Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace
Amazing outlook, amazing man, amazing life. Loved this book and will definatley be researching more. It's going to stay on my shelf for a lifetime I believe :)
Published 16 months ago by Chantelle

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff but some spurious reasoning
I'm a big Wu fan and enjoyed learning about the history of the group and in particular Rza's business model, approach to production, his philosophies and his musings on other subjects close to my heart like chess and philosophy. I don't agree with everything he writes however. For example Rza implies an inherently aggressive nature exist in white people; he seems to...
Published on 3 Aug. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff but some spurious reasoning, 3 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
I'm a big Wu fan and enjoyed learning about the history of the group and in particular Rza's business model, approach to production, his philosophies and his musings on other subjects close to my heart like chess and philosophy. I don't agree with everything he writes however. For example Rza implies an inherently aggressive nature exist in white people; he seems to believe stories in the Bible such as Noah's ark are literally true and believes in numerology which is evinced by him repeatedly twisting year dates and either adding the individual characters together or subtracting them added or on their own to other number to wind up with a "significant" result.

Wisdom and humility are big themes in the book but I believe that Rza draws lines through events to create an over-arching narrative in his life in quite a grandiose manner. For example when his studio gets flooded he waxes lyrical on the mystic powers of water and links it to Kung Fu films whereas it's really just a pretty unfortunate accident (or perhaps the result of his own foolishness for having his kit so close to the ground in a basement that's prone to flooding).

Rza's words are a curious mix of Christianity, chess theory, street knowledge, poorly reasoned (misogynistic and racist) nation of Islam doctrines, Eastern philosophy and kung fu. It's a pic n mix where he takes the parts he likes and ignores the contradictions between some of the science he references and the religious dogma it contradicts, but it's always engagingly written and honest in its tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
Amazing outlook, amazing man, amazing life. Loved this book and will definatley be researching more. It's going to stay on my shelf for a lifetime I believe :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Wu (Kindle Edition)
Sceptical about some of the mathematics examples given to clarify points of view but apart from this I really enjoyed the book. A far cry from the bling and n###a talk that some hip hop artists seem to think is all right to hit impressionable young people with. Rza makes you think EVERYONE has an effect on the world we live in and hopefully this can be done for the good of the human race.
Peace be with you brothers & sisters.
MC MC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good anecdotes about the early days, BUT, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
I'd like to start this review by saying I think Rza is clearly a well-read and intelligent guy. The Wu Tang are massively successful, and I have been to several of their gigs. The problem I have with this book is it quickly falls victim to the usual positive discrimination, 5 percenter movement garbage talking about how black men are supreme beings and encouraging borderline racism. I have lost a lot of respect for Rza as I really believed he was more about equality and diversity than this militant black power-esque nonsense. Avoid this book if you are white as it is really insulting to your intelligence, and if you are black, don't fall for this nonsense - if I wrote a book as a white man telling people all about how I'd embraced my "whiteness" and justified it using 5 percenter mathematics theories I'd probably be called a white supremicist, so why should it be ok for black people? Take this book for a few interesting anecdotes about Wu Tangs early days, but throw that Black Panther nonsense firmly in the trash because people who subscribe to that nonsense are usually racists with a massive chip on their shoulder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this book is highly recommended., 4 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
For Wu-Tang fans looking for further information about their music, this isn't the book to read. But for those who wish to get an insight in to RZA's philosophies, this book is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
The RZA runs us through his life story, growing up in the projects and reaching worldwide fame, all this with the accompaniment of the Knowledge he has gained along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SHORT BUT GREAT INSIGHT INTO THE RZA, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Hardcover)
A SHORT BUT GREAT INSIGHT INTO THE RZA, VERY INSPIRING BIOG, OVERSTAND THE SPARK BEHIND THE WU-TANG AND THE ACHIEVEMENT OF THE ONENESS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Wu (Kindle Edition)
Lots of thoughts, definitely worth a read if you keep your mind open. This isn't heavy, just something to get through when you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Would I get a book deal if I was a musician?, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Wu, The (Paperback)
While the book was OK and did provide some insight, it was very iterative - an article stretched to book length
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars epic and so funny., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Wu (Kindle Edition)
I loved this. I recommend it to anyone that's wants to understand life from a good point of view.. Wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tao of Wu, The
Tao of Wu, The by The RZA (Paperback - 25 Nov. 2010)
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews