Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£33.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2012
This book is for use with Wireshark. The book is really easy to read and understand and it leaves you wanting more.

Although the book is more for beginners by the end of it you will feel like an expert!

Understanding network packets will help you to secure your system and see what is really flowing between your PC and the internet. You will become familiar with TCP/IP, ARP, DNS, DHCP, ICMP, SSL and many more acronyms.

The book is very well laid out with a good mixture of text and graphs/pics in fact it is so good that the book is bound with Otabind binding allowing it to easily lie flat when opened.

It comes with a downloadable zip file of capture examples for you to work through alongside with the book. I would highly recommend the actual book rather than a kindle version as the book is so well designed (you can of course re-sell the book but not your kindle version!).

This book is so good that you wish it was even more in-depth or that this author/publisher did a more in-depth book. Although there is a chapter on Wireless analysis it does not go into too much depth (and no the book does not tell you how to hack - but makes you aware of the hacking problems and how to check/see them) - so could have done with a longer chapter on WiFi.

Highly recommended as one of the best beginners guide to a subject that I have read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Absolutely loved this book and it has changed how i approach network troubleshooting. I found working through the real life packet captures in the book cemented tcp/ip topics i'd previously read but not fully grasped in practice. At under 300 pages i was able to complete the book even with a busy schedule. I use the techniques within almost daily and highly recommend.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
If you want to get an insight into the inner workings of your network, then this is the book is for you. Written in clear language, with good explanations, this book guides you through to intermediate level packet analysis techniques using Wireshark. Each protocol or scenario described has an associated packet capture file, helping you get hands on experience using Wireshark.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
This book makes using Wireshark reasonably easy if you have some basic computing skills. I use it with my students because I can give them a quick intro and they are then able to work through material on their own. The students quickly get to grips with understanding not just the practical skills, but also issues such as security and privacy. They are often surprised at just how much data is visible to anyone looking.
The most positive aspects of the book are the clear and easy to read style and also the way in which it allows the linking of the theoretical aspects with practice in this area.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Several years ago I read the 1st edition that I borrowed from a friend, and a few months ago I ordered and read the 2nd edition. I was not disappointed. The reading was enjoyable. Of cause you cannot expect a full guide to Wireshark from a book of 250 pages, but it gives a very good background. Many practical tips and examples provided in the book are useful both for beginners and for people who use Wireshark almost every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
Practical packet analysis is related, in fact, to a single product - Wireshark. Chris mentions other tools as well (in an Appendix), but he mostly focuses on this, particular tool. Wireshark allows you to analyze what's going on within the wires of your network. Listening to the wire is not that easy as you may think in the first place. First of all, it's good to know the terminology. Chris provides you with the exact knowledge you need. You will learn just enough to get started and will be told what are the differences between switches, routers, hubs, taps are. You will also know what ARP and OSI mean as well as many other abbreviations. What I specially liked within theory related section was some sort of analysis when to focus on particular device for sniffing and how to utilize it to it's extent. One remark here. For people totally fresh in network terminology I'd suggest something additional and better (easier) explained. I think, at some places book might be hard to follow. Especially when Chris discusses topics like packet components, uses computer related arithmetic, and provides not that much detailed explanation of some topics. In fact, I'd suggest this book to intermediate readers who already know something about computers and networks.

What do I think about this book? It is good for people who are familiar with computer science but didn't work with networks so far. Why? It simply requires some level of knowledge related to networking and to data is processing. On the other hand it is based on well known, easy accessible, GUI based application. This way, you can follow it quite easily, even though you are not perfectly familiar with all the network based concepts. I'd suggest this book as a starter for people who are thinking about working with packet analysis.

I particularly liked what Chris says at the beginning of 4th chapter: "As you perform packet analysis, you will find that a good portion of the analysis you do will happen after your capture." This is certainly true. And this sentence tells very important thing. Good network analysis is not only based on listening to the wire. In fact, it is based on a deduction. It's like detective's work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Whilst studying for the excellent 503 SANS course I realised it would be an ideal opportunity to dive into packet analysis a little further. This is an excellent, well written book which guides you through the basics and looks at some of the more in depth topics. At no stage did I feel lost during any of the 'walk throughs'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
This book is easy to understand and allows you to make sense of the different types of packets on a network. It covers the common protocols in some detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
great book and good seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)