Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The World is Ending. What do you do?
This book may win the prize for the most intriguing premise of the year. If you knew that the world was going to end would you keep on doing the job that you do now?

Detective Henry `Hank' Palace is a man with on a mission. As the world is falling apart round about him, he tries to focus one hundred percent on the job in hand. As time passe, it becomes...
Published on 28 Aug 2012 by Pablo Cheesecake (The Eloquent...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I *so* wanted to be able to give this book a higher recommendation
This is a fast read, decently-written and with an interesting premise: an Extinction-Level-Event is going to occur in 6 months when an asteroid collides with Earth.

As would be expected, news of the impending end-of-the-world has resulted in a planetwide breakdown in social structures, including law enforcement. Many police have resigned or retired to pursue...
Published 5 months ago by illegiblescribble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Policeman, 27 Jan 2013
By 
G. Smith (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Policeman (Paperback)
Silky smooth transaction. Speedy delivery. Thanks everyone. This book is a present for a relative so I am unable to say anything useful about the book's contents, merely express satisfaction at the purchase process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Policeman (Paperback)
This book tells a detective story set in a world that is moving towards collapse. There is a date for an extinction-level event, as a 6.5 km wide asteroid is running on a collision course with Earth in 6 months. Many people are leaving their jobs and try to make the best of their remaining time. Some commit suicide while others seek relief in religion. Goods become scarce as productive economy downs. Lack of maintenance makes our technology-based society crumble. In this very original setting, a policeman investigates a suicide that could be a masked murder. This book is the first one of a trilogy, but the main storyline ends with it. I read it in a couple of sittings, and can't wait for the next one, as the asteroid keeps closing on Earth and the plot goes on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's the end of the world as we know it, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Policeman (Paperback)
A detective story set mere months before an asteroid will hit the Earth an eliminate all life. There is an air of despair that lingers throughout this story as individuals deal with their limited futures in different ways. Author Winters shares some views on society and how it will deal with "the end" - those who give up and those who work on...and in this he places a young but dedicated detective trying to solve a murder when nobody really cares. The scenario may be morbid and depressing but this remains a detective story set in a unique situation. The author teases the reader a little with some unexpected turns and delivers a very entertaining and interesting book. I really enjoyed it and look forward to picking up the next two in the trilogy. Good characters, solid plotting and a unique scenario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Policeing st The end, 18 Dec 2014
By 
K. Goran "GK" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Policeman (Paperback)
A great plot idea, well carried out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Captivating, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too sparodic.
Surprised that Ben Winters doesn't know that a person is HANGED not HUNG as he states a few times in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Policeman
The Last Policeman by Ben Winters (Paperback - 15 Aug 2013)
£9.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews