Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tea, what a relief
This is a little black book that gives an insight into the world of tea. My only criticism is the market that this was written for. Early on you get an impression that it is from and aimed at the American market, this is dispelled half way through with generous comments about UK before bouncing its focus back towards the US. Look past this and you will find a delightful...
Published 14 months ago by shipwrecked up north

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected
Written for an American audience which wasn't declared in any description.
Bought as a present, read in about 20 minutes and probably won't be referred too again which isn't what i was looking for.
Nice lay out and presentation though. 3 stars is generous but 2 stars would've been harsh.
Published on 28 May 2011 by John H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
Written for an American audience which wasn't declared in any description.
Bought as a present, read in about 20 minutes and probably won't be referred too again which isn't what i was looking for.
Nice lay out and presentation though. 3 stars is generous but 2 stars would've been harsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much about tea....., 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is light on information about tea. What descriptions of of tea are present are very brief and don't contain much detail. The bulk of the book is taken up with recipes for tea (ie ways of turning tea into something that isn't tea; and recipes for foods to accompany tea. Unnecessary and misleading - if I want to find out how to make crumpet, or bake a spice cake, I will consult a proper cookery book.
I can't see who would buy this - too little about tea for me; too superficial to be regarded as a handbook on "taking tea" as a cultural Phenomenon; and no match for proper cookery books if you want recipes......
I got this on kindle, so not too annoyed about wasting the money, but I certainly wouldn't have bought this if I'd been able to see its contents by browsing in a shop. Perhaps it just needs a more accurate name - " The
Little Book of Teatime" reflects its contents better IMHO....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little being the operative word, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
A disappointing purchase with less that you would find by spending ten minutes on wikipedia, just snipped snippets! It was bought as a gift and I was glad I checked it before passing it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a trips down imagination road review, 24 Oct 2013
Its not often that I read non-fiction books but I read this one all about tea. It may seem like a slightly strange subject to want to read about, but I love tea and wanted to know more about it. I found it a really interesting, and I finally discovered what the difference between black, green and white tea which I wasn't clear on before. I also found it really easy to read, one of the reasons that I don't read non-fiction books very often is that I sometimes found them heavy going. This one was clear, well laid out and very readable.

One thing I didn't particularly liked was the strange pictures that popped up in places for no apparent reason, they looked a little bit like clip art and not what I would have expected from a book like that.

There was clear information about useful things like steeping time for different teas, and it told you how to understand the grading levels of tea (which is again something I had no clue about before), it also gave you a range of recipes, not just of things made with tea, but also of things to have with tea, and it amused me to see that one of the recipes was a substitute for clotted cream, which apparently can't be found in America, Americans being quite clearly the target audience for this book. Personally I would have preferred it if it wasn't aimed at a particular nationality, but ultimately it didn't really make much of a difference.

This is a light, quick read, with interesting information and clear descriptions, sections and recipes!

Blog: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tea, what a relief, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
This is a little black book that gives an insight into the world of tea. My only criticism is the market that this was written for. Early on you get an impression that it is from and aimed at the American market, this is dispelled half way through with generous comments about UK before bouncing its focus back towards the US. Look past this and you will find a delightful book with loads of light detail to help with your enjoyment of this miraculous liquid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little book with recipes, 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
Lots of information about tea I didn't know anything now I know lots. Will try a few of the tea biscuits recipes. Lots of types of teas and tasting notes and brewing notes. Will dip into quite a bit great little book to have by my bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
Good product, arrived in time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
I like this little ook of tea - a useful and cute little handbook guide with some interestin facts in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cute little book, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
informative little book with extras such as bake suggestions and complement menus, good price and good quality very compact little book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gas Station Pocket Book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) (Hardcover)
It is not what I was looking for at all.
This is more one of those pocket books you can buy at a gas station that has some basic informations on tea...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books)
Little Black Book of Tea (Little Black Books) by Mike Heneberry (Hardcover - 1 Jun 2006)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews