fascinating story is told superbly by a master of the English language who participated in the battle of Ondurman. In it Churchill refers the reader to maps, with which the visulisation and...
Published on 3 April 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Churchillian Excellence, 22 Mar 2004
By A Customer
My copy of "The River War" is a battered 1960 copy purchased some years ago in a second hand bookshop. It is one of the handful of books that I have read more than twice. It is just so well written.
Bearing in mind that Winston Chruchill was present at the final Battle of Omdurman, he had a ringside seat in this "little war", actually taking part in a cavalry charge.
The book starts with a history of "the Soudan" as he writes it, and the early chapters cover the Gladstone and General Gordon story; essential to a total understanding of the problems in the Sudan at the end of the 19th century.
The bulk of the book covers the campaign by Sir H. Kitchener to push up the Nile with a railway, laid at the rate of a mile a day at times -(British railways eat your heart out). The logistic problems of water for men, camals, horses, and steam locomotives was huge.
Churchill`s turn of phrase is inimitable, and he carries the reader smoothly through all the twists and turns of the heroic story - heroic on both sides.
Some reader may be offended by the non-PC language used, such as "Mohammedan" for a follower of Islam, "savages", "inferior race" "fuzzy-wuzzie" etc, but the reader must remember that these words and phrases were quite acceptable at the time, and I reckon that in using them the author is not being insulting, but simply using the language of his times. This was written in 1902 if I remember correctly.
I suspect that more modern works on the subject are more balanced, and accurate, if only for 102 years of hindsight being available, (and more PC), but I can thouroughly recommend getting this book if you have the slightest interest in the subject. And come to think of it, even if you don`t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The River War" by Winston S. Chuchill, 3 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The River War (Paperback)
The Prime Classics 2005 edition, published by Wildside Non-fiction, of Churchill's account of the reconquest of the Sudan, is spoiled by the lack of maps and the lack of an index. This fascinating story is told superbly by a master of the English language who participated in the battle of Ondurman. In it Churchill refers the reader to maps, with which the visulisation and understanding of the events would have been greatly enhanced. I found the lack of them frustrating. Additionally, the lack of an index limits the use of this edition as source of reference. I found no description on the Amazon/Waterstones web-site to indicate the lack of these items, which I would expect from any serious historical account. My other readings of Churchill (The Second World War) have led me to expect such would be included by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River War (Paperback)
What a disappointment that this edition does not include the excelent maps in earlier editions. Also the proof reading was less thorough than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hard going but a great read, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River War (Paperback)
Churchill should've stayed an author, this is really, really good. think he missed his true calling by becoming involved in politics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Window into the past, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gripping read from start to finish.
Typically Churchillian in language and perspective which is great if you like that sort of thing and I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reveiwing the Past and considering the present, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River War (Paperback)
Historical value and relevance to happenings in the Islamic world today all expressed in some of the best written English language you could find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Ms. W. Ward (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River War (Paperback)
I gave this item a 5 star rating as I am really happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Echoes of an Age of Empire, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: The River War (Paperback)
Typical Churchillian - Thoroughly researched background that sets the scene for the main storyline. It gave a very comprehensive outline of the political and military drivers that led to this action and painted a vivid picture of the life of a soldier in those late Victorian times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River War
The River War by Winston S. Churchill (Paperback - 16 Sep 2007)
12.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews