Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenominal... a true "must read"
At the beginning of this exceptional book is a black and white photograph of a bathroom with a swirl of sticky-looking muck on the floor and a few little droplets splattered across the side of the toilet. Since there is no color it takes a moment to realize what you are looking at, but this mess is clearly human blood, a LOT of human blood. You don't know what happened...
Published on 23 July 2008 by L. A. Kane

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much wasted time and money
Well, I honestly read this one. I had good expectations because of this bunch of super positive reviews, but what I found is a collection of common sense observations, some kind of anecdotes, and personal stories suspiciously close to unreal and lots of philosophical bla-bla-bla. The more I read the more disappointed and less attentive I got. Stopped reading on Chapter 5,...
Published 21 months ago by Oso Togari


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenominal... a true "must read", 23 July 2008
By 
L. A. Kane (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
At the beginning of this exceptional book is a black and white photograph of a bathroom with a swirl of sticky-looking muck on the floor and a few little droplets splattered across the side of the toilet. Since there is no color it takes a moment to realize what you are looking at, but this mess is clearly human blood, a LOT of human blood. You don't know what happened but it was obviously something awful. A slowly drying pool of blood is not what one might expect to find at the beginning of a typical martial arts book, but then again real-life violence is not a subject that martial artists typically understand or write about.

Like a pool of blood, violence is a very sobering subject; one that must be treated seriously in order to do any good. Meditations on Violence certainly fits that bill. It is a refreshingly frank, honest, and in-depth assessment that teaches readers how to think critically about the subject, determine how to evaluate sources of knowledge, and understand how to identify strategies and select tactics to deal with violence effectively.

As a corrections officer and tactical team leader Miller regularly tangles with hard-core predators. He describes his job this way: "I beat people up for a living. I can pretty the phrase up a lot, but in the end I get paid (and paid well) to go into a situation, usually alone and usually outnumbered by sixty or more criminals, and maintain order."

This is a guy who routinely survives brutal encounters that would leave the average person physically and emotionally shattered. Unlike most martial arts instructors, he has first-hand experience that separates longstanding myths and heroic fantasies from merciless reality. Using interesting personal vignettes backed up by solid research and undisputable logic he conveys this hard-earned wisdom in a highly effective manner. His insights on how to make self-defense work and overcome subconscious resistance to meeting violence with violence could very well save a reader's life one day.

While the author's no-nonsense tone can be a bit "street" and his examples a bit graphic at times, his psychology degree shines throughout the writing as well. This combination makes for a fascinating read. One of the best features of the book is an informative matrix that addresses various types of violence, demonstrating how they differ from each other and how the lessons from one type may not apply to the needs of another. Other important topics include the dynamics of violence, predator mindset, adapting training to the realities of violence, making physical defense work, and the after-effects a sudden assault or long-term exposure to a violent environment.

Miller's book is extraordinarily well written. Packed with interesting, informative and, most importantly, useful information, Meditations on Violence should be required reading for all serious martial artists, law enforcement officers, security professionals, and anyone else who might have to deal with violence in some capacity. It is illuminating and very likely lifesaving as well.

Lawrence Kane
Author of Surviving Armed Assaults and Martial Arts Instruction; co-author of The Way of Kata, The Way to Black Belt, and The Little Black Book of Violence

Note: this review first appeared in the Jul/Aug issue of ForeWord Magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of your regard!, 9 July 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Richards (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
My first review for Amazon i think, and I have to say how much I enjoyed this tome.
Turned up Saturday lunch time & i had finished it by 3 that afternoon.

If you are a martial artist then i believe this book is of genuine service to you. Rory Miller has to utilise acts of force in his day job & teach these attributes to others. There is a palpable air to this book that what is being discussed is real & valid

Confrontations are not as the average martial arts practioner believes them to be. they are nasty, brutish, quick & surprising. Mr Miller talks us through some past experiences & provides insights & observations on violent incidents.

The book deals with the mindset, situation & aftermath of a violent assault & I think covers more ground than the usual self defence related material. Mr Miller's real life role (Now training U.S. armed forces in theatre, according to his blog) adds substantial weight & realism to the topics he discusses.

I found this book to be a real gem & will look forward to any new work with interest.

Rory, been reading the blog for a few months, excellent & bought this off the back of it, best wishes & you take care.

Matt Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on self-protection ever written!, 5 Sept. 2008
By 
Iain Abernethy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
"Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training & Real World Violence" is without a shadow of a doubt one of the best books on self-protection ever written. I really enjoy books that cut through the crap and give useful (i.e. potentially life-saving) advice in a down to earth and accessible way. Rory has a great writing style and the hard-won information he presents is imparted in way that is very easy to digest. The student in the martial arts can run in to the problem of being given dangerous misinformation by people with no idea of what a real situation involves. There are also those who understand the realties of violence, but are unable to communicate it effectively. Sergeant Rory Miller is one of the rare, and much needed, instructors / authors who has both "been there" and is also able to effectively communicate what the unforgiving world of real violence truly demands. To get to the point, this in an outstanding book that all martial artist need to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
G. Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
A thoughtfull and realistic view on violence from someone who has obviously experienced it ,unlike most self defence teachers/sensei's. Having experience of both martial arts and true violence my opinion ( for what is worth)is that it is a sad fact that most martial artists even the talented ones have no idea what a real fight or attack is like and get a very rude awakening when they find themselfs in a violent confrontation. If you have an interest in learning without putting yourself in potentialy violent situations then books like this are a must for if we can put our ego's aside the reality is nothing like what we have been brought up to expect due to brainwashing by tv,films,dvd's and sorry to say some inexperienced martial arts teachers. This ranks along side books from people like Tim Larkin, Geoff Thompson etc as an honest view of the reality of true violent encounters and may help dispel the mith of having a good old punch up and if it only makes you stop and think before letting a situation escalate then it has done some good. A book to read more than once and take to heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible book, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
This book was reccommended to me by one of my martial art instructors; a former prison officer and now police officer..so I figured if anyone would know about the gulf between training and reality it would bee him.

I have trained in various martial arts for about 20 years (on and off) and have sadly been in a fair few "real life" encounters. If there is one thing I took away from them it's the fact that my finely honed and polished techniques tend not to work in the real world. This is not to say that combat training is useless; but the reality is if you try and "do a technique" you'll probably find yourself in a lot of trouble.

This book dissects the reasons behind that and examines how training can help - but only if you have the right mindset. If you genuinely believe your martial arts training will give you a huge edge in a real fight then you need to read this book. If you are interested in the theory and psychology behind confronting violence; you need to read this book. If you teach martial arts; you need to read this book.

In short...you need to read this book!

Extremely well written, engaging, often brutal but also eloquent and concise. This is an absolute must-have for anyone engaged in any form of combat training; be it classical martial arts, sports forms or even the mililtary.

Read it and read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Money and Your Life, 15 July 2012
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
Books on the Martial Arts are as many and varied as the styles themselves. The one constant is that they are mostly rubbish and mainly about making money. If you ever read just one book about surviving violence it should be this one. Your money, your life. The author has made me question the effectiveness of anything I learned in the dojo rather than in a real situation and showed that what works in one situation may get you killed in another. He writes from personal experience and has survived more violent encounters than most of readers are ever likely to meet.

Over the years I have read many different books, studied a wide range of different styles and watched more videos than I can remember. I gradually came to two conclusions and didn't like either of them, nor will you. 95% or more of what you learn is useless in a real fight, and there is no secret method, style or technique that will guarantee survival, never mind make you unbeatable. Most styles work very well in the dojo or tournament setting but would you buy a book on origami so you could service your own car?

When I was about 10 years old I realised that the only sure way of winning a fight was to be faster and nastier than the bullies and then they left me alone. I forgot this simple truth in my quest to be better than Bruce Lee but I was never much good at high kicks due to my own physical limitations and two finger press-ups make you good at press-ups, not fighting.

Instructors never bothered to inform me that film fights are meant to look good and engage the viewer, and are about as far from reality as The Force. Most demonstrations of techniques seemed to be to prove they were better than their ookai. They all pedaled the myth that the ultimate warrior will fell his opponent in an elegant and stylish manner to the applause and admiration of the onlookers. Get over it. If a technique looks good then, in my view, it is probably no use in reality. One of my senior students was recently criticised at a grading for "being scrappy" although his techniques were effective. Scrappy? Have you ever been in a street or bar fight that wasn't?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's more to self defence than learning a martial art!, 2 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
Whilst in no way suggesting I am an experienced martial artist, I have trained with 4 different styles of JuJitsu/Jutsu and at 1 Judo club across a period of 20 years. Only one of these styles put any emphasis on training beyond the physical, ensuring legal awareness of self defence was part of gradings, and whilst one style taught something towards realistic training scenarios, it went nowhere close to another (my second to last experience) who had situational and scenario based training to try and bring an element of reality to what we were learning. Given I have always looked to train in martial arts to pick up some workable self defence techniques, it has often been disappointing to find little beyond a nod.

This book takes things further again, discussing the legalities surrounding violence and self defence, then progressing into the psychology of the attacker(s). No specific physical techniques are taught, that is beyond the scope of the book, however what you do get is feedback from an experienced 'fighter' (through his work as a bouncer/prison guard and from day-to-day life experiences) on what works and what doesn't - in what you need to consider in your martial arts training to have any chance of using this training to defend yourself or a loved one. From basic concepts like escape (which is really what self defence is about) through to explosive pre-emptive attacks, the reality of violence and how to deal with it makes this book an almost essential read for any martial artist who thinks or wants their training to be useful 'on the street'.

Reading this book has prompted me to buy another book by the same author, "Facing Violence: Preparing for the Unexpected", I am hoping that one will be as informative and relevant to self defence and my own training as this book was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditations on Violence, 13 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
An excellent book that should be read by anyone who wants to explore martial/self defence and its 'realationship' with the real world of violence. This guy has seen it, done it and eaten the t-shirt. Fascinating character that begs for more on the pages. There are tantalising glimpses of who this character is deep down and I suspect he will open up with more books to come. On a par with books by Geoff Thompson though through his experiences and training it has a more american flavour to it and his writing style is more drawn out and rambling. But thats not to suggest it is less accessible, just different. Certain aspects of the book stand out for me especially his understanding of the criminal mind and the differences in what they seek from a victim. Also excellent tips and reflections on various training methods and how to impart a reality based scenario into them, Certainly connects with my own traning in martial arts, and asks serious questions with what I took for granted in the 'dojo'. There is a heck of a lot other useful info relating to the whole spectrum of the subject and I shall certainly benefit from this book and I know it will benefit and help anyone interested in this subject whether you are a into martial arts/self defence or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy read but a necessary one IMO, 27 July 2011
By 
A. Murdoch (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
This book is a must-read in my opinion for anyone who has any interest in TRUE self-defence whether they be a security professional/LEO, martial artist or just an average person who wants to take care of themself and their loved ones.
Sgt Miller's Been-There-Done-That credentials are beyond question and he writes with honesty and intelligence about his successes and failures and those he has witnessed. There are some bits that are hard to read due to the graphic nature of what is being described but they are not there for sensationalism - they are necessary to illustrate points.
This is NOT a 'how-to' book. This is a much more important work which should inform your training,thinking and above all - ACTIONS. I have only read it once and I know that I will be revisiting it regularly to get more from my martial arts training.
This is a deep work which makes you think about training, sociology, biology, psychology and more behind violence, combat and training. There are so many thoughts in this book that made me stop and reconsider my attitudes. Excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wake up call, 11 July 2013
By 
R. REED (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence (Paperback)
This is a book written without any thought of self promotion. It is written by a prison officer with a great deal of practical experience who is not shy in explaining a point by examining his own past mistakes. This is not a " how to " technique book but a dissection of the process of violence.
The book is brutally honest stating some ugly truths which I as a police officer would echo. Bad things happen in bad places and are carried out by bad people. The best defence strategy for a civilian is to avoid those places.
This simple fact is avoided by many martial art experts advocating their own " latest " and " street proven" techniques. Miller is to be applauded for his deep analysis of what self defence really is.
Miller also examines the aftermath of violence in terms of legality and the psychological effect on the person. It is at times a sobering experience to read.
Miller puts forward the theory of " group monkey dance" and this part of the book alone is worth the price in its analysis of group dynamics that can lead to violence. I would recommend this book to anyone coming into contact with potentially violent clientele . It would be useful for social workers to youth workers to club doormen. It is that good a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meditations on Violence: A Comparison of Martial Arts Training and Real World Violence
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews