Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace
Amazing outlook, amazing man, amazing life. Loved this book and will definatley be researching more. It's going to stay on my shelf for a lifetime I believe :)
Published 3 months ago by Chantelle

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff but some spurious reasoning
I'm a big Wu fan and enjoyed learning about the history of the group and in particular Rza's business model, approach to production, his philosophies and his musings on other subjects close to my heart like chess and philosophy. I don't agree with everything he writes however. For example Rza implies an inherently aggressive nature exist in white people; he seems to...
Published on 3 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff but some spurious reasoning, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
I'm a big Wu fan and enjoyed learning about the history of the group and in particular Rza's business model, approach to production, his philosophies and his musings on other subjects close to my heart like chess and philosophy. I don't agree with everything he writes however. For example Rza implies an inherently aggressive nature exist in white people; he seems to believe stories in the Bible such as Noah's ark are literally true and believes in numerology which is evinced by him repeatedly twisting year dates and either adding the individual characters together or subtracting them added or on their own to other number to wind up with a "significant" result.

Wisdom and humility are big themes in the book but I believe that Rza draws lines through events to create an over-arching narrative in his life in quite a grandiose manner. For example when his studio gets flooded he waxes lyrical on the mystic powers of water and links it to Kung Fu films whereas it's really just a pretty unfortunate accident (or perhaps the result of his own foolishness for having his kit so close to the ground in a basement that's prone to flooding).

Rza's words are a curious mix of Christianity, chess theory, street knowledge, poorly reasoned (misogynistic and racist) nation of Islam doctrines, Eastern philosophy and kung fu. It's a pic n mix where he takes the parts he likes and ignores the contradictions between some of the science he references and the religious dogma it contradicts, but it's always engagingly written and honest in its tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
Amazing outlook, amazing man, amazing life. Loved this book and will definatley be researching more. It's going to stay on my shelf for a lifetime I believe :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
load of preachy shit really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
The RZA runs us through his life story, growing up in the projects and reaching worldwide fame, all this with the accompaniment of the Knowledge he has gained along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tao of Wu, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
The Tao of Wu was given as a gift to compliment the collection of a Hip Hop fan. It is a matter of some concern however that Amazon have failed to provide a refund for a faulty Samsung laptop which was returned to A&S Media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Wu (Kindle Edition)
Lots of thoughts, definitely worth a read if you keep your mind open. This isn't heavy, just something to get through when you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars epic and so funny., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Wu (Kindle Edition)
I loved this. I recommend it to anyone that's wants to understand life from a good point of view.. Wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Would I get a book deal if I was a musician?, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
While the book was OK and did provide some insight, it was very iterative - an article stretched to book length
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you listen to the Wu buy this book, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Ritchie Eason-brookes "Reggie" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Hardcover)
The RZA is a genius no doubt about that, if you listen to or are atall interested in The RZA or The Wu-Tang Clan buy this book & you wont be dissapointed. Get the Wu-Tang Manual first though, peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, decent service!, 6 Jan 2010
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Hardcover)
This book wouldnt take much to appeal to me being a wu tang, and RZA fan. I like his music for his depth and views regardless of if i agree with them... i do wonder 'what makes a mans mind form the ways and beliefs that his has?'
The Service was decent, it came before expected time so cant complain but no 'wow' factor. What was 'Wow' was the price and value (being a Hard Back)... excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tao of Wu, The
Tao of Wu, The by The RZA (Paperback - 25 Nov 2010)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews