Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good read and a strong Thumbs Up!
Great, you think. Garth Ennis has returned to the Crossed universe he created for a nine issue extravaganza. Not quite. Only the first three issues are written by him in a sort of Crossed novella.

It is astoundingly good. Ennis at his most thoughtful crafts a technically superb story with a strong message and plenty of emotional investment. Jacen Burrows also...
Published 19 months ago by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy, unimaginative and dull.
A disappointing entry into the series which varies wildly in quality, Crossed volume 4 comprises the Badlands issues 1-9.
The first of the two story arcs is by the usually excellent tandem of Garth Ennis and Jacen Burrows. A meandering and tedious tale about a group of survivors in Scotland, the story seems to regurgitate itself every few pages, with the...
Published 5 months ago by Richard Marriott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy, unimaginative and dull., 29 July 2014
This review is from: Crossed - Badlands (Paperback)
A disappointing entry into the series which varies wildly in quality, Crossed volume 4 comprises the Badlands issues 1-9.
The first of the two story arcs is by the usually excellent tandem of Garth Ennis and Jacen Burrows. A meandering and tedious tale about a group of survivors in Scotland, the story seems to regurgitate itself every few pages, with the protagonist, Ian, musing on the nature of his own humanity in an endless cycle of self indulgence. The reader is constantly hit over the head with a pseudo-profound message about what makes us civilised, but it is presented far too clumsily to be effective. The story doesn't so much end, as nod off. . .
The second story arc, by Jamie Delano and Leandro Rizzo, recounts the experiences of a group of survivors in the Florida swamps. The biggest problem I have with this tale is that all the 'heroes', with whom we are meant to identify, and so subsequently root for, are so thoroughly loathsome, that you can't help but be glad when each meets their own gristly end. To be honest, this is a recurring problem with the entire Crossed saga - most of the protagonists are so unpleasant that the reader finds it difficult to care what happens to them. This is never more apparent than in this particular story arc; our heroes comprise a cowardly, dilatory (but otherwise nondescript) man, a seventeen year old meth farmer, two slutty and manipulative twins (referred to as 'jail-bait') and a junkie sex pervert torture addict called Steve, who is easily the most obnoxious and repellent character in the Crossed universe.
I understand that these characters have had a tough time, and so would likely to callous, mercenary and confrontational, but they MUST ultimately be sympathetic - otherwise we simply won't (and don't) care about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good read and a strong Thumbs Up!, 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: Crossed - Badlands (Paperback)
Great, you think. Garth Ennis has returned to the Crossed universe he created for a nine issue extravaganza. Not quite. Only the first three issues are written by him in a sort of Crossed novella.

It is astoundingly good. Ennis at his most thoughtful crafts a technically superb story with a strong message and plenty of emotional investment. Jacen Burrows also returns bringing the distinctive style that launched the Crossed universe. He has a great time mixing blood and snow and evoking real atmosphere.

The second, standard length, tale doesn't try and compete or blend in, or even become a shock and gore fest like previous stories. It has a bunch of very quirky characters and achieves a really unique dynamic. Rather than a group of survivors who tell their origins through flashbacks we cut between three sets of unconnected people who enjoy their own separate storylines before meeting.

This fresh approach and some indistinct narration is a little weird at first but you soon embrace it. The story twists and turns unexpectedly and you might not predict the ending, leaving you with raised eyebrows.

The art for the second story is similar enough to the Burrows template not to feel out of place but makes more use of bright colours. There is also more nudity in this story than any other so far.

Both tales are very good and really different from each other. It is nice to see Ennis return to his creation and have fun with it too. The Crossed themselves haven't evoked real terror since their first outing, and this book has them talking a little too coherently.

Overall a good read and a strong Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed - Badlands (Paperback)
The Crossed series has had it's ups and downs. The highlight being the first seasons with Garth Ennis take on a zombie apocalypse being horrific but an absolute page turner. Jacen Burrow's art is as beautiful as it is sadistic.

I truly enjoyed the first story in this graphic novel. The characters are deep and troubled people. In fact this would be a four/five star review but I thought the second story was atrocious. I'm not sure what Jamie Delano was doing but this was a big step away from his usual well rounded self. The second story had shallow and sex obsessed characters that I found utterly unbelievable and I felt it chased the shocks too much.

Overall this is a mixed bag of a graphic novel but coming from a inconsistent series it's not surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ennis wins again, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed - Badlands (Paperback)
Being a keen fan of the nasty universe conjured up by Garth Ennis in his original Crossed series, I have read most of the other stories by other writers and have to say, with the exception of Si Spurrier and his ongoing webcomic Wish You Were Here, it's only been Ennis who has crafted stories I've enjoyed reading (if enjoy is the right word when reading stuff that features really twisted scenarios). This collection (featuring issues 1 - 9 of Crossed:Badlands) is no different.
There are 2 stories here, one by Ennis, the other by Jamie Delano. They are both pretty different in tone, Delano's is just so over the top and filled with unsympathetic and unrealistic characters. To be frank, a mess of a story. Ennis' story on the other hand is relatively restrained which makes the horror (and there is horror) even more unbearable. The ending is downbeat and pretty depressing really although I hope the pin was pulled (no spoiler really). The artwork on the Ennis story is really nice and clear, the Delano pictures are just plain ugly in comparison.
Three stars for the Ennis story, if it was only the Delano effort then half a star. I will be buying future collections though as I am still a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed - Badlands (Paperback)
I'd heard good things about this series and being a horror fan, It seemed just up my street.

It's badly drawn, has terrible writing and I didn't even bother finishing what passed for a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossed Vol. 4
Crossed Vol. 4 by Leandro Rizzo (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
£20.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews