Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars going easy on yourself
an excellent book to start if you feel that it`s about time you started to treat yourself a little bit better. If you are very self critical, have excessive expectations of yourself and never cut yourself any slack you could learn a lot from this book. I have been practising insight meditation for a couple of years now and have read many books, this has been one of the...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by C. G. Fletcher

versus
1 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
Ok here's what I think of this book. Hocus pocus psychobabel claptrap pretending to be a usefull tool to help people advance in their life, which it manifestly fails to do.
Published 23 months ago by Mikeymikeproductions


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars going easy on yourself, 22 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
an excellent book to start if you feel that it`s about time you started to treat yourself a little bit better. If you are very self critical, have excessive expectations of yourself and never cut yourself any slack you could learn a lot from this book. I have been practising insight meditation for a couple of years now and have read many books, this has been one of the most comprehensive and enjoyable to read,,,fluff free as well!!,,i would suggest trying to read it through rather than leave huge gaps like i did,,as the pitfalls of the practice are flagged up in the latter chapters and so it is important to know them right from the start of your practice so you can know if you are making any progress or are deep in one of those pits!!

invest a bit of time in yourself,,you`re worth it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant resource, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
This book has supported my mindfulness practice, and desire to work on my self-compassion/kindness. It's very well written, easily accessible, and the author has a website with some good audio tracks to download and use to support the material in the book. I personally find it difficult to follow the written instructions for longer exercises without having to refer back, so i'm glad that the website resources can be used instead/aswell as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, interesting and insightful read, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. The title says it all. I had this book in at work and several of my colleagues went and bought the book after flicking through it, (they couldn't even wait until I finished it!).

The book is well laid out and full of exercises and thought provoking comments. It is easily read but not to the point of dumbing down the message, it explained mindfulness in a very straight forward way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational book about self-compassion and mindfulness, 13 May 2011
By 
Kate "Kate Diggory" (Chester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
I bought this book several months ago and it spoke to me then on so many levels - I am already a mindfulness practitioner but Christopher Germer introduced new insights for me and then carefully explained self-compassion and how I could build it. The structure of the book is well put-together and what is refreshing is his descriptions of where people can struggle and how to persevere to gain the benefits of building self-compassion. I have recently re-read it again and am struck by it's powerful and practical wisdom. The section on what personality type you are has really helped me to see where my challenges may lie with self-compassion and how to overcome them. I think the whole section on self-customising the practices marks this book out from others.I highly recommend it and as a counsellor and compassion coach I have already recommended it to clients who have enjoyed it and learned from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those needing to gain a sense of calm perspective over their lives, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
I was recommended to this book after serious illness, together with some others on the same subject. I found this particular book very much more readable than most of the others and it helped me get back onto the road of peace and calm with myself and the world in general. I wasn't into the meditation life style previously, and I am no ex-hippy type but the I found this book very helpful for understanding a bit more about the way I behave and coming to terms with getting on with the rest of my life in a much more balanced way.

Don't let the title put you off - I thought it sounded like a book for those who self harm. And in a strange sense it is, because we all can fall into the trap of emotionally beating up on ourselves - when we shouldn't. This is a book about how to find ways to be at peace with what goes on in your head and sort it all out into the right place so you can carry on your life in a better and calmer way. Some of the techniques, you may not need for ever, but I would thoroughly recommend this book for anyone who has gone through a period of serious stress, and who feels they need a way to gather all those bits of junk that float around in your head into a sensible and more ordered form, so you can get on with the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mindful path, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
Only half way through the book which I have found extremely useful and engaging to read. The first part of the book encourages you to explore self compassion before going onto looking at the relationships you have with others. It is encouraging to read that self compassion can be developed and as such is a skill that needs to be nurtured. The author gives excellent case examples from his clinical work to fully explain how to embrace mindful acceptance and work with difficult emotions. I would highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in mindfulness. However, it is probably best served having had some formal experience with the principles behind a Mindfulness based stress reduction course or having read Jon Kabit Zin (et al) 'The mindful way through depression, freeing yourself form chronic unhappiness'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great way to get started with mindfulness, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
overlaps largely with the Neff book on what the basics are of self-compassion and mindfulness, but written in a different style - not so client focussed and a bit more like a text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
In fact, it will be life changing if I am disciplined enough to put it into practice. Maybe a course or DVD would help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good its almost too true !!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
This book is amazing ! Its helped me alot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great!, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions (Paperback)
This book is just the right mixture of science and spirituality. It gives some really practical techniques to try and backs it up with interesting scientific studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion: Freeing Yourself from Destructive Thoughts and Emotions
11.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews