Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing!
I read the first chapter of this book at the end of another Atom book I had been reading. The chemistry between the two characters first mentioned instantly enthralled me, and I bought the book the next day! I wasn't sure about the nonchalant way the members of the band came together, but the characters instantly worked together. The book is filled with suspense, and I...
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by Robbie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish compared to Peeps
Peeps, the predecessor to The Last Days, is one of my favourite vampire novels, and definitely my favourite young adult vampire novel (yes, I'm looking at you, Twilight). Vampirism as a virus created as an evolutionary defense against a bigger predator? Brilliant.

...The Last Days is a huge disappointment after Peeps and my least favourite of any Scott...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by L. R. Richardson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish compared to Peeps, 5 Feb 2010
By 
L. R. Richardson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Days (Paperback)
Peeps, the predecessor to The Last Days, is one of my favourite vampire novels, and definitely my favourite young adult vampire novel (yes, I'm looking at you, Twilight). Vampirism as a virus created as an evolutionary defense against a bigger predator? Brilliant.

...The Last Days is a huge disappointment after Peeps and my least favourite of any Scott Westerfeld book I've read. In Peeps, Cal, a lovable Southern boy, has to hunt down his ex-girlfriends because he's a carrier for vampirism. He didn't know that and unwittingly infected all of his ladyfriends. Westerfeld gives scientific reasons for all of the vampire stereotypes--love of garlic, fear of crosses, et cetera. It's good fun.

In the sequel, most of the book is about a group of teenagers who decide to start a band, and a crazy vampire is their lead singer. Most of the book is the squabbles they have amongst themselves. It's very juvenile and very boring. As I was reading, I had no idea why I should care. Vampirism is growing more widespread, but the teenagers are too caught up in their own little melodrama to pay it much mind. Finally, near the end, Cal comes into the picture and things grow interesting again, but that's the last 100 pages of the book.

If you loved Peeps, I'd just stop there and not bother reading this one. And if you haven't read Peeps, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing!, 29 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Last Days (Paperback)
I read the first chapter of this book at the end of another Atom book I had been reading. The chemistry between the two characters first mentioned instantly enthralled me, and I bought the book the next day! I wasn't sure about the nonchalant way the members of the band came together, but the characters instantly worked together. The book is filled with suspense, and I would have never guessed the amazing ending that Westfield managed to weave unsuspected into the book. I would recommend this book to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Thriller with a Difference, 11 April 2008
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days (Paperback)
With 'The Last Days' and it's predecessor 'Parasite Positive', Scott Westerfeld has created worthy additions to Vampire mythology. I think the first novel is the stronger of the two but both are exciting and compelling reads.

Events of The Last Days run more or less parallel to those in Parasite Positive. Towards the end there is some overlap with characters from PP appearing but the second instalment features five new teenagers trying to survive in a crumbling and increasing anarchic New York.

Westerfeld's writing style in immensely readable and the idea of viral vampirism inspired. The main let down of this saga is that the real villains of the piece just aren't that scary. The Last Days also lacks the 'History of Viruses' sections that popped up from time to time during PP, which is shame as these were both interesting and entertaining. The central idea of the second novel, the idea of music as bait, isn't quite so convincing and this rubs off some of the novel's lustre.

That said, The Last Days is as gripping and unputdownable as any book you're likely to read. Although Westerfeld does tie up most of the loose ends (perhaps, a little too quickly), he has left himself plenty of opportunities to come back and revisit his ravaged metropolis. I sincerely hope that he does so soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 27 Nov 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days (Peeps) (Hardcover)
Set against the apocalyptic foreground first seen in Peeps, THE LAST DAYS is a sequel to the former, and definitely does not disappoint.

Scott Westerfeld is one of the most consistently solid young adult novelists today and his latest only keeps the bar high and the readers happy. The Texas native is widely known for his innovative interpretations of "fantasy-esque" worlds and is the highly acclaimed author of THE MIDNIGHTERS and UGLIES trilogies.

THE LAST DAYS is a story based in contemporary New York City with a splash of dystopia tasting. Westerfeld takes on the always fun topic of vampires, and, as seen in Peeps, revamping the whole legend behind the blood-thirsty immortals into his own super interesting view, basing the theory around "vampireism" as a disease similar, if not identical, to the Black Plague that ravaged the globe centuries before. Westerfeld delves more into a biological explanation, which involves carriers, kissing and biting, and a whole lot of rats.

It's summer, and New York City is going crazy. The temperature is much more intense than usual, even for summer; the sanitation is no longer under control (rats!); people are disappearing, afraid to travel on the subways; and Moz and Zahler are a two-man, kind of half-band. But soon their luck will change when they meet Pearl, a Juilliard music student, and her newly turned carrier friend Minerva. The four of them, along with street drummer Alana Ray, whose mental condition allows her to view farther into the depths than is advisable, join together to write music so epic, even they do not understand the magnitude of what is going to happen. Things are changing faster than you think.

So sit back, relax, and get ready to read these five teenager's soundtrack to the end of the world. It's going to be a good one. Masterfully written, old Westerfeld fans as well as new ones are sure to be blown away by the sheer raw sonic power of THE LAST DAYS.

Reviewed by: Long Nguyen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music May Save the World, 8 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Last Days (Paperback)
The author's Midnighters and Uglies series just haven't appealed to me. But this series is a good one. A vampire story where the V-word is rarely mentioned. Where the vampires (of sorts) aren't emo - now that's something to cheer about! And the readers who'll get the most out of this are music fans - both listeners and players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Days (Peeps)
The Last Days (Peeps) by Scott Westerfeld (Hardcover - 7 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: 0.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews