Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trigger Point Book That's on Target!
What a great book. Know first of all that it's written more for clinicians, such as massage therapists. If you have no medical background, you may get confused with some of the medical terms such as abduction.

Having said that, for practitioners who treat musculoskeletal pain, this book is the best trigger point therapy book I've come across. After spending a...
Published on 4 Feb 2008 by physio245

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
okay
Published 3 months ago by Anthony Hough


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trigger Point Book That's on Target!, 4 Feb 2008
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
What a great book. Know first of all that it's written more for clinicians, such as massage therapists. If you have no medical background, you may get confused with some of the medical terms such as abduction.

Having said that, for practitioners who treat musculoskeletal pain, this book is the best trigger point therapy book I've come across. After spending a few chapters covering some of the basics on topics such as the nature of trigger points, Qi, informed touch, etc, the book gets right to the reason why you probably bought the book- the trigger points.

The book does an excellent job of covering all the muscles of the body and their associated trigger points. But that's not where it ends. Besides having some of the best muscle pictures you could ask for, each section on a particular muscle ALSO covers pain patterns a specific trigger point could produce, as well as stretching and strengthening exercises- nice!! While the stretches are clearly depicted, the strengthening exercises are only described- but they are certainly clear enough to follow.

A couple of appendices on meridian pathways, cutaneous zones, and acupoints are also included.

Lastly, the book ends with two indexes. The first is a pain pattern index, which is really a picture reference guide on trigger point referral patterns for the various muscles. The second is a symptoms index. Using this index is as easy as looking up a particular area of the body (such as the shoulder) where you'll then find various symptoms and their potential cause (trouble with reaching up....problem with latissimus dorsi).

All-in-all, it's a great resource for anyone who deals with clients that might have muscular pain and the book could also double as a patient education tool with its great pictures of all the muscles and their trigger points. Also recommend "Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff" for practitioners who deal with a lot of shoulder patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book pity about the Kindle edition, 18 Nov 2012
By 
PHILIP (EDINBURGH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
This seems an excellent book which includes not only the basic material about trigger points, their referred pain patterns and their treatment, but a more extensive treatment pattern and an more extensive view of the impact of constriction due to trigger points on other bodily systems. The KINDLE EDITION appears to omit one of the best features of the book, the visual index of pain patterns!! Big black marks for that, whether it is a defect in the transformation to the Kindle edition, or a failure in my download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for anyone with Myofascial ? Fibromyalgia, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. G. C. Jenkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
A fabulously informative book I bought for myself due to an RTA leaving me with widespread Fibromyalgia and Myofascial. This book gave me a great understanding into the triggerpoints - an absolute must. For professionals really but you do get grasp of the content which I found easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. T. Paterson (Largs,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
I have been on a course a year ago and this triggers my learning in a fresher direction.
The book layoiut is well thought out and I enjoy the visual of the area conserned.
The extercises with the concise book of muscles, relates to the same exercises for clients.
I have used the process myself on painin my leg to the big toe.It gave me precise areas to work on.
I thoroughly enjoyed the theory explination the first couple of chapters.

One of the best investments for my practice.
Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 12 Dec 2009
By 
S. Turner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
This book was recommended on a sports massage course i am attending. It gives you very relative and informative information, also including some post care. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 May 2010
By 
Roman Hnatiuk (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
Simply great book! A lot of useful information on the subject (although sometimes it could have "common human" "translation" of some terms, but this is not a big deal). Immediately managed to find answers to some of the old issues with my back and nice stretches for those. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
An excellant resource all massage therapists should inveset in.. Very detailed yet easy to navigate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Detail, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
Excellent detail, easy to follow although you need a degree to follow the written descriptions! Luckily it has pictures :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Therapy at you finger tips., 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch (Paperback)
An excellent addition to compliment my massage skills. Clear consise drawings detailing trigger points in muscle. Easy to understand information. Well laid out. Articles on ever part of yhe human anatomy. A valuble addition to have in your therapy collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trigger Point Therapy for Myofascial Pain: The Practice of Informed Touch
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews