Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all suitable for families - thank god!
"Family Values" is the shortest Sin City book (barring "Booze, Broads, and Bullets" which is a collection of short stories) featuring Dwight (from "A Dame to Kill For")and Miho (from "The Big Fat Kill") as they set their sights for revenge against one of Basin City's mafia families. The story is standard fare if you're familiar with Sin City; if not, the story is told in...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Sam Quixote

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars It is not the 3rd edition.
Great quality etc, but i was looking for the 3rd edition. unfortunately even though the title says it is the 3rd one, it was the second after all.
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by Azathoth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all suitable for families - thank god!, 6 July 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sin City Volume 5: Family Values (3rd Edition): Family Values Bk. 5 (Sin City (Dark Horse)) (Paperback)
"Family Values" is the shortest Sin City book (barring "Booze, Broads, and Bullets" which is a collection of short stories) featuring Dwight (from "A Dame to Kill For")and Miho (from "The Big Fat Kill") as they set their sights for revenge against one of Basin City's mafia families. The story is standard fare if you're familiar with Sin City; if not, the story is told in black and white with flashes of primary colour (often red) and reads like the hard boiled noir thrillers of the 30s and 40s by Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett put out by publishers like Black Cat.

Which isn't to say it's no good - it's very entertaining, a solid book by the great Frank Miller and a fine instalment in his masterful series. Though, besides a twist at the end it's fairly straightforward and not as inventive as other Sin City books of which I recommend the first four books that precede this fifth volume as wonderful reads and works of art. But what you do get is the kind of stuff readers and fans of Sin City have come to know and love about the series: lots of moody scenes at night in alleys in the pouring rain, sleazy bars filled with worn out whores and jaded bartenders, honourable street thugs, bullets and guns aplenty, and lots of killing, some of them quite funny, courtesy of bloody-minded Miho.

It's a fast read but still great fun and holds up real well. I read the Sin City series years ago and every time I pick up a volume to remind myself of and re-read the greatness, I always come away impressed with what Frank Miller achieved with his signature work. "Family Values" is not the best in the series, in fact the book could be ranked in the order it appeared - fifth - but considering the incredible quality of the first four, it's no less brilliant for it. Well worth a look and a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Short Pink One, 20 July 2005
By 
Another awesome sin city installment. Admittidly not with the same raw, cut graphics of the first few but still beautiful & signature Miller. As this was the shortest of the books i've read from the series it does leave you wanting but for the price it is a cracking read - dark, blunt and full of that amazing circling dialogue that Miller fans have seen in not only Sin City but his Batman aswell. Incidentally, had some serious deja vous moments with some of the compositions of Miho and Miller's Caroline Kelly (Robin From Dark Knight Returns & Strikes Again) and there is a hint of Vinnie in Lex Luthor aswell. Basically if you were a fan of the above titles or the series in general this won't let you down but i would be tempted to invest in another aswell to keep you busy as it is short and pacey. For the those daring to enter Sin City for the first time this is a great piece but i'd hit the Yellow Bastard or A Dame to Kill For first- this one is a good accompeniament to save for a cookie break or a rainy day.
Keep it casual
r
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To Blood Spattered Sin City, 5 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Another yarn of violent payback on the mean streets of Sin City. A man with a debt to pay is looking for answers regarding the murder of a city official called Bruno. Bruno has a shadowy past, and his killers haven't managed to cover their tracks.....
Business as usual in Sin City - the breathtaking use of black and white imagery successfully conveys the mean streets and low lifes, whilst the violence is suitably grotesque and over the top. The bitter black comedic plot should grab anyone who is a fan of of Chandler, Leonard or Ellroy.
Not top notch when compared to The Big Fat Kill or the original Sin City but still worth taking a look at for lovers of crime or if you wonder what Miller got up to after Batman: The Dark Knight Returns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dwight and Miho in a "Sin City" tale of revenge, 9 Aug 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When I started reading "Family Values," Book 5 of Frank Miller's "Sin City" series, I found myself wondering why Dwight keeps getting to be the narrator-protagonist of the comic noir stories. Then I remembered that Marv and Hartigan are both dead, so it means it is either Dwight or somebody new and Miller will have to get to the latter sooner or later. But for the third time in the first five books, once again Dwight is the man.
Dwight shows up at Poppa's Olympian Palace, an old fashioned diner (you know the type; it looks like you could put it on wheels and hitch it to a train as a cheap dinner car) driving a VW Beetle (hey, it is a German car, so what is your complaint? Besides, you can always trade up). The place is riddled with bullets and whatever happened there Dwight is interested, and since deadly little Miho is backing him up we have to think it has something to do with the girls of Old Town. The problem is that nobody is talking about why what happened at Poppa's happened and it takes a while and a couple of versions of the tale to figure out the meaning of the key detail Miller keeps working into the art. You are not going to be able to figure out what is going on until it is all laid out for you, but that is not necessarily a bad thing (as opposed to telegraphing the ending). I also like a red herring, especially when it walks on four legs.
It seems like every killing in Sin City is revenge for a previous killing, which just means there is another killing in Sin City that needs to be revenged and the cycle goes on and on and on. But there is a moral to this particular story and as Dwight notes it is a great big wide world out there and there's all kinds of families in it. Apparently they all play by the same rules, it is just that some are a lot better at it, especially when it comes to covering their tracks. The best part of this story is the way Dwight has to unravel the truth, moving from one source to the next to find out another layer of the truth so that he and Miho know exactly who has to pay for what happened (and we finally get to find out what really happened).
"Family Values" is a relative short "Sin City" tale, coming it at 126 black & white pages and I think picking pink as the color on the cover to go along with the drawing of Miho in the snow might be a made choice (besides red and yellow, do any colors really make sense in Miller's "Sin City"). Miller does some nice things with the snow in Book 5 that are interesting, but reducing Miho to a ghostly figure of pure white takes a little getting used to (especially if you want to start unpacking the symbolic value of doing so in contrast to the shadows and dirt of Sin City in general). It is a rather simple and ordinary tale by "Sin City" standards, but that still makes it above average if you are looking at the overall genre of graphic novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mr miller, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin City Volume 5: Family Values (3rd Edition): Family Values Bk. 5 (Sin City (Dark Horse)) (Paperback)
truly great illustrator who never fails to deliver. his perspective angles of work are truly exceptional. love his work greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not order from this company!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin City Volume 5: Family Values (3rd Edition): Family Values Bk. 5 (Sin City (Dark Horse)) (Paperback)
I've ordered about 3/4 books from this company and they're the only one out of all the ones i've ordered where the books arrive all bent up and awkward to hold with the corners all bashed up considering they're supposed to be new; it's a bit unnecessary
I really just don't know how they have such a high review when i've so quickly come to realise they're unreliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so pulpy u can almost breathe the chunks, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
more fun and games from the best imaginary city ever. I really want to live there the only problem is it's imaginary, Doh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It is not the 3rd edition., 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sin City Volume 5: Family Values (3rd Edition): Family Values Bk. 5 (Sin City (Dark Horse)) (Paperback)
Great quality etc, but i was looking for the 3rd edition. unfortunately even though the title says it is the 3rd one, it was the second after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Sin City Volume 5: Family Values (3rd Edition): Family Values Bk. 5 (Sin City (Dark Horse)) (Paperback)
I was really expecting to see the book depicted on the picture.Instead i saw a different edition of the book where the cover is white and a woman is in the middle.Not recommended for those collecting the comic books with the original covers,the ones that create a picture of a girl at the side
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I first read this when i was about 10 and have only found a copy now that i had the wonderful idea of amazon and it is as good as i originally thought it was. The plot is fantastic and miho was and still is the best assassin i have ever read or seen in anything, full marks go to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews