Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and straight to the point
I've always admired Aiden Shaw and not just for his oft-displayed physical attributes. Here he explains how he became the man he is in an honest and candid manner. Maybe not the book to leave lying around during a visit from your maiden aunt but anyone with an open mind can't help but be drawn into his story. It is well written and very descriptive (some may say graphic)...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by Stuart

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total Waste of Money
Why on earth did I waste my money on this pile of trash? The author cannot write - though is adept at name-dropping - and the part where he reveals his rentboy activities with the late Lionel Bart, creator of Oliver!, is tasteless in the extreme. Not even worthy of being donated to a charity shop; best to bin it.
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by Mingaladon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and straight to the point, 24 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Truths (Paperback)
I've always admired Aiden Shaw and not just for his oft-displayed physical attributes. Here he explains how he became the man he is in an honest and candid manner. Maybe not the book to leave lying around during a visit from your maiden aunt but anyone with an open mind can't help but be drawn into his story. It is well written and very descriptive (some may say graphic) but always in a way that you know it's the truth and not just being done for effect.

In fact, far from glamorising the life he has led, he simply tells it as it is. It's certainly presented in a 'warts and all' way.

Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sordid Truths, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sordid Truths (Paperback)
Some may not like the truth ... but the porn industry is said to be a brutal marketplace. One review mentions that they found Aiden's relationship with Lionel Bart "tasteless" ... but that is how it was rather than what one wants his life to be.

I believe one has to look beyond Aiden's written words, and focus on his life, and even the troubled times and the truth as he knows it. That is where he makes valid points about his life, whether we like it or not. If not prepared to be open minded, why buy the book?

Of course, we all have opinions, and are reasonably free to express them, but Aiden makes his life all that more real rather than painting a pretty picture. On the point that someone would not even give the book to a charity shop, I think Aiden would not imagine it to be sold in one... unless staff that are more forward thinking with a live and let live reasonable attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, fascinating and a bit rude, 18 Dec 2009
By 
Martin Dolphin (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sordid Truths (Paperback)
I really enjoy Aiden Shaw's books - don't think I've ever seen one of his films, but have read all his written work and he writes well about his sometimes very troubled and difficult life. He's open an honest about his problems with addiction and this really comes across in his work. Yes he was a porn star, a hooker, you name it he tried it, but he writes about it in a really fascinating and interesting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true recommendation from one of our modern day true life icons, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. E. Mercer (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sordid Truths (Paperback)
Aiden's new book is a really great "unputdownable" read as it is written with brutal yet beautiful sexuality and showing he is perhaps more than what meets the eye. A genuinely entertaining and delightfully hedonistic journey awaits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sordid Truths-Aiden Shaw, 5 Sep 2010
By 
J. Coady "agentamour" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sordid Truths (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading Aiden's book. It's the first of his that I have read. It's intresting to learn more about the uk's male prostitution scene in the late 80's early 90's and his stories are expressive and quite honest. I found it quite educational and was suprized at all the secret goings on.
This part of his life takes him from his beginning as a rent boy, up to his move to the USA to his start breaking in to the porn industry.
It's an easy read that I could not put down. He's inspired me to start to think about writing about my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total Waste of Money, 13 Mar 2010
This review is from: Sordid Truths (Paperback)
Why on earth did I waste my money on this pile of trash? The author cannot write - though is adept at name-dropping - and the part where he reveals his rentboy activities with the late Lionel Bart, creator of Oliver!, is tasteless in the extreme. Not even worthy of being donated to a charity shop; best to bin it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sordid Truths
Sordid Truths by Aiden Shaw (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: £4.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews