Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Collection!, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
This is a somewhat different... type... of book than those I normally review. But I'll give it a go!

The DC 75th anniversary poster book is quite an impressive collection of 100 posters (as advertised on the cover. The covers themselves cover both the greatest, most important comics in the history of DC, and some of the weirder ones as well (Mr District-Attorney, for example).

Each poster consists of a full-page cover on one side, with a brief description (~200 words) of the history of the cover on the reverse, and two small similar covers beneath the description.

But all of them or of high quality, on good, thick paper, and very easy to remove from the book. They are easy to frame,although I have to admit, I wouldn't personally frame a comic cover unless it was an original/1st edition. But they can be stuck onto walls with blu-tack easily, and with-great effect. In fact, my flatmates liked them so much we put many of them up in our kitchen.

The only issue I had with the content was that in the plentiful batman covers, the only famous villain to be displayed was the joker (and an odd harley quinn). I would have liked to have seen two-face, poison ivy or maybe the riddler. A couple of them appeared on the small covers on the back of the posters, but not on the main posters.

But otherwise, this book was anything a DC or comic-poster fan could ask for, and especially for those who are avid fans of DC through the years. This is the best poster book I've seen. I love this book, and look forwards to the 100th anniversary...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 18 May 2012
By 
G. C. Spiller (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
I have bought this book so that I can use the covers to create a superhero montage wall in my son's new superhero bedroom. I couldn't be more pleased. Lots of really great covers. Excellent value for money, especially if you intend to use them as posters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Bible of Comic Fans!, 8 April 2013
By 
Ms. Kayleigh J. Nisbet "kay769" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
This was a brilliant product for the comic-geek boyfriend which provided a stroke of genius to his bedroom decorating dilemma.Not only did it provide a nostalgic, fascinating read on the history and origins of the DC classics but it also provided design features that could fill his wall with stunning visual displays via the posters which could be carefully removed and framed on his wall. A heavily appreciated buy that will have a lasting legacy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great For The Amount Of Art You Get, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
This is great and was a decent price for how many pieces of Artwork you get. The quality is really good, their are more classic comic covers then contemporary but you do get both. The ease to rip it out is good no scissors needed so rest at ease. Nice little bio on each comic cover. You'll find some funny comic covers as well, never expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plain perfect, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
Synapse (Málaga, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
Seriously. So many amazing covers ready to frame. Legendary works of art like Green Lantern by Neal Adams, Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns, etc. 100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comic book Art, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
Great product now has pride of place in my collection. Recommend it to anyone who loves comic book art and wants a book that covers it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift., 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a comic book enthusiast, loved it! was a great hit with them. larger than I expected and excellent quality images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift for my son, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
bought it for my son as a suprise christmas gift, he's going to love it, he's a massive DC fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for fans of comic book art, but..., 25 April 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
I pretty much agree with everything the other reviewers and Amazon have written about this book. I love it. Of course no-one is ever going to agree on which covers should or shouldn't have been included. You could publish another ten or twenty books just like it and there would still be hundreds of covers worthy of inclusion. I'm just grateful for what we've got.

However, I do have one reason in particular for only giving the book four rather than five stars (though it's really four and a half). There is one major and quite astonishing omission which would have been extremely useful to fans of comic book art and I could hardly believe that it wasn't included. If DC ever do anything like this again, please include an Index of Artists. 100 posters plus further 200 small cover images means a lot of artists and an index would have been very helpful to find covers by individual artists. I really can not understand how this was overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good dc comic., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book (Paperback)
Very good was reading it for a project
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book
Dc Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book by Paul Levitz (Paperback - 18 Aug. 2010)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews