Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its Time
I first read Fevre Dream in the early eighties and on a recent quest to re-acquire the top ten paperbacks of my youth this novel was top of my list.

When you consider the hype for Twilight and Vampire Diaries and what they have done to change the modern perception of vampires, I must say they have borrowed a lot from this novel. The author, more known for his...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Warren Bowman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A far better vampire story than anything I have read in years
In decade where pretty much everything I have read including Vampires portrays them as misunderstood or vegetarian creatures rather than the monsters that the legends originally depicted, it is refreshing to read this novel and catch a glimpse of an actual good old fashioned vampire story.

Granted Fevre Dream was written in the 80s so it has not been effected...
Published 13 months ago by GOTTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Horror Novels Ever..., 29 Jun 2001
By A Customer
George R.R. Martin is more well-known today for his excellent Song of Ice and Fire series, but his early work is also well-worth seeking out. British readers are well-catered for in this regard, with his early SF novels Windhaven and Dying of the Light recently republished by Millennium and the elevation of Fevre Dream into the increasingly respected Fantasy Masterworks series alongside the likes of Robert E. Howard, Gene Wolfe, Michael Moorcock and Jack Vance. Fevre Dream is a spectacularly fine novel, with marvellous historical detail, an astonishing sense of atmosphere (after reading some passages you'll be feeling the stifling heat and flies of the lower Mississippi as if for real) and a constantly shifting narrative. Also interesting is the way that the vampires of the book are actually fairly well-removed from the conventional vampires of Anne Rice and other trite horror writers. The central character, Abner Marsh, is likeable and interesting and Martin wisely spends as much time on him as on the vampires. The battle of wills between the two vampire lords is also fascinating, and in a way it is disappointing much of it is relayed second-hand. The conclusion is also perhaps slightly too positive for an otherwise darkly cynical novel, but these are minor quibbles. Fevre Dream is one of the best horror novels I have ever read and it is a mystery why it hasn't been turned into a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRRM's horror masterpiece, 30 May 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
St. Louis, 1857. Abner Marsh is the owner of the Fevre River Packet Company, running several steamboats up and down the upper Mississippi and its tributaries. But, during a particularly harsh winter, he loses all but one of his ships. In some financial difficulties, he encounters an unexpected saviour when a European, Joshua York, offers to bail him out and fund the construction of a grand new steamboat. Marsh's career and company is saved, and he is soon the captain of the Fevre Dream, the greatest side-wheeler to ever run the river. The ship begins its maiden voyage to New Orleans, but as the ship travels south, rumours begin to circulate about the unusual Mr. York, who takes his meals at midnight and sleeps through the day, and who takes a strange interest in the reports of unexplained deaths along the river banks.

Meanwhile, in New Orleans a man named Sour Billy Tipton recruits slaves for his employer, a mysterious recluse named Damon Julian, who lives in an old, crumbling estate on a bayou south of the city. Julian has an odd reputation and people mutter about all the slaves who go onto his estate but never leave. It becomes clear that, to their 'people', Julian is a constant, ancient and immovable force, and York is a new saviour, come with a promise of liberation and freedom. Only one of them can prevail. But in this clash what will be the fate of the Fevre Dream, its crew and its captain?

Fevre Dream was originally published in 1982 and was a big hit for its author. It sold very well and attracted a great deal of praise, even a cover quote from the hard-to-please Harlan Ellison. The novel is a hybrid of Heart of Darkness, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and the complete works of Byron, welded to Martin's gripping storytelling abilities, here at the height of their powers. In terms of completed works, it is GRRM's finest novel published to date (although in terms of incomplete ones, A Storm of Swords may be slightly stronger).

The genre here is horror, mixed in with a strong historical flavouring. The atmosphere of the novel is vivid and extremely rich, and after a few pages of reading about the steamboats on the Mississippi you'll be swatting aside imaginary flies and thinking about opening a window. GRRM strikes an impressive balance between the romantic vision and the harsh reality of a historical period here, as he does with 1960s bands in The Armageddon Rag and with medieval warfare in A Song of Ice and Fire. Yes, the steamboats on the river at dusk are a stirring and evocative sight, but there's also the slave trade and the dirty riverside towns where crime runs amok and the slowly building tensions that will explode in civil war just a few years later, all of which is well-depicted.

GRRM is widely-regarded for his characterisation and here it is no different. From the bluff, fat and straightforward Abner Marsh to the driven, passionate Joshua York to the weaselly Billy Tipton (who may be GRRM's most pitiably hateful character ever) and the horrifyingly empty Damon Julian, he has populated this book with characters who stay with you long after the final page is turned. The plot is page-turningly compulsive and the pace furious, but still with enough pauses for breath to let the atmosphere sink in. And, as a horror story, it is genuinely horrific. No punches are pulled, there are no cop-outs and what victories there are come at a terrible price.

That said, like Huck Finn travelling downriver with Jim, Fevre Dream has at its core the notion of friendship and what lengths people will go to help one another, and this is worked through the narrative in a masterful manner culminating in a final chapter which may be GRRM's finest piece of writing to date.

Fevre Dream (*****) is a book I curse, for it has destroyed almost all other vampire fiction for me. Very little of it stands up to this volume (the C4 mini-series Ultraviolet, maybe Buffy before every other vampire on the show started getting a soul and going Twilight on us). But the price is worth it. This is a magnificent novel. It is available now in the UK from Gollancz (the current edition has a disappointingly bland new cover, but thankfully the superb one which previously adorned it is still in print) and in the USA from Bantam and also as a limited edition from Subterrenean Press, attractively illustrated by Justin Sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fangtastic, 21 May 2009
By 
D. Pendrey "Spiderman" (Northwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Vampire stories aren't really my thing, but i gave it a try because George R.R. Martin's brilliant Songs of Ice and Fire series. It didn't disappoint, with each of the characters brought to life vividly and the plot keeping you in suspense for most of the story. If you fancy something different and an enjoyable read, then give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream (Paperback)
I have read the fevre dream and was surprised how good the original book was. I didn't think it could be anywhere as good as the song of ice and fire series, but I was pleasantly shocked how good it was. It moved at a swift pace and I could imagined every scenario in the book. Imagine my surprise when the graphic was as good as the original book. I highly recommend this book to any George RR Martin fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, 11 Oct 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
First published in the early Eighties this book is one of those in the newer trend of vampire novels where we feel sympathy for actual vampires. A lot of people say this started with 'Interview With a Vampire' but of course they are wrong, this sympathy started in 1845 with the serial publishing of 'Varney the Vampyre', arguably still the most important vampire novel after John Polidori started the craze with 'The Vampyre'. As such this isn't a full blown horror novel, this has an historical element as well as some mystery, and is also a thriller.

Abner Marsh has a dream of building the fastest and best steamboat on the whole of the Mississippi, and when a stranger called Joshua York offers to become a partner in his company it looks like Marsh' dream will become true. But unknown to Marsh, York isn't quite what he seems. In this book the vampires as such are not human, but in fact a different species, and the legends that we know of them are not entirely correct. Starting off in the South, before the American Civil War, and the abolishment of slavery we meet white men, slaves, and those who are free.

With the backdrop of the mighty river throughout this book we read how Marsh and York become friends despite the difference in species, and how there are other vampires in the area as well. With power struggles between York, and another vampire, Damon Julian, a lot is at stake, not only the deaths of humans, but the destiny of the vampire race itself. There are villains and comrades on both sides of the species divide in this captivating book, that ultimately turns into a thriller between good and evil.

The story takes place over a number of years, and as we read this we can feel the differences that the times bring. What with the end of the war, the abolition of slavery, and the coming of the railroads, the river has far less traffic than in days gone past. Alongside this we also have the story of Abner Marsh going on, and his pursuit of his paddle steamer. In all this is worth reading, it is very well written and with its different elements has a lot to offer readers. Probably if you like things such as 'Being Human', then this story should more than satisfy you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully told improvement on the usual vampire cliches, 24 July 2013
Having read all of Martin's Song of Ice & Fire books (to date) I decided to try some of his other work and picked up this gem of a story!

To describe this a vampire story is to do it a massive injustice. It is a very original take on the genre and challenges many human emotions and beliefs. The way Martin created his characters and develops their relationships with each other really made me emotionally attached to them at the end. No mean feat considering how 'chalk and cheese' the two main characters are!

I also really appreciated the setting for the story - the Mississippi river during the steamboat craze - so haunting but at the same time full of nostalgia and emotion.

There is a great sense of intrigue right from the first few chapters and plenty of action - I literally couldn't put the book down while reading - would definitely recommend this to anyone (horror/sci-fi fan or not!) and cannot believe I had not discovered this story earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damned good read!, 18 July 2013
By 
G. Cormack "HARRY FARRY" (scotch land) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A wonderful book. Martin effortlessly creates such believable and rounded characters such as Abner Marsh. Not only does he create a convincing world of people, his plots take twists and turns that force you to take nothing for granted. In his novels anyone could be killed off (and often are) and this important component coupled with his creative brilliance makes this a cracker of a novel - one that you finish, close the book and think 'wow! that was amaze balls, I'd read that again!' They need to make it into a film or even better an HBO production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fevre dream, 5 April 2013
By 
Freya Bradley (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is good from the start and it is getting better as it is going along just as I except from the writer of A game of thrones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply a good novel, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many readers I discovered George RR Martin reading the Ice & Fire series, that I couldn't put down. Fevre Dream starts a bit slow, building out the main characters and the situation, but it draws you in this story of friendship. Besides thoroughly enjoying the book, I learned about the river boat trade of that era, before railway and trucks took over. George RR Martin is now on my favourite author's list, for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for vampire fans, 5 Mar 2012
By 
J. Rainbow (Wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not a huge fantasy fan, I read horror and I've always been a vampire fan. I heard of George r.r. Martin after Game of thrones and then starting to read the books. Once I realised he'd written a vampire novel I had to read it.
I really enjoyed it. It's original (a few interesting differences to the vampires regarding their history etc not far fetched but well thought of). The characters are vivid and intriguing. If you want a vampire romance look away now this book is proper vampires. Demon vampires who prey on humans, it's original in being set on a steamboat in New Orleans. I won't say too much and spoil it.
It's not really a horror but there are moments- horror/fantasy/ it's own genre. It's unpredictable- a common thing for this author- you don't have a clue what's going to happen next and you don't really want the story to end.

The blurb/ book description doesn't do the book justice. Marsh discovers Joshua York is a vampire but that's not it. If I say anything else I will ruin the story but there is a lot more to it than that, that bit is a tiny portion of the book. The rest is part steamboat information, part york's history and the rest is.. well, read it. If you're a vampire fan missing the old style (non romantic) vampires read it and love it. When I say old stay don't worry this goes beyond the old Nosferatu Dracula type vampires. So if you're sick of old dracula vampires and sick of lovesick vampires this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream
George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream by Daniel Abraham (Paperback - 25 Nov 2011)
£16.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews