Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Door Is Left Ajar
Phil Jackson was successful as a coach of eleven winning champion teams because he knew how to talk to his team. Certainly he was a great leader, but he also taught his players how to lead, to communicate and how to win.

It takes a team to win a championship. We all know about the famous players, Kobe Bryant, Michael Jordan, Shaquille O'neill, but they can't...
Published 12 months ago by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Book was ok. Was expecting more, wasnt told a lot that I didnt already know.
Published 25 days ago by Paul Dunne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Door Is Left Ajar, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success (Hardcover)
Phil Jackson was successful as a coach of eleven winning champion teams because he knew how to talk to his team. Certainly he was a great leader, but he also taught his players how to lead, to communicate and how to win.

It takes a team to win a championship. We all know about the famous players, Kobe Bryant, Michael Jordan, Shaquille O'neill, but they can't win a game by themselves. Jackson has the wisdom and expertise to be able to see what each player needed from him. His observations of their egos and how to stroke them or reach them, drew them in. In one game, Jackson had a plan that Scottie Pippen didn't like. It was near the end of the game, and Jackson knew he had to have the team work together. He asked Pippin if he was in or out. Pippin said, "I'm out", so Jackson subbed someone else, and they won the game. Another player talked to Pippin after the game about his lack of teamwork. That was more effective than anything that Jackson could have done or said. Most of the book is filled with how the eleven games were won, and the players involved.

Jackson is a spiritual man, and he employs the use of inspiration and Zen Buddhism to lead his life. He decided at one time he wanted to rest his mind and his soul, and through Zen he was able to Master his life. He would talk with his teams about Zen and yoga, and they would listen appreciatively. Jackson is a very intelligent man, reads a great deal, listens or attends TED discussions. He talks about his move from coaching in Chicago to Los Angeles. How he was able to get Kobe and Shaquille to work together for the team. He saw the advance in Kobe from a very selfish player to a leader. He takes some credit, but much of the success of the Lakers he attributes to the team working together.

Jackson has thirteen championship rings. Eleven as a coach and two as a player. This is a man who has seen more championships than others, but is not as arrogant as depicted, he just does not have time to suffer fools. It was his physical body issues that caused him to stop coaching, a difficult but necessary decision. Phil Jackson deserves all the recognition he receives. A book well written by his co-writer, but the words are all Phil Jackson.

Recommended. prisrob 02-11-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven rings bought for my husband, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband who is a keen basketball fan and player after hearing about it from an Australian friend.i had no idea what it was about but heard it came highly recommended and took a chance. My husband LOVES it and can't put it down so I was really pleased. Only wish I'd gotten it as a Christmas present as now I need to find something else as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAAT!, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success (Hardcover)
was suggested this by my psychiatrist and its a really interesting read! doesn't waffle on too much. really good the only thing that annoyed me was the paper slip cover thing was reaaallly annoying when trying to read but ITS A GREAT READ :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this - highly recommend, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phil Jackson is worth reading about not just because of his incredible achievements (if you love basketball) but also (if you don't love basketball) for his unique perspective on life, striving for goals, managing teams and staying sane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the book. I'm a basketball fan, a Bulls fan from that era so it was great to read about how it all came together. A lesson I how with the right spirit and focus any team can improve. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a casual basketball fan (we don't have any coverage over here in the UK), but found the book absorbing. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success (Hardcover)
Book was ok. Was expecting more, wasnt told a lot that I didnt already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book, well worth a read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success (Hardcover)
Great service and a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book., 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success (Hardcover)
I read this book within ten days of it's arrival. It's not just about basketball and life in the NBA. Phil Jackson has created a Leadership Fable with this book. It takes a deep dive look into the life and mind of 'the' best coach of all time. The stories shared about Michael Jordan and the Bulls, plus Kobe, Shaq, and the Lakers are some of the best accounts you wish to ask for. This may not be a word in the English dictionary, but once you start reading it becomes "un-putdownable". A must-have for any basketball purist, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success
Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success by Phil Jackson (Hardcover - 10 Jun. 2013)
£18.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews