Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic space adventure, 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
Over the years there have been lots of different Lego space ranges. Starting with "classic Space" in the 80s they've updated the designs for each new generation of kids. What Peter Reid and Tim Goddard have done here is take all these different space fleets and slot them together into an imagined history of man's future in space.

Using the space race in the 50s and 60s as a springboard, the book introduces us to the plain red and white spacemen of "classic space", the evil Blacktron, intrepid Ice Planet explorers and Futuron colonists. Hopefully a follow up book will continue the story and cover some of the other later space themes.

Alongside this story are lots and lots of pictures of fantastic models. The amount of detail in everything is incredible and they show a great deal of imagination even in creating the backgrounds.

There are plenty of instructions throughout but these are for some of the smaller models in the book - miniature spaceships, robots and furniture. This is not a bad thing at all. I would think that the sheer amount of bricks used in a lot of the larger models would make them quite expensive and not the sort of thing a young child could attempt. The smaller models provide an insight into the kind of techniques that are used in the bigger ones though so you could definitely try building your own spaceships in a similar style afterwards.

Overall this is a great book both for older kids looking for inspiration and for "young at heart" adults who remember some of these toys from childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Space: This IS the Future of Lego books, 22 Feb. 2014
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
This book exceeded all my expectations. I have other Lego books but this by far has the nicest most lovingly detailed and composed shots I've ever seen. Beautiful close ups, colossal sized ships and space stations, imaginative settings and characters. Some of the impressive picture spreads manage to fill the whole two pages with no borders. This is not just another Lego book with page after page of pointless never going to follow instructions, it has gorgeous full sized glossy pictures of original models and landscapes. You can tell that real love has been put into the pictures and the story is genuinely entertaining too. Really quite an intriguingly dark storyline and I can only hope for a sequel. It captures all the best elements of Lego Space from the chapter Army of darkness covering the beginnings of Blacktron to the terrible discoveries in the frozen tundra with Iceplanet. Like Sci-fi?, Like Lego?, this has it all. An essential buy.

Beware of the worms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego + Space = Fantastic, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
Wow! If you're a fan of Sci-fi or Lego then this is the book for you! It's packed full of wonderful pictures of space themed lego models, building instructions and all of this is accompanied by a very entertaining and imaginative story! There are so many lovely details it is definitely going to keep me entertained for a long time coming. If only Lego still made space sets like they used to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered this book and have been anticipating it for a long time, it has arrived and has exceeded my expectations completely.
The book is a beautiful quality hardback, with an excellent combination matt and gloss finished cover.
Inside, the pictures are stunning, the models are superb. The brick built walls and corridors are splendid. The robots and spaceships are inspiring. There is a huge amount of content in the book and the layout is excellent.
I had planned on reading the story gradually but once I started I was hooked and had to read to the end.

I'd recommend this to adults and children. It would make an excellent present.

Well done to the creators, it is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all in one : a great story and building ideas, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
Great LEGO space story and building ideas. For anyone who loves LEGO classic space . Love the mini-space robots a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book that brings back a lot of memories from my childhood. I only wish there were instructions for all of the models in this volume, especially the larger minifig scale ships. I will just hope that Lego will release them just like they did for the Exo Suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Lego book of 2013, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
A must for Lego fans. A little something for everybody if their tastes include Lego space - A fun future history of space exploration, brilliant models presented with great photography and building instructions for the budding space builder. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing fan book!, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Rui Grilo (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
Outstanding Lego original creations, well served by an interesting background story. I'm happy to have bought it. Essential for any Lego space fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... bought for a present but I'm sure he will love it as he specifically asked for this, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
It was bought for a present but I'm sure he will love it as he specifically asked for this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but very few actual building instructions, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Space: Building the Future (Hardcover)
Don't buy this hoping to find building instructions for any of the featured models, except some minifig-scale furniture and microscale spaceships, and a few minifig scale robots. That's all you're getting. Hugely disappointing if you're an AFOL hoping to learn some advanced building secrets. Instructions for at least one of the spiffy spaceships would have been nice.

So be warned: building instructions are scarce and only lets you build a few, very small models.

For the advanced builder this isn't a problem, as you most likely know building techniques and possess the necessary skill level to build your own gnarly spaceships, vehicles, bases etc.

Other than that, this book is an absolute must for any LEGO Space enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Space: Building the Future
LEGO Space: Building the Future by Tim Goddard (Hardcover - 15 Nov. 2013)
£14.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews