Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark on the genre
This book is like no other book in its field/segment/genre whatever you want to call it, this book won't "dummy" guide you through already made up stuff, that will turn you into a BOT.
This book lays ground and rules to think and develop your skills outside of what you have been taught, it teaches you in a way that will let you evolve further without the...
Published on 30 Mar. 2013 by Gonçalo Ferreira

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars humm ok.
I found the chapter about C programming was a bit unnecessary, if you do not know C programming before reading this book you will be lost anyway. I found also the focus on Linux a bit boring, thought it would be about windows as well but there was very little about windows.
Published 9 months ago by Anders Karlsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark on the genre, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
This book is like no other book in its field/segment/genre whatever you want to call it, this book won't "dummy" guide you through already made up stuff, that will turn you into a BOT.
This book lays ground and rules to think and develop your skills outside of what you have been taught, it teaches you in a way that will let you evolve further without the book, and in no time you will be developing your own exploits, this book would be only worth for its programming side, it is that good.
It comes with a a linux distro with some tools you can use, I have decided to use my own linux distro, but further in the book, it is advised to use the one provided by the book, because, some exploits have already been patched in later distributions, and all of the exploits and tools work on the one provided by the book.
Also the package was adequate and it came in excellent condition.

Absolutely recommended, although not recommended for someone with very little computer knowledge, or someone that have never written a line of code before, if that is your case this will be very difficult to pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hacking: The Art of Exploitation, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read many books on the subject i have to rate this as the best by far, at least from a developer view point. I now have the information needed to fully understand this subject.

If you just want to be a script kiddy then this is not the book for you,
However if you have a need to understand how the tools work and how to actualy find exploits then i highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Grace, 2 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
I have been lost in the wilderness waiting for clarity and this book finally delivered. It bridges the gap between machine and man beautifully. This should be on every students bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Stuff, but not light bedtime reading., 18 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. G. Dawkins (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
While many of the so called hacking books do little more than act as a step by step guide on script kiddy tools and trojans, with the obligatory screenshots.
This one is different, and it's definately the one to get if you are serious about the subject.
A pretty comprehensive guide on some of the low level aspects of true hacking.
It's not for the faint hearted though, it's a heavy and complicated read, and I say that with a bachelors degree in I.T and Computing.
Some exposure to C, and more than a passing exposure to ASM might well be a healthy pre-requisite, as well as an understanding of memory addressing.
If you can't read and understand source code, you will be wasting your time and money here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible on the subject., 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Chris "C.Davies" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
If you want to learn the subject of exploitation this is a must-have. Not an easy read for a new guy/girl to the field though. I would suggest at least being able to read and somewhat understand C/ASM code, it'll make things run smoother. I'll also make another suggestion, pick up a copy of shellcoder's handbook 2nd ed - great companions for reading up on the subject. Pick up this book and welcome to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Scope, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
I could preach this book all day. From a beginner's perspective, there are plenty of books available on the market that all claim to offer an in-depth introduction to 'Hacking'(Programming, Computer Science, Reverse Engineering), but many books fail to lay a foundation of knowledge, starting from the basics concepts. This book does just that, and at a quick but manageable pace brings the reader up to scratch to start tackling some of the more challenging concepts and their problems.

Personally, I would consider this book to be a fully comprehensive introduction to the field of computer security, because it doesn't miss out any of the key concepts that are a prerequisite to learning certain topics in the field computer science. Granted there are books like 'Violent Python' and books on using suites of tools such as provided in Kali Linux, which serve their purpose if you're studying penetration testing, but this books gives you the knowledge to be free with in the computer space and not be bound by specific tools. This book will teach from the ground up the basics of Networking and how these, and all tools do what they do, rather than just focus on their application.
This book won't teach you everything there is to know about computer science, but will provide a better introduction compared to any other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hacking: The Art of Exploitation Book/CD Package 2nd Edition (Paperback), 12 Jan. 2012
By 
B Dadson "DadsonB" (Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
This book is absolutely perfect for the subject. I recieved my order couple of days ago, the begining chapter set you straight on fire to coding. Exactly what you expect for this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 2 May 2014
By 
Daniel Baron - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
Dont be expecting to hack your mates facebook account, facebook has very advanced security, this book will show you the kind of exploits like the recnt heartbleed vulnerability, it realy gets down to the bits and bytes and focuses on C and Assembly language. Extremely interesting and the information will certainly aid you as a penetration tester, youll learn all sorts or techniques to take advantage of overlooked 'mistakes' in the code written by apparently 'good' programmers, this teaches you to be better than them, it teaches you that a program that is executed that was written in C does no contain IF statements and FOR statements and all that, it contains 1101011101101, or translation to assembly, things like
mov ecx, ebx
add eax, ecx
sub edx, eax
... you get the gist, it doesnt execute as C, but as binary code, the key difference between a programmer and a HACKER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Nuts ... (and bolts), 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great read for people who want to know the nuts and bolts of exploitation. If you want to know how to 'hack facebook' ... look elsewhere! but, if you are interested in how programs, networks and computers work from a very fundamental level, I would recommend this book.
Some programming experience would be helpful, but you don't have to be a programmer (I'm not) to get something out of this.

Once again, I would recommend this book to people who have a curiosity and interest in how things work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Although this is a contraversal area the insights that this ..., 4 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacking: The Art of Exploitation (Paperback)
Although this is a contraversal area the insights that this book provides are deep and it will benefit you
as a software professional in general even if you don't use these techniques yourself in your work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hacking: The Art of Exploitation
Hacking: The Art of Exploitation by Jon Erickson (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2008)
£22.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews