Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a nice night female officer, on a night such as this..
Hellsing. As a fan of the animé and of the manga, I hold Hellsing in high regard. So do excuse me if the review is, a little biased. :)
As stated by other reviews, Hellsing: Psalm to the Darkness, is set in England. The manga reflects this relatively well, with its phrasing and attempts of an accent in the writing of the text. This is as evident as the english...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by s74n70

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Story low
I liked the first two books in this series but thought, personally that they were to low on story, which I find is the driving force behind a good manga and it seems sadly missing. It may get better the more you read, but I think after the first two books it's just too much of a gamble purchasing a third just to find the same problems.

There are other series'...
Published 2 months ago by The Protagonist


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a nice night female officer, on a night such as this.., 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
Hellsing. As a fan of the animé and of the manga, I hold Hellsing in high regard. So do excuse me if the review is, a little biased. :)
As stated by other reviews, Hellsing: Psalm to the Darkness, is set in England. The manga reflects this relatively well, with its phrasing and attempts of an accent in the writing of the text. This is as evident as the english voice actors used in the 'dub' of the japanese anime.
Hellsing isn't intended as the more common 'vampire' japanese serials, it has its serious points, and of course, bloody killing of vampires and rival priests, but it has a humour thats almost entirely its own. This, I feel, is carried along well, and while you may be carried along in the feel of the manga, and the excitement of the fighting through the refreshing drawing style - you can't help but want more. I have met very few who have picked up the manga or the anime and haven't loved it, if not straight away, then eventually.
Translations of japanese mangas are always a bit sketchy, however this one pulls it off well enough to be believable. However, if you're picking this book up, expecting it to be exactly the same as the anime, you will be a little disappointed. The storyline in the manga does surpass the anime and explains certain aspects in greater and more interesting detail. Though the storylines are the same.
Overall, Hellsing is an enjoyable read, and there're enough pages in one book to keep you reading for a good few hours, depending on your rate of reading of course. The author has included a bonus chapter based on a tangent to the storyline, and his own comments - that are amusing to read. If you're a fan of Trigun, this has a similar feel, but isn't intended as a rip-off as it was originally written and published at about the same time. I recommend it. *Readies Cassul with his teeth* ^_~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I did come up with a title - but then I forgot it, 24 Aug 2007
By 
A. Weaver "Thing Witch" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
The manga - Hellsing, is about the organization of the same name that has dedicated itself to protecting England - well, an awfully but hilariously stereotyped version of it anyway - from vampires and demons and the usual gang of night time terrors, for probably a very long time. In particular, it is about a tall, dark and scary, but very cool vampire named Alucard that is for some reason working for the humans to kill his own kind, who have of recent become reckless and lost their way. Joining this squad of righteousness is Seras Victoria, the new blood; a young vampire that Alucard turned to save her life.

The manga is already pretty famous just about everywhere (as is the anime), and there are a lot of reviews here that are probably much better than mine, so while I don't exactly have to writethis review, I want to write a short something-something anyway.

Throughout this first volume there is a lot of clever dialogue that, as already mentioned, is a ludicrously stereotyped version of the way us Brits speak, and the colloquialisms we use. It is pretty clear that the author knows what he is doing though, and the result is often pretty funny; especially the swearing, with an almost liquid use of that w- word the English use oh so often to describe every thing or situation around us. Also, as hilarious, is the absurd portrayal of our religious beliefs, our apparent devotion to the monarchy, and even our physical appearance and, noted by the author on one page, apparent extremely poor eye sight; nearly every single character wears glasses! Of course, we know that it is a joke, and the whole thing is funny as hell, so it can all be forgiven. Heck, by now I'm used to, and enjoy, seeing how other countries view the English. I guess we stereotype the Japanese quite a bit, so, we probably deserve it all anyway.

The artwork is great and a definite highlight of Hellsing. As is to be expected, everything has been washed in goth and hung out to dry in a quaint little English garden, probably infested with blood thirsty vampires. Also, throughout the book, the only thing that is as consistent as the stereotyping of English people is the author's scary lust for, and indulgence in, extreme violence. Seriously, it comes thick and fast, page after page; but, when the violence is drawn as beautifully as it is, you'll be welcoming every gore saturated frame of it.

So, to summarise a rather pointless review, this is a great manga and a great start to the series. Everyone looks great and the dialogue is good. The characters are all likeable and the story is addictive, gripping, and original. Buy it (if you want too, I don't want to force you into anything you don't want to do here). Thank you for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood, Guns, and Killer Dialogue, 23 Sep 2004
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
It may be lacking the punchy, punctuating soundtrack of the TV series, but this book is easily as entertaining as its younger anime relative, and more stylish to boot. In short, it tells of the Hellsing Organisation, a secret group set up to protect the English Protestant church and monarchy against the monsters, particularly vampires. And one of their key weapons is a mysterious, sharp-dressing, wise-cracking, and very powerful vampire who goes by the name Alucard. The stories are slickly told and drawn with a stunningly precise eye for physical detail and emotional expression. The dialogue is, in turns, hilariously funny and shockingly grim. And if you have seen the anime, you'll be pleased to discover just how much story and drama was trimmed away to produce those meaty short episodes - there is much to treasure in these little volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'You've only had a coupla legs blown off...', 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
If you are a fan of manga and have yet to read this series, I advise you to click the little shopping basket in the corner of your screen right now. Although it is a manga about secret societies, vampires, zombies and (later in the series) Nazi cults 'Hellsing' is interesting because it contains a degree of black humour, even in the gory action scenes. All of the characters who frequently appear in the 'Hellsing' series - the vampires Alucard and Seras; Sir Integra Wingates Hellsing, the leader of the Hellsing organisation; Integra's very unconventional butler, Walter; the insane Catholic priest, Alexander Anderson - are all very unique and individual characters. The manga is also far better than the anime (although the anime is also well worth watching) as it has more plot and better characterisation. Events in the manga also happen in a slightly different order to the anime though (i.e. Episode 10 of the anime forms the second chapter of the first volume of the manga).
If you are into cute, fluffy shoujo manga, this probably isn't the series for you. However, if things like 'Trigun' and 'Vampire Hunter D' are more your thing you should read this series ^0^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just amazing, alucard is the greatest vampire ever, 22 May 2006
By 
Mr. S. G. Sheppard "greg_the_waster" (swindon/aber) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
just amazing, the anime version is ok but when compared to the manga (it deviates from the manga after 3 episodes or so) but after reading the manga it is clear it is far far better.

this is for me a review of the series rather than this specific volume ive read as far as has been published in japan and have to say it gets better and better.

it starts with a simple premise, a secret organisation protects the uk from vampires and other occult dangers, the twist of course being that it is a vampire (the rather psychotic alucard and seras the woman he turns into a vampire in the first chapter) that is under control of the protestant knights (or hellsing organisation). complication arises becasue of the intense hatered toward them from the catholic 'iscariot' divsion XIII and as time goes on the mysterious millenium organisation.

it is a series that is as influenced by action as it is horror (probably more), need i say more than vampires with guns (very big guns). the depiction of vampires is very different to their depiction in other contemporary vampire stories and to my mind far superior, with alucard we see more than merely a human with fangs and super strength you generally see. he is a real monster that could (and does) kill vampires like that with ease.

ever see vampire hunter d? if you did i feel sorry for you, get and read this as a rememdy and to show how proper vampire stories should be done. anne rice, ha, eat your heart out (alucard would)

as the series goes on the story gets extreme and unique and it brilliant and well worth a read above any other modern vampire story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gawd Bless Yoo Mary Pawpins, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
Hellsing's probably one of the only mangas to be set in England. It centres around the Hellsing organisation, a sort of MI5 for fighting vampires, and Alucard, Hellsing's almost impossibly tall and thin vampire operative.
It's a great deal gorier than most mangas I've read, and anyone squeamish shouldn't read this particular title. If however you like seeing a vampire inserting his arms into other people up to the elbow, then this is indeed the one for you, you strange little person you.
One minor flaw is the dialogue. It's screamingly apparent that it's been translated into English by an American who has either a) had the way English people speak explained to him but hasn't understood the concept, or b) watched Mary Poppins at some point in his life. This means some dramatic moments are ruined by laughable dialogue.
As long as you discount the psuedo-English dialogue and wall-to-wall gore, Hellsing is entertaining and amusing manga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire slaying álá japanese, 31 Aug 2004
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
If you've seen the Hellsing anime but haven't read any of the manga, but simply LOVED the anime, this manga is something to keep you attracted for long time. After seeing the manga, perhaps even the anime won't satisfy you very much. Indeed, the manga is waaaaaaay better than the anime, and when you've read them all you'll simply whine for more. Hellsing is great book after all, with lots of violence and mix of jokes. If you haven't even thought of getting your hands on this, then think again. All of the english volumes aren't out yet, but at least you'll be kept in tense thinking what might happen next if you buy released volumes now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Story low, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
I liked the first two books in this series but thought, personally that they were to low on story, which I find is the driving force behind a good manga and it seems sadly missing. It may get better the more you read, but I think after the first two books it's just too much of a gamble purchasing a third just to find the same problems.

There are other series' which have done this much better, such as Priest. I personally find this series a little too fast paced, with little reason behind the characters actions and little emotional value in the consequences of their actions.

All in all, it;s not a bad manga series, but it's by far not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a christmas gift,, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
Bought for a christmas gift, very quick delivery as described.Good price compared to other suppliers. Sure the reader will be glued to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely satisfied., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellsing Volume 1 (Paperback)
I found Hellsing Volume one to be amazing! The way that the Illustrator and Author made this manga volume to be an excellent read and got my attention and filled my being with a sense of anticipation and suspense, regardless if I've already watched the OVA and TV Series. For those who are just starting their adventure into HellSing, I recommend you read the stories plot line that I will put in :)

Hellsing is named after and centered around the Holy Order of Protestant Knights, originally led by Abraham Van Helsing. The mission of Hellsing is to search and destroy those that threaten Queen and Country from the undead and other supernatural forces of evil. This organization is currently led by Sir Integra Fairbrook Wingates Hellsing, who inherited the leadership of Hellsing as a child after the death of her father. She witnessed his death which turned her from a once innocent and shy little girl to a tough and deadly force. She is protected by the faithful Hellsing family butler and former Hellsing "trashman" Walter C. Dornez, a deadly foe in his own right, and Alucard, the original and most powerful vampire that swore loyalty to the Hellsing family after being defeated by Van Helsing one hundred years before the story takes place. These formidable guardians are joined early on in the storyline by former police officer Seras Victoria, whom Alucard turned into a vampire. She is mostly involved for satire and comedy as a new vampire trying to learn a new lifestyle.

As the scale and frequency of incidents involving the undead escalate in England and all around the world, Sir Integra discovers that the remnants of a Nazi group called Millennium still exist and are intent on reviving the Third Reich by creating a battalion of vampires. Millennium, Hellsing, and the Vatican section XIII Iscariot clash in an apocalyptic three-sided war in London, and Millennium reveals its true objective: to destroy the vampire Alucard, ending a feud begun during World War II.

Summary:

This I can say is one of the best buys I have made in a long time when it comes to manga. I would recommend you to this series if you love Gore, Horror, Suspense, Action, Vampires, Biopunk, Drama, Science and Fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hellsing Volume 1
Hellsing Volume 1 by Kohta Hirano (Paperback - 2 Dec 2003)
7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews