Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your father's Pilgrims.
I wasn't sure what to expect from 'Mayflower'. It had been rated as one of the best books of the year by a number of book sellers, but sometimes reading an historical novel can be quite dry and boring- who knew it could be this interesting!

To begin with, I am certain so much of what is written in this book is unknown to most people. The story of the Pilgrims...
Published on 31 July 2007 by maya j

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull
I thoroughly enjoyed the first part of this book which explains why the pilgrims came to America and how they set their society up. Unfortunately, after that the narrative thread becomes rather broken with the author skipping rapidly forward in time until some 50 years have elapsed and the colony is embroiled in a war with the indigenous tribes.

From then on I...
Published 4 months ago by Mr Gordon Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your father's Pilgrims., 31 July 2007
By 
maya j (Quail Crossing) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Communtiy, and War (Thorndike Paperback Bestsellers) (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect from 'Mayflower'. It had been rated as one of the best books of the year by a number of book sellers, but sometimes reading an historical novel can be quite dry and boring- who knew it could be this interesting!

To begin with, I am certain so much of what is written in this book is unknown to most people. The story of the Pilgrims has become so commonplace and hackneyed that I don't think many of us even realize what the Pilgrims were really trying to accomplish by immigrating to North America. This book puts to rest any misconceptions, romantic notions or misperceptions about this group of people called the Pilgrims. It attests to the brutal nature of the world during that time and the sometimes-horrible things a people must do to survive. The fact that any of the Pilgrims actually lived through their first few winters on this continent is truly amazing and speaks to their strong stock.

'Mayflower' begins by documenting the decisions faced by these people in England to start their lives over again in a totally different "world". Freedom of religion was their most overriding reason for wanting to begin anew. They needed a place to live and worship free from persecution. The horrific voyage and their landing on the North American shore are all laid out very vividly, and there are side stories and anecdotes about the people and their families, making it possible to have a real connection to the story. In writing about the Native American tribes in the area surrounding Plymouth Colony, it is obvious Nathaniel Philbrick has done his homework. He speaks in excruciating detail about these tribes, their leaders and particularly about their wartime strategies and nomadic ways. In addition, the relationship between the Pilgrims and the natives was so adversarial, it belies the tradition we know of the "Thanksgiving Meal". I also think most people do not realize that the Pilgrims abused their relationship with the natives and took advantage of them. It certainly shocked me, and I found myself thinking they were bloody thugs, not the cute little stovepipe hat/golden buckle wearing saints they are often depicted as. 'Mayflower' is not glamorous or enchanting, nor is it a homey and heartwarming story, it's a gritty, harrowing, bloody, real-world view of a group of people who had a hand in developing a country known as the United States of America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrim Warriors, 8 Feb 2007
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent account of the first half century plus of the settlement of New England. We start with the Pilgrims leaving Lincolnshire for Holland seeking freedom to worship God according to their consciences. We learn of life in Holland and the hazardous decision to cross the ocean. Here their sufferings began. The ocean voyage was bad enough but being tricked by the captain of the second boat was among the other hazards.

As is well known, survival oh a hostile coast was only possible thanks to the co-operation of the friendly local inhabitants. It was a miracle that they survived the first winter. These people were like Cromwell, providentialists, who believed that God was watching over them by his providence. I do not think the author shares their faith but he writes with a sympathetic understanding of it including how the next generation lacked the vital faith of their fathers so later Puritans had the Half Way Covenant rather than requiring credible profession faith from church members.

Philbrick writes well. The book reads like an adventure story at times, especially during the hostilities of King Philip's war when the proportion of the population lost was far higher than any other war on U.S. soil. We also hear that the settler's victory was in part due to the help they received from Praying Indians, converts from the missionary work of John Eliot. The author is thankfully free from the modern trend of political correctness which would view Native Americans as saints and Pilgrims as rapacious colonisers. This is a fair treatment of the good and bad in both communities.I found it a moving read, especially when one read what William Bradford wrote late in life.

Fear not, poor soul, in God still trust,

Fear not the things thou suffer must;

For, whom he loves, he doth chastise,

And then all tears wipes from their eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unraveling a Myth, 18 Oct 2007
By 
Bentley (USA and England) - See all my reviews
" Wherever they first set foot on the American continent, it wasn't Plymouth, and it certainly wasn't Plymouth Rock. The first Thanksgiving (in 1621) was indeed attended by Indians as well as Pilgrims, but they didn't sit at the tidy table depicted in Victorian popular art; they "stood, squatted, or sat on the ground as they clustered around outdoor fires, where the deer and birds turned on wooden spits and where pottages -- stews into which varieties of meats and vegetables were thrown -- simmered invitingly."

- Mayflower by Nathaniel Philbrick

How many of us grew up with myths about the Pilgrims and about the first Thanksgiving? We all believed that the Pilgrims and the Indians sat at a beautiful table laden with turkey, cranberries and all of the fixings. Not only was that not the case, they certainly didn't set foot on Plymouth Rock.

Philbrick puts these myths to rest. And he tells us about the beginning of our new country and what was the basis for its foundation. Our myths contained stories about Massasoit and Squanto, Bradford and Winslow and, of course, Miles Standish.

One of the major accounts in the book was that of the King Philip's War. We learned that it really did not have to be. Both sides could have developed solutions which respected the goodness in each other as well as the differences.

We learned about how the Indians were shipped off to foreign places during this war and were separated from all of their families and tribes....never to be heard from again (having been made slaves). Only a few ever made it back like Squanto, for example.

Philbrick discusses why the war occurred after so many years of peace and why the descendants of Massasoit and of Bradford and Winslow came to see things differently than their fathers; losing sight of the faith and the respect for the individual that their forefathers had long revered. They also blocked out the memory of how they all needed one another to survive.

The Mayflower Compact, we learn, is one document that laid the foundations for the country that America was to become. Yet, our forefathers had to live through a nightmare of a war (of their own making) where both sides suffered tremendously. It took many years after the war ended to ever recoup even a portion of what was lost.

Philbrick's book is a story of courage, community and war on both sides as well as a story of how our forefathers lost sight of what the Indians had done for their ancestors and their fathers and what was owed to these people. In doing so, they also lost sight of the need for diplomacy and how to work together to come up with solutions that would be good for both the settlers as well as the Indians.

MAYFLOWER has won many awards and the book deserves all of them. What I have come away with deals first with the myth. This was unraveled for me so that I could understand and gain knowledge of the facts of these early settlements. I learned what worked, what didn't work and why the peaceful compact fell apart. I also learned that we can gain a lot from understanding our past and that we do not have to make the same mistakes over again.

Nathaniel Philbrick has given us hope that our future does not always have to resemble our past. He wrote, "When violence and fear grip a society, there is an almost overpowering temptation to demonize the enemy. But some on both sides refused to succumb. They were the ones whose rambunctious and intrinsically rebellious faith in humanity finally brought the war to an end, and they are the heroes of this story."

During the times that we face now, our heroes can continue to be those leaders and citizens who strive to focus on the faith in humanity and celebrate our differences as well as our similarities finding solutions rather than reasons to turn away from each other.

Four Stars: B+ (Recommend Highly)

Bentley/2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New World...Old Realities, 4 April 2007
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As I read Nathaniel Philbrick's brilliant "story of courage, community, and war" in 17th century New England, I recalled one of Charles Darwin's observations, "It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change." That certainly proved true of those who established or later joined Plymouth Colony as well as of the natives who eventually found themselves at war with them. Of special interest to me is what Philbrick has to say about Benjamin Church, a carpenter turned Indian fighter whose maternal grandfather had sailed on the Mayflower. Church seems to embody the best of both groups: courage, decency, cunning, integrity, resourcefulness, and probably most important of all, being "responsive to change." Unlike so many others who have also examined 17th century New England, Philbrick does not think in terms of "heroes" and "villains," although he leaves no reader in doubt about Church's heroism.

I was also grateful to learn so much about King Philip's War. According to Philbrick, "When Philip's warriors attacked in June of 1675, it was not because relentless and faceless forces had given the Indians no other choice. Those forces had existed from the very beginning. War came to New England because two leaders - Philip and his English counterpart, Josiah Winslow - allowed it to happen. For Indians and English alike, there was nothing inevitable about King Philip's War, and the outbreak of fighting caught almost everyone by surprise."

Frankly,I previously had the same "conflicting preconceptions" of the period that Philbrick acknowledges in the Preface: "the time-honored tradition of how the Pilgrims came to symbolize all that is good about America and the now equally family modern tale of how the evil Europeans annihilated the innocent Native Americans." After reading this book, I understood and appreciated that "the real-life Indians and English of the seventeenth century were too smart, too generous, too greedy, too brave - in short, too human - to behave so predictably."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Plymouth Rock to King Philip's War, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Thomas Paul (Plainview, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story of the Pilgrims is a familiar one. Struggling for religious freedom, a small group of Puritans left their homes and traveled to the New World where they hoped to build a new life. Arriving in New England, they were saved from hunger and the cold of winter by friendly Native Americans. They celebrated by starting the tradition of Thanksgiving. Actually, that isn't quite the way it happened. First, less than half the passengers of the Mayflower were Puritans. And it wasn't really religious freedom they were struggling for but rather the ability to force everyone to follow their religion. Ultimately, the Pilgrims did make friends with the Native Americans but it was not an easy change for them to accept the "heathen" and not all tribes in the area were friendly.

But this book is not simply about those first few years in the New World. Just one generation after the arrival of the Pilgrims, just 100 years before Lexington and Concord, the bloodiest war in the history of North America was fought. King Philip's War saw the slaughter of 15% of the Native Americans in New England with many more sent off to the Caribbean into slavery. The Pilgrim population was also decimated (one in ten white men died) leaving the Pilgrims poorer and less able to defend themselves ultimately forcing them to ask for a Royal Governor to protect them.

This book is the story of how the children of the Pilgrims ignored the lessons learned by their parents and turned against the Native Americans who had saved the Pilgrims from starvation and how by doing so, they ultimately ruined themselves. Philbrick tells the story clearly and looks at events from the side of the settlers as well as the Native peoples. The narrative takes us through the period of peace, acceptance, and accommodation between the original Pilgrims and the Native Americans to a period where the Pilgrims looked upon the Native Americans as their inferiors. Native Americans sell their land to buy guns in order to make war. The children of the Pilgrims arrest and sell into slavery Native Americans on the slightest provocation or evidence. And both sides are drawn into the inevitable war that no one really wanted. Philbrick makes the story fascinating by bringing to life many of the characters on both sides. Whether it is 1620 when the Pilgrims are just landing or 1675 when the war breaks out, Philbrick makes the story highly readable by making the story about the lives of real people.

The book is not without flaws. The pictures are of mostly poor quality and unless you are familiar with the geography of New England it is difficult to follow the movement of the various peoples during the war. However, Philbrick does a nice job of showing how the events of the 17th century were critical in creating the United States that we know today. Overall, this was a very good book that is well worth being on your reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revealing, surprising, exciting, 25 Mar 2009
By 
G. Haynes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Philbrick writes a well-structured book that reveals what it was really like for the Mayflower pioneers. Where it falls short perhaps, is in context. He might have outlined more fully what what was happening in Virginia at the same time as this story was playing out. It reads almost as a blow for blow account but I thought that he didn't spend time enough on the colonization of greater New England in the decades between the Mayflower landing and Philip's War. But hey, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loses its way half way through, 15 Dec 2007
By 
SAP (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The first half of this book gets five stars and the second gets three, so it's only fair to learn from the Pilgrims' mistakes and compromise. Thus I have split the difference to arrive at four, rather than killing everybody in the vicinity or selling them into slavery. But seriously, the first half of the book is where the story lies: the Pilgrims' motives for emigrating, their preparations, their voyage in the Mayflower and their establishing a colony thousands of miles from home. Now that is interesting. That's why I bought the book. Whereas the whole second half of the book deals with King Philip's War which took place some 50 years later. (Philip was an Indian chief or "sachem" whose enemies mockingly dubbed him "king".)

Sure, this war is interesting, but it's explored in too great a depth. Which is a shame because I really liked Philbrick's "In the Heart of the Sea". Also, I struggled with the Indian names. I'm always surprised that books like this don't give the reader a guide to the generally accepted pronunciations so at least I'd be saying the names of places and people correctly in my head. Perhaps also a list of characters to refer to? However, I like the cover artwork and the generous number of maps and illustrations. To end on a positive note, Philbrick is an excellent communicator and I could always understand what he was getting at. This is an excellent introduction to the period and a swashbuckling romp at that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed the first part of this book which explains why the pilgrims came to America and how they set their society up. Unfortunately, after that the narrative thread becomes rather broken with the author skipping rapidly forward in time until some 50 years have elapsed and the colony is embroiled in a war with the indigenous tribes.

From then on I was right bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quick service and a book that was in excellent condition, Nathaniel Philbrick always makes a good read regardless of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shatters a fair few myths about the Pilgrim Fathers..., 13 May 2013
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always enjoyed Nathaniel Philbrick's books; he has a way of turning complicated history into an engaging narrative, and this book on the Pilgrim Fathers is no exception. He sets out to implode a fair few of the myths that have grown up around the origins of America, exploring the somewhat darker side of the original Pilgrim settlers, from their early dogmatism to the steadily-increasing militarism, the friendly relations with the Indians degenerating into the later demonization and slave-trade. Whilst he's at it, he also shatters the myth of the famous Plymouth Rock.

His account of the Mayflower voyage and the early years of the Plymouth settlement is the real high point of this book. Whilst he does well to set out how the Pilgrims' rigid dogma and belief in their own divine providence set them on the path to war with the Indians, I did find the jump from the early years of the colony to the outbreak of King Philip's War more than fifty years later a bit of a gulf. A bit more material about the other settlements and colonies would have been useful; to go from a narrative almost exclusively focused on one small settlement to the events of a region-wide war is somewhat jarring with little context in-between.

Still, it's a good point, and Philbrick strikes a balanced authorial tone, managing to write with sympathy about both sides of the conflict. He avoids falling into the trap of depicting the Indians as either noble savages or simply savages, just as the Pilgrims themselves are more than just deluded Europeans or religious fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Communtiy, and War (Thorndike Paperback Bestsellers)
9.39
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews