Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet !
I loved it. I have read a number of Gerri Hill's books but this had it all. I just could not put it down. Great storyline, I even got quite tearful in places. You won't regret buying this one. Ange
Published 11 months ago by Ange

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I expected more from a Gerri Hill story. Having said that, I'm sure if a younger person were to read it they would find it more to their taste. I have read Gerri Hill before on several occasions and usually rate her work.
So if you're under 40 buy it and enjoy it.
Published 7 months ago by M. S. Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet !, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
I loved it. I have read a number of Gerri Hill's books but this had it all. I just could not put it down. Great storyline, I even got quite tearful in places. You won't regret buying this one. Ange
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
Gerri Hill is an amazing writer - can't wait for her next book - every one has been a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A warm and charming romance, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
Shannon Fletcher and her brother have established a small whole-food chain and want to expand. With her mother’s health failing it seems sensible for them to open one near their hometown. The only issue for Shannon is that she has barely been home in 20 years, avoiding the woman she loved, the woman who chose marriage and family duty over their future together.

At 10 Shannon moved in to the mansion of the wealthy Lansford family where her mother was housekeeper. Madison Lansford, 9 year old and irresistible, soon became her best friend, but always behind doors and below stairs. While their love grew with the passing of their teenage years, Madison’s family expectations were always a cloud on the horizon.

When Shannon returns home she is shocked at how close her mother and Madison have stayed. She is forced to reconnect. But can she manage to be friends with the woman who shattered her world, and has Madison ever come to terms with who she really is?

------------

Gerri Hill is mistress of the gentle romance of lost love and adult angst. She creates warm, passionate women who’s coming of age stories keep us wanting to turn the page, despite knowing there is bound to be a happy ending.

In this we have a version of the rich girl/servant girl Cinderella story with the bullying mother, the absentee father and the kind and gentle housekeeper playing surrogate mother. Ms Hill explores how a controlling mother can so dominate a child’s psyche that they do not see any option but the one presented to them. Disobedience, straying from the expected route, is literally impossible for them.

Shannon and Madison are both delightful characters. They are, as always, well-written and genuine people who we would love to meet. Despite the bad decisions and painful lost years they have remained true to their own hearts and never allowed the pain to make them bitter. Shannon’s mother Alice and Madison’s son Ashton are excellent secondary characters, bringing an additional layer of warmth to the cast.

And that’s what Ms Hill’s books are.. a warm embrace full of growth and dawning understanding. She bathes us in a soft glow where despite bullying mothers and unhappy marriages there is always a ray of light to keep the heart alive. And as always, the walls of hurt and distance will break down to let the light shine through. Love always conquers.

A delightful read. Another great addition to Gerri Hill’s oeuvre and one which will always be on the re-read shelf when we need to believe in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
Is there no end to this Ladies talent she has to be the best Lesbian Author I have every single book she has written and love them all as always she has produced another great book cant wait till the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable read, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
A very sweet and well wrtten book. I loved it. The characters were engaging and the plot believable. My only observation would be that Gerri Hill clearly has 'mother issues'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars young love, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
Turns out that love is stronger than you think. At seventeeen u r too young but with time and maturity love grows exponentially
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
Lovely story, well written. Couldn't put it down. Yet again Gerri Hill delivers a wonderful, absorbing tale of true love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At Seventeen, 22 Oct 2013
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
A good read as always by Gerri Hill, although this did seem a little too predictable at times. All the same, I enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars De ja vu, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Paperback)
A really good read. Reminded me of school days and the crushes people had then and how years later it all still feels the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love and Tears, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Seventeen (Kindle Edition)
Gerri Hill has the ability to draw a reader into a story like no other. You are there, with the characters routing for some, despising others, all interwoven with a story of young, but abiding love. I had to grab for a tissue a few times, but there is nothing wrong with that. To me, just the sign of an author being able to convey human emotion. Top marks, and as always, can't wait for the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Seventeen
At Seventeen by Gerri Hill (Paperback - 20 Aug 2013)
9.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews