Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly crafted story that twists and twists again!
This is a terrific read, a real novel in the style of a thriller. The characters have plausible depth to them and likewise subject matter expertise is there in abundance, across a variety of areas, to provide a breathing space between the twists and turns of a totally believable plot. ...More importantly this was my first Baldicci book and I'm delighted to have discovered...
Published on 30 Nov 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed But Interesting
There were things I really didn't like about this book, but all credit to Baldacci - he kept me turning the pages. It was a preposterous plot, but well structured for all that. I agree with another reviewer that calling the hero Web London almost made me put the book back on the shelf. But the action kept coming and it did give an insight into how the FBI and its hostage...
Published on 8 July 2002 by Ian Jolly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly crafted story that twists and twists again!, 30 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Hardcover)
This is a terrific read, a real novel in the style of a thriller. The characters have plausible depth to them and likewise subject matter expertise is there in abundance, across a variety of areas, to provide a breathing space between the twists and turns of a totally believable plot. ...More importantly this was my first Baldicci book and I'm delighted to have discovered another of the decidedly few authors who can compose and elaborate with style, depth and eloquence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BALDACCI IS BACK ... AND TO HIS THRILLING BEST!, 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Hardcover)
I made the (perhaps understandable) mistake of reading Baldacci's last novel, "Wish You Well", which was not a thriller, but a family saga, and I read it because I was a big fan of his earlier work (particularly Absolute Power and Total Control). Wish You Well, was well, tedious - "Last Man Standing" ROCKS all the way to the stunning ending. Baldacci is back!
So what's this one about? Our hero, Web London, the best of the best in the Hostage Rescue Team, chokes on an op, leaving his men dead. But why did he freeze? And who was behind the massacre? Stir in a love-interest, a sexy psychiatrist who can get into your mind and your bed, and some rather evil bad guys. Brew ungently for a few hundred pages, and - voila!
I have two quibbles, small, but things I should let you know. The book seems to me too long @ 550 pages. This is a 400 page novel overpacked with insider research about things covert. Secondly, the hero's name, Web London, bugged me @ first. Web? What's that? And London might sound kool in the US, but for us living in London, it sounds naff.
Small quibbles, these, since this is the best thriller I've read for a while. A couple of books you'll probably like if you're into this genre: Dexter Dias's "Power of Atttorney" - a fine thriller about what happens when witness protection programmes go pear-shaped and murders result. Also, Robert Crais's "Hostage", another HRT story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an action-packed chiller-thriller!, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Hardcover)
An FBI Agent, point-man on a hostage rescue team, is desperate to find answers to why people connected with him are being silenced.
Last Man Standing, is a techno-thriller minus the jargon; it is an adventure, a fantastic psychological thriller, & Baldacci has convincingly combined the elements of all these sub-genres in an action-packed book.
While the action is not past paced, it is thick & furious. London is a real fallible hero, similar to the protagonists in many Frederick Forsyth novels, which makes the character & the story totally believable.
Web London has many features of a series character, & I wouldn't be surprised to catch him in any future Baldacci novels.
I enjoyed this punching chiller-thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed But Interesting, 8 July 2002
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Paperback)
There were things I really didn't like about this book, but all credit to Baldacci - he kept me turning the pages. It was a preposterous plot, but well structured for all that. I agree with another reviewer that calling the hero Web London almost made me put the book back on the shelf. But the action kept coming and it did give an insight into how the FBI and its hostage rescue teams work.
The story is convoluted to say the least, and although you can see it's heading to an unlikely ending, you still want to get there. But Baldacci does have a habit of getting his characters to recap the plot in ludicrous conversations. And no matters how he tries to explain it, some of the people and the twists are plain unbelievable. It might not persuade me to read another of his books, but despite myself, I enjoyed this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top!, 4 Dec 2005
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Paperback)
This book kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. I even missed my stop on the train because i kept reading. The descriptions of the characters were detailed and you really got in tocuh with them.
The main character - Web - is followed throughout the book and you are made to feel as if you know the guy inside out.
Great novel and will be sure to try David Baldacci's new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 Thriller!, 11 April 2006
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Paperback)
This is my second Baldacci book and it's a cracker!
Web London heads a crack FBI hostage rescue team. His team is wiped out but he survives. Why was the teams set up and wiped out? Why did he survive?
It's over 500 pages long but worth it as Baldacci really nails the characters in this book. There are a good dozen characters along the way that you really get a feel for. You develop a great understanding of what drive the main character in this page turning thriller. There are lots of turns and twists along the way, most of which I did not see coming!
If you like thrillers check this one out for sure. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recovering from Abuse, Deadly Risk-Taking and Revenge!, 27 Jun 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Paperback)
Caution: The Last Man Standing is not for the squeamish or those who have nightmares about what they read. The book has many scenes of extreme violence and mayhem aimed at good guys and bad. The book's language is also laced with virtually every common swear word that you know.
What differentiates Last Man Standing from the standard shoot-em-up thriller is that Mr. Baldacci explores the mind as much as he does the physical. Providing that context makes the book more intense, meaningful, and complex.
The book's hero, Web London, is also someone you will find interesting and admirable. At his job as a Hostage Rescue Team assaulter for the FBI, he is bold, brave, and extremely capable. But, it has come with a price. He has an unattractively reconstructed face from wounds that makes him seem like Frankenstein to some, a body covered with bullet scars, and no family life. As you will learn in the book, he also had a trouble childhood that makes personal connection seem risky to him.
So, his fellow team members and their families have become his family. Imagine, then, the blow that comes when the six other assaulters are all mown down by machine gun fire during a raid on what was thought to be a drug organization's accounting operation. What makes it worse is that he froze at the start of the assault, or he would be dead with them. Imagine the guilt! To make matters worse, he is suspected of either being a coward or having been paid off. Life gets worse.
It becomes apparent that someone has been leaking confidential FBI information, or this slaughter could not have occurred. Who is it? Why would they want to wipe out a hostage rescue team? How was it accomplished? These are just some of the many mysteries that are brought forth. Soon, others are dying in a pattern that seem to tie back to the escape of Ernest B. Free (leader of the Free Society) from prison. Free had been the cause of the crisis that had led to the death of a little boy hostage in the assault that had cost Web London his face.
Mr. Baldacci has a strength as a story-teller in that he saves up lots of revelations for you, and deals them out frequently . . . like discount tickets to return to a theme park. This quality first becomes clear at page 99, so keep going in the beginning if you are wondering why people have liked this book. The surprises come more frequently after that. So you will want to keep turning the pages.
As the story evolves, Mr. Baldacci also provides the reader with information that the FBI doesn't have so that you can appreciate the conflict more as it develops. You will know who did what and why long before the end of the book, but the resolution of the conflict will be interesting enough that you will want to continue to the end.
The book's weakness is that the writing could have been tightened up quite a bit. There are about 200 pages of extra material in this book that should have been edited out. One of the problems of becoming a best-selling author is that you get too much power over the editors, and the amount of editing declines. With proper editing, this book could have been one of the top thrillers of all time. Without the editing, a clever concept, interesting hero, and entertaining story are allowed to clank along awkwardly for long sections where neither character nor story development occur. Mr. Baldacci, less is sometimes more . . . especially in writing!
Why do you do the work that you do? What kind of family life do you want to have? If things aren't the way you would like them in your work or family life, why aren't you changing them?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! An absolute page turner, 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed the first few David Baldacci books but must admit, I thought Saving Grace was a bit of a let down so when I bought this book I was a bit apprehensive. All I can say is what a book! It was a real page turner and I couldn't put it down. I thought the end was a tad abrupt but you can't have everything. All in all, it was a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sympathy-eliciting, yet fascinating and full of action!, 6 Feb 2002
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Hardcover)
baldacci did a great job with this one, where he manages to make the reader feel sympathy for a murderous drug-dealer! all his characters (even the 'baddies') are portrayed in-depth, and with souls, which is really a different sort of style, especially in this genre.
a thrilling read, and everything is made even more riveting by the fact that you practically fall in love with the protagonist (web)! a hurt, lost soul, yet at the same time incredibly macho (akin to rambo, et al).
a book definitely worth recommending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Man Standing, 28 Mar 2003
By 
M. Woolley "Maggs" (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Man Standing (Paperback)
This is the first David Baldacci book I have read. I thought it was brilliant from start to finish. It twisted and turned the whole way through I was never sure which way it was going. I am a big Jeffery Deaver fan and this was up to his best standard. I will certianly read more of his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa952d9fc)

This product

Last Man Standing
Last Man Standing by David Baldacci (Audio CD - 3 Oct 2005)
10.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews