Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything You Wanted to Know About Flying...
This book offers an excellent read for both the aviation enthusiast and casual flyer alike. The author is (or at least was) a qualified civil aviation pilot and this book is a digest of many of the items he has published over the years on a website called salon.com. In addition to non-techie explanation of technical aspects of flying, there are some incisive insights into...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by Northern Warrior

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average
good read, but I did not think it was detailed enough for me, I would have liked more personal anecdotes from the author, but worth the money.
Published 11 months ago by stanza


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything You Wanted to Know About Flying..., 10 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
This book offers an excellent read for both the aviation enthusiast and casual flyer alike. The author is (or at least was) a qualified civil aviation pilot and this book is a digest of many of the items he has published over the years on a website called salon.com. In addition to non-techie explanation of technical aspects of flying, there are some incisive insights into the current state of the airline industry.

The style of writing is whimsical and laid back, and manages to be entertaining without being patronising or vague. If you like books by Bill Bryson you will find the author's approach and style very similar.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all flyers, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Tracy Wiseman "Trace W" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
This was given to me as a present, not because I have a fear of flying (just the opposite) but because they thought I would find it interesting. I read it 3 times ... and recommend it to anyone who is "edgy" about flying. It's a no-nonsense informative source of information for anyone who wants to know what a plane can do, when it can do it and how it does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Allenian One (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
There are hundreds of books about fighter pilots but it's much harder to find interesting books about air travel. This one helps fill the gap.
Patrick Smith - an airline pilot - has been hitting the nail on the head for a long time at the website Salon in his regular column and now he's done the same in this book. He understands the kinds of topics that interest laymen and knows how to make them interesting and readable.
Whether he's spelling out his strong, well-argued opinions about topics such as airport security, hammering the media for its ignorance on aviation matters (as a journalist, I have to agree) or explaining the ins and outs of turbulence he's always a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and entertaining read, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Neil Gibson (Bath, uK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
I'm not a confident flier so thought I would research a little into the principles of flying etc. to find out more and to put my mind at ease. I haven't found out whether it has worked or not yet but I found this book to be an interesting, reassuring read and it's definitely helped in my understanding of air travel. The author's style is good, not too serious and with some comical takes on the quirks of flying alongside good explanations/summing up of complex subjects. I'll definitely be taking this on the plane with me the next time I fly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
good read, but I did not think it was detailed enough for me, I would have liked more personal anecdotes from the author, but worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, flows nicely, and very interesting, 27 July 2013
By 
Ian Howlett "ighowlett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
I learned quite a few interesting things from reading this book. The author is knowledgeable, and explains his topic well, with enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end! Patrick Smith is a talented and brilliant writer. He has a great understanding of people's concerns regarding aviation/flying and his responses to these are both extremely knowledgeable and reassuring. One's attention is held continuously as the book is extremely interesting with a wonderfully humorous touch. I learnt so much from this book and would recommend it highly to those who love anything and everything to do with aviation as well as to anyone who has any fear of flying and frankly to anyone wanting a marvellous, entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and fast, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
All good many thanks, book arrived really quick and I will need now to start to read and enjoy my reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY INTERESTING BOOK, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Paperback)
Written in an intelligent and humorous style. Very interesting, learned lots and would like to read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ask the Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting read which gives a fascinating insight into the world of commercial aviation written in a direct no nonsense style. The author does not mince his words - and all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ask the Pilot
Ask the Pilot by Patrick Smith (Paperback - 1 Jun 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews