Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read with bitesize chapters
The start to the book is slightly heavy-going where there is a great deal of focus on ancestry and lineage. However, if you bear with it, you'll find this book an easy read and that the author has a fluent writing style. The bitesize chapters mean it's easy to dip in and out of.
Published 8 months ago by M. Miah

versus
46 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Consider the alternatives
I suspect that the reaction of many readers of this text will be determined by their relationship with and to Islam as a religion and culture, and by their experience (or lack thereof) of interacting with texts and material which are critical or inquiring of accepted Islamic historiography.

This is not a book that seeks to assess or examine the authenticity of...
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by Music Lover


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read with bitesize chapters, 23 Dec 2013
By 
M. Miah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The start to the book is slightly heavy-going where there is a great deal of focus on ancestry and lineage. However, if you bear with it, you'll find this book an easy read and that the author has a fluent writing style. The bitesize chapters mean it's easy to dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and moving!, 15 July 2005
By A Customer
This is a wonderful book that affords the reader with a unique insight into the life of the prophet Muhammad (May peace be upon him) and of life in Arabia in the middle half of the 1st century CE. The book is well researched, well written and very easy to read. The referencing is unobtrusive allowing the book to flow throughout. It is also well structured providing an easy reference guide to key events in the life of the Prophet (PBUH), his family and his Companions.
Occasionally you can read a book and be truly moved by it. This is such a book and as a Muslim rediscovering his faith this book left me with a feeling of sadness at not having discovered my faith earlier and what can only be described as a feeling of Love for the Prophet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost flawless biography of the Beloved Prophet in English., 11 Jan 2003
I read Martin Lings' wonderful biography of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam --may Allah bless him and give him peace) for the first time when I was a teenager; what attracted me then was the caption on the cover which said, "based on the earliest Islamic sources"! But I loved the book the very first time I read it and since then I have read it a few times and bought my own copy. It is a book I always recommend to anyone interested in Islam as I believe it is the best introduction one can have to Islam. After all, if one does not know the Messenger, how can one ever accept the Message?
This book is wonderfully written and although the English is slightly archaic, I think that in this instance it actually adds to the books qualities, as such noble language is totally concommitant with the grandeur and theme of the book. The quality of the language used is indeed one aspect of this book which sets it apart from other biographies of the Beloved of Allah (may Allah bless him and give him peace) written in English and for that alone it is superior to the others. As the facts of the Messenger's blessed life are known in great detail, it is obvious that any biography will cover the main events including the blessed birth, the childhood events, the meeting with Bahira the Monk, the outward proclamation of Prophethood at the age of 40 (note I did not write the acquisition of Prophethood--this is a subtle point worth noting especially for Muslims which I'll briefly mention here although it does not detract from the overall quality of the book: it is this: the orthodox classical Sunni belief about all Messengers and Prophets is that they are Prophets from the moment of their creation by Allah and they are Prophets when they are born and they know about their status but they only proclaim it to the world when they are ordered to by Allah. Thus, for example, Prophet Jesus (Sayyedina Isa alayhi salaam) was ordered to announce his Prophethood [nabuwwat] soon after his blessed, immaculate, birth whilst still an infant of a few days as the Qur'an tells us (surah Maryam)whereas Our Beloved Prophet was only ordered to proclaim his Prophethood at the age of 40.In Urdu this is called izhaar-e-nabuwwat. Most books written by Western authors do not go into such details of Muslim aqeedaH [doctrine] as it is not necessary for the general reader to know but given that this book by Martin Lings' is so widely read by Muslims and non-Muslims alike, I thought it would be worth mentioning), the time in Makkah, the emigration to Madina, the Miraj journey, the battles, the conquest of Makkah, the farewell pilgrimage etc. but it is the style in which this book covers them that is so captivating--one feels one is actually there! Subhan Allah! Glory to Allah!
In addition however Martin Lings' book covers the personal and spiritual aspects of the life of the Greatest Messenger in the most beautiful and moving way. Many passages in the book moved me to tears such as the one during the preparations for the Battle of the Trench when one of the Companions sees the Beloved of Allah in a red cloth wrapped around the waist and comments on how beautiful the Master of The Prophets alayhi salaato salaam looked!
Also, Martin Lings' book is filled with intimate incidents from the life of Allah's darling Messenger which show his perfect humanity, his humbleness, humility, greatness of character and, above all, spirituality as well as his day-to-day personal interactions with his family, companions and friends as well as the foes of the Messenger of Allah. Above all, the book is saturated with the Prophet's constant and uniquely intimate relationship with Allah and it really shines through almost on every page. This biography emphasises the spirituality of the Messenger (peace be upon him) and in this way one can catch glimpses of the teachings of sufism as well which formed the highest level of the Prophet's teachings.
As others have mentioned he does not comment on any of the hadiths or events which has both advantages and disadvantages in that it is possible that some people may misinterpret a saying and not understand it as it is meant to be understood or as it is understood by Muslims wordwide. However most of the hadith used are clear and unambiguous and so this problem only arises a couple of times. (And it is only for those totally new to Islam--those with a little background in sufism will not have this problem at all.)
I could write pages for this book but I will end here by saying that it is one of the few books I would consider a "must buy". It is the (almost) perfect introduction to the amazing life of Allah's final and most beloved Messenger and the best written. Once you have read this you can then graduate to more specialist texts such as the Shifa' of Qadi Ayad al Maliki which is *the* definitive classical book about the Prophet's character and qualities of perfection (and it is now available in an excellent English edition too by Aisha Bewley) or the Sira of Ibn Hisham (very detailed but not as readable English translation by A. Guillame) or the myriad other biographies available in the islamic languages such as Arabic and Urdu.
It might be worth noting that Martin Ling's great work has won many prizes from all over the Muslim world for being the best biography of the Beloved Prophet in English including from Egypt and the government of Pakistan.
The life of Allah's Beloved is, in reality, like an endless ocean from which everyone can take whatever he wants and it will not diminish and only Allah Most High truly knows the exalted status of His Prophet, but books like this one make it possible for us mere mortals to catch a glimpse of that Prophetic majesty and to bask in his exaltedness.
I challenge anyone to read this book through to the end and not fall in love with the Messenger of Allah (peace be upon him).
May Allah reward him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 20 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book is brilliant.. ive only read a little.. but many people have said this is one book that does justice and tells the truth about the great phrophet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introductory book to Islam, 24 Jun 2010
This is an amazing book, definitely recommend to anyone wanting to know more about Islam and the prophet Muhammad (PBUH). The book goes through the stages of the prophet's life gradually and includes the right amount of detail. Great author, wonderfully written book, highly recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as gift - he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived the next day!! And it is a brrrrrrillllllliant book.. No words to describe it.. It brings all the characters/people back to life (that's the feeling it gives)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best written book of the prophet, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Ghufran Beg "ghufran" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this book again as I managed to lose my first copy. A great read for all anyone trying to learn more about the prophet and how Islam began. Extremely we'll written and very informative. The best book I have read relating to the prophet and Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book about our beloved Prophet SAW., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book tells you in detail life of prophet MUHAMMAD salialla alahi wali wasalam (SAW), in detail from early resources and you could visual how life was so tough in those days. Must recommend for lover of Prophet SAW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy to read and follow book.
Full of authentic stories from the life of the Prophet (pbh).
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muhammad: His Life Based on the Earliest Sources
Muhammad: His Life Based on the Earliest Sources by Martin Lings (Paperback - 6 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 7.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews