Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars60
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
The story from issues #1-3 of Dark Horse’s ‘Serenity’ mini-series is collected as Serenity - Those Left Behind. The writer and artists manage to capture the feel and look of the original TV series and film very well. The story is set just before the film – I don’t know if it is a direct prequel – and we begin in the middle of a robbery gone wrong, as the robbers are themselves robbed. As the story progresses, the crew are on the lookout for a payday to keep the wolf from the airlock, while a couple of Alliance agents hire an old enemy of Reynolds’ to take care of him and his crew while they retrieve River Tam. During the course of the adventure Inara and Shepherd both make their departures, setting up the action for the film; and the Alliance commissions the baddie from the film to go after River. I feel as if I have to go and watch Serenity [Blu-ray] [Region Free] now just to check if it all slots in properly…

As I said above, it looks right, it sounds right, and it feels right.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2009
The book is a well written and drawn story set in between the TV Series and the Movie. Essentially it reads as another story for the crew and passengers on Firefly and difficulties that they get into. It has the interactions between the characters that we have come to love and now miss. It also has some great banter that would not have been out of place in the show.

What is particularly good is the way that it sets up the events that happen in the movie with the final moments serving as a direct link. It felt short, but that was maybe because

On the other side many questions do remain, namely if we will ever learn what Book's history and secrets are. The fact that the end of the story is essentially linked to the movie makes it feel a little like there are no new truths that you have gained by reading it.

Having said all of that, it was nice to re-enter the firefly 'verse again and see the crew. If only for a little while.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
Those Left Behind acts as a nice little bridge to the Firely tv show and the Serenity movie, tying up any loose threads and ending anything that was set up for a further series, but not for the film. Although the way this is gone about feels just like reading a proper episode, a few parts seem a bit cheap in terms of killing off plot points. However, the return of a previous villain and some nice character revelations bring this back up with things they obviously wanted to explore had the series continued. Overall this a fun little bridge for fans, but you won't be missing out on anything spectacular if you miss it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
I am not a fan of comics usually, but I am a firefly fan.
The graphics and story are so firefly.
Shame the network stopped it!
Bring back Captain Tight Pants and his crew!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
This is a good story, prequel to the serenity movie.
Has all the characters and the adventure that learned to love from the firefly series.
The art of this book is good. Not great like Jim Lee, for ex. But good enough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
I noticed these Firefly Graphic Novels when browsing for something else and was immediately excited. I am a huge fan of the Firefly series (Firefly - The Complete Series [DVD] [2003]) and it was a real shame they only ever made one season. Although the Film "Serenity" (Serenity [DVD] [2005])answered some of the questions left by the end of the series. This Graphic Novel comes between the end of the series and before the film. The only reason I've only given this 4 stars is it's not very long. This just fulled my Firefly lust once more so I had to order the second one too! (Serenity Volume 2: Better Days: Better Days v. 2)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Item arrived ahead of estimated delivery date and was well packaged. This has been well drawn and the artwork is fine, the characters are portrayed exactly as they were in the show and the movie. Makes a good filler to bridge the gap between them both, too.
Several reviews mention that it is a bit short, however, the comic release was only three issues long anyway - this just groups them together (but yes, it would be nice if it was longer). There isn't really any 'new' information as such, but the story and the pacing is just how it should be. I will certainly be ordering the next volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Not a bad little story. It tells what happened between the series and the film, why Shepherd Book and Inara left the ship and why the Blue Hands didn't feature in the film and were replaced by that cool agent with the sword. Could of been longer though, read it in about 20mins. The art work is great and the dialogue stays true to the characters. It arrived within the estimated delivery date. All in all 4/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
Wheadon takes us forward from the end of Firefly to fill in what happened before the tragic events of Serenity. Far more in the mode of the series than the film we rejoin all of the characters for more criminal capers.
The story zips along at as fair pace and we also get some foreshadowing of the films baddie thrown in. Worth it just for the art and extras. Very reasonably priced for Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2009
As a big fan of the firefly show I bought this imediate follow on as an attempt to stay immersed within Joss Whedons' immensely stimulating 'verse. Written by him, the art is fantastic- but the story remains too short! For the price this is a steal and well worth buying, but I would go ahead and buy [ASIN:1595821627 Serenity Volume 2: Better Days: Better Days v. 2]]as well to get that fix!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse