Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Force of Nature
A lot of photo's, large print so not really much content. But what little there is, is really good. Tips and a an insight into Larids philosophies and beliefs. A true athlete and waterman in every sense of the word. Some of the stuff in quite inspirational. A good book.
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Jon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Previous reviews are accurate
I am not a big reader so this book was fairly easy going, but probably too many pictures and not enough detail
Published 10 months ago by A D Jenner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Force of Nature, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing (Hardcover)
A lot of photo's, large print so not really much content. But what little there is, is really good. Tips and a an insight into Larids philosophies and beliefs. A true athlete and waterman in every sense of the word. Some of the stuff in quite inspirational. A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Previous reviews are accurate, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a big reader so this book was fairly easy going, but probably too many pictures and not enough detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars guys a legend, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing (Hardcover)
well im biaised as i think laird is uber cool. really inspiring though and the sections on food and injury are really interesting. dont forget though that this guy wakes up on the hawaiin island of oahu and picks fresh papaya every morning which is a lot more motivational than making yourself train in this miserable wet rock of a country! so its not always as simple as he makes out when it comes to living the lifestyle. the book only really touches on a few subjects and he tells you his thoughts on them without going to deep. But if your a laird fan then this is definitely must have that you can trot out on a rainy fat day to inspire you to eat well and get out and do something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!!!, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strength, agility, grace and beauty is the only way to explain Laird. To read his book is to inspire one to achieve goals, that previously were just dreams. There should be no barriers in life and Laird is proof of this. Only way to go :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Man, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing (Hardcover)
Probably the best all round Water sports man ever, if I was even 10% as good as this guy I'd be really good. Got loads of his Documentaries on DVD. This book is an excellent read, its not just about surfing, its about diet, exercise & all round being a good human being. Excellent stuff. This guy is a living legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really inspiring book, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing (Hardcover)
I'm a very keen bodyboarder and would be surfer, however being located in the middle of England means I don't get to do this very often....actually about once a year! But my interest in surfing and the surf culture led me to Laird Hamilton. I'm a runner, cyclist do weights in my garage gym and practice Yoga when I can and Laird Hamilton is one of my biggest inspirations when it comes to the world of health and fitness.

Laird is now approaching his late forties but still able to ride huge waves that few would even contemplate surfing in their wildest dreams. To acheive this Laird has a very tough fitness regime and this book goes into at least some of that including his weight circuits and an introduction into his Yoga routine. If you're looking for an out and out fitness manual with pages and pages of exercises then this is not the book for you but the reason I love this book is that I find it very inspiring, especially when my enthusiasm for a 10 mile runs on a cold, wet Saturday morning is lacking!

Laird shares a lot of his general life philosophy in this book which I also find very motivating. The book is really nice to look at and the photograpy is great. To answer some of the criticims from other reviews, yes it is not packed with content, it could be a bit more detailed, however for me that is one of the attractions of this book, I can pick it up and read a few pages and feel inspired when I need a bit of a kick to keep up my fitness program. I also accept that there are quite a few mentions of various products, although Laird puts in a disclaimer to say that he does not have any financial interest in anything he mentions (believe what you will), but for me it's just another insight into Laird's health and fitness philosophy.

Overall a great book which I read often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars inspirational read, 7 May 2011
This is a great insight into one of the worlds greatest athletes. The book is broken into 3 main sectons, the mind, the body and the soul and Laird gives his philosophy on each in a very easily read way. This book is hard to put down and it contains some lovely images also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A commercial book, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing (Hardcover)
i just finished to read the book, i expected to be more interesting with Laird stories about surfing and stuff like that...
it's pretty good just for the first 50 pages then it becomes a full advertisement book of all Laird's personal trainer, mp3 player, proteins and vitamins,surf ball...etc.
if i'd had the chance to open it in a bookstore i probably wouldn't have bought it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing
Force of Nature: Mind, Body, Soul, And, of Course, Surfing by Laird Hamilton (Hardcover - 28 Oct 2008)
£22.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews