Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science-based diet and health information that works
Finally a book I can unreservedly recommend! I've been very interested in books on diet for a while now, but this one really stood out. It doesn't miss out anything vital nor have anything in it that is so wrong that unreservedly recommending it is difficult. It's so well done and the most complete book on diet I have found so far.

This book is a pretty good...
Published on 28 Jan. 2012 by Jodi-Hummingbird

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for those without an academic background.
The book is an easy read for all whose who are interested in the health effects of food.

However, I found that the author cherry picked the research that suited the book topic. For instance, she recommends only a small intake of fruits due to the fructose. Her argument is that advanced glycation products are more readily synthesized from fructose than glucose...
Published on 3 Sept. 2012 by Bookie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for those without an academic background., 3 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primal Body, Primal Mind: The Secrets of the Paleo Diet and New Discoveries in Brain and Longevity Science (Paperback)
The book is an easy read for all whose who are interested in the health effects of food.

However, I found that the author cherry picked the research that suited the book topic. For instance, she recommends only a small intake of fruits due to the fructose. Her argument is that advanced glycation products are more readily synthesized from fructose than glucose. True. However, the glucose intake is much higher than that of fructose, therefore at the end of day, fruit fructose isn't much of a culprit. Additionally, one would have to eat several kilos of fruits per day in order to get sufficient AGE-forming fructose. And that over months! I want to meet the person who is doing that without "floating". Furthermore, fruits are packed with essential nutrients and antioxidants, plus the fibre these contains positively changes the uptake of fructose in the gut. And damn, they taste good!

I found the author also seemed to prefer anaerobic training to aerobic training. Well, we as humans are physiologically made for pursuit hunting and therefore aerobic training. Pursuit hunting allows a group to kill prey without much use of massive weapons, since an exhausted prey is for example easily killed by stoning. The authors should have checked the research first before commenting on it. Again, one ability's for aerobic training is determined by his or her genes, so I would not expect everyone to be able to run for hours BUT we all can run. The authors herself interestingly, likes anaerobic exercise.

These are two topics I remember not to have agreed with. There might be more?

If you do not work in science, than this book is a useful read. Data bases such as Pubmed.com or Google Scholar are a better source for information regarding specific topics, especially when it comes to diseases. For those who know how to research medical publications, skip this book. It's not worth the money.

I give her three stars for trying to help and educate people. Also, it is not entirely wrong, just in some bits. These "bits " shouldn't be. I agree with the dietary idea behind the book as the research of recent years does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book!, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primal Body, Primal Mind: The Secrets of the Paleo Diet and New Discoveries in Brain and Longevity Science (Paperback)
In my opinion, this is perhaps the most important book on nutrition and health ever written! The rationale of the book makes perfect sense and my own sense of well-being was transformed by a primal diet in just a few days, seriously. I am also a chronic asthmatic and my breathing has improved beyond recognition. No, I don't have a financial interest in this book, but I am an avid reader of popular science and self-help books and I would rate this book in my top five of all time in terms of its importance and value to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you really want to improve your health (both physical and mental) read this great book. Thanks to the author, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't normally review books I buy but I made an exception in this case. I have read many books now on Paleo and low carb diets etc as I am a type 1 diabetic but this I would say is the most comprehensive and expansive. So much valuable information and practical advise on how to improve your health. Quite a number of important bits of information I had not read before.

If you really want to improve your health (both physical and mental) read this great book.

Thanks to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primal Body, Primal Mind: The Secrets of the Paleo Diet and New Discoveries in Brain and Longevity Science (Paperback)
Written by a women and very readable. I just couldn't put it down. So many little bits of information you just wouldn't get to know unless you studied nutrition. Did you know that aspartame and Xylitol started out in a lab as something else, the latter as an insecticide! I am impressed as to the depth of knowledge the author knows about her subject. This book complimented that of Loren Cordain and Chris Kresser. The theory was exactly the same but not repetative, just a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vital information you need to know, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has vital information that everyone should know. We all need to open our eyes and see what's in plain view. The person who has the biggest control over our health is us, this book gives us the information to empower ourselves and reclaim our health. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overall, this is a fantastic and thorough read. It puts human diet in it's most scientifically relevant context, something which standard nutrition advice fails miserably to do. Even if you're well read on low-carbohydrate or Paleo-style nutrition, there will undoubtedly be many things thing book can teach you. With her extensive knowledge and clinical experience, Gedgaudas is extremely good at identifying common nutrition/lifestyle based problems and offering totally practical and viable solutions. Her writing style is somewhere between text book and popular press, which works well given the topics covered, but you'll certainly need to concentrate. It's a book for the more informed reader. At over £10 for the kindle version, it is expensive, but in my view, the content justifies the price.

I will say that it's not perfect. I have given 5 stars because the content is thorough, engaging, relevant, and very interesting. BUT this book could do with a much more thorough edit. For example, Nora recommends supplementing with omega 3s at least 2 dozen times, which while important (and perhaps worth repeating) becomes tedious when the book is long and you know you've already read this information. Admittedly, it is hard to avoid such repetition with many of the topics in this book, as they are all so interlinked. Often however, she's repeating herself within a few pages of a piece of advice, which just comes down to a better attempt at editing the book.

The only other minor gripe I have is that this is very much still an American version, and has not been edited for the UK market. As such, all units are in US imperial, and all recommendations for blood tests and the like point to US institutions and businesses. It's not like you can't convert a few units quickly and do some of your own research to get yourself tested, but a quick edit on their part would tailor the book more kindly to the UK market.

Despite this, Primal Body is still one of the best books I've read on the subject. Definitely recommended. In no small way, it will probably increase your lifespan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primal Body, Primal Mind: The Secrets of the Paleo Diet and New Discoveries in Brain and Longevity Science (Paperback)
I'VE READ SO MANY BOOKS ON THE SUBJECT OF HEALTHY EATING. THIS ONE IS THE BEST, IT PULLS TOGETHER SO MUCH INFORMATION IN SO MANY DIFFERENT AREAS. IF YOU ARE NEW TO THIS SUBJECT JUST BUY THIS ONE BOOK, FOLLOW THE ADVICE, YOU WILL BE SO GLAD YOU DID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low carb works, this book doesn't, 15 May 2010
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Primal (and it's cousin Paleo) is a way of life that involve eating little or no carbohydrates to improve health and quality of life. Low carb works, but this book is a very flimsy introduction to the subject for 2 reasons:

1. The research is terrible. Gedgaudas continually gives `facts' that are unsourced and descend into quackery. (No Gedaudas, ADHD cannot be cured by magnesium intake, Wi-Fi is not like tobacco and a quarter of the world's population are not celiacs). The few named sources given are re-quotes from light magazine articles and well known low carb books (including one that has been discredited by the low-carb community!).

2. Gedgaudas tells you how easy it is to pop to your local store and pick up grass fed chicken (on this plan all meat must be certified grass fed), then stop off at the farm next door and buy a gallon of `delicious' unpasteurised milk. Right....

It was no surprise to learn that the author published this book herself, no publishing house would have taken it.

(If you want to know about the biology behind low-carb read The Diet Delusion, if you just want to jump in and get low-carbing any of the Atkins books are a good starting place.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primal Body, Primal Mind: Beyond the Paleo Diet for Total Health and a Longer Life, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author explains in great detail what damage modern diets do to our body and explodes the myth about the so called health benifits of whole grains and a carbohydrate based diet. Anyone who has an interest in being healthy should read this book. I would also recommend Wheat Belly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primal Body, Primal Mind: The Secrets of the Paleo Diet and New Discoveries in Brain and Longevity Science (Paperback)
very informative gives an insight on the reality how we are misinformed by the food and pharmaceutical companies. well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews