Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its Time
I first read Fevre Dream in the early eighties and on a recent quest to re-acquire the top ten paperbacks of my youth this novel was top of my list.

When you consider the hype for Twilight and Vampire Diaries and what they have done to change the modern perception of vampires, I must say they have borrowed a lot from this novel. The author, more known for his...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Warren Bowman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An emptiness within....
George RR Martin's Fevre'd dream can only be described a tale of steamer trading in the south cross bred with a re imagined vampire tale. For the most part it is a successful synergy that brings two completely abstract worlds together and leads the story down a path of self discovery, redemption and understanding. The discovery is the journey that takes the characters...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Obisearch


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its Time, 30 Nov 2011
I first read Fevre Dream in the early eighties and on a recent quest to re-acquire the top ten paperbacks of my youth this novel was top of my list.

When you consider the hype for Twilight and Vampire Diaries and what they have done to change the modern perception of vampires, I must say they have borrowed a lot from this novel. The author, more known for his Game of Thrones adventures delivers a completely fresh take on the vampire genre, with a breathtaking story of friendship, horror, mystery and paddle steamers.

So, we have Abner Marsh; fat, ugly, riverboat captain who has built the finest, fastest steamship to grace the Mississippi. He enters into partnership with Joshua York, a strange pale man but with a barrowload of money that Abner needs to get the steamship afloat.

The Fevre Dream carries cargo for a while, but rumours start about Joshua - he sleeps all day, doesn't eat and has strange companions. Abner has his suspicions, but is not sure what to do - Joshua has become a friend and he still needs the finances.

When Damon Julian is invited into the fold, Abner comes to realise what is good and what is bad, and what is pure evil. The friendship stutters, rekindles, and the emotions run high all through the story.

Set in the 1850s, this is a tale which evokes so much of the time, the hardships and the prejudices. Much can be read into the setting - the Mississippi runs like a huge artery through the Southern states - and the characters are superbly drawn. I thoroughly recommend this novel to everyone, not just horror, mystery and supernatural aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a completely new and original take on vampires, 21 Jan 2007
By 
No longer re-animated corpses possessed by demons, but a race of beings in their own right. Vampires live for centuries though they cannot survive for long in the sunlight; they are stronger and faster than humans; they possess the power to mesmerize humans into doing their bidding; and once a month, the "red thirst" comes on them, driving them to drink human blood.

One of the most powerful of these "vampires" has just become Abner Marsh's new partner. His name is Joshua York, and he needs transportation along the Mississippi (and a place to hide from the sun) so that he can search for others of his people who have fled the Old World for the New. Joshua believes he can save them: he has invented a drink that suppresses the "red thirst" thus making it possible for the "People of the Night" to live alongside humans for the first time.

But Joshua is about to find out that not all his people want to be saved. Some of them are, in fact, rather enjoying their existence as unkillable blood-drinking demons - notably the ancient, powerful bloodmaster Damon Julian, who may yet bring all Joshuas dreams for his people to a bloody end.

I've always loved vampire stories, and this one is exceptional. Comparisons with Anne Rice are, given the setting, inevitable. The rotting Louisiana swamps are a marvellous setting for any horror story. Martin conjurs up the same humid atmosphere of decay in the swamps and slums of New Orleans, contrasting it with the glittering beauty of the richer parts of the city - and, of course, the steamboats themselves - that Rice describes so vivdly; but he makes his protagonists a lot more interesting. No self-obsessed Lestat here, searching for his own personal redemption. (Or maybe not. You can never be quite sure with Lestat, can you? Anyway. I digress.)

Joshua is trying to save his entire race, searching for a way for them to live with humans before they die out - or are destroyed. Martin has created a whole mythology for the People of the Night, making them the hunted not the hunters, giving them a depth and character that far surpasses any other vampires in books or on screen. Along with some serious horror, lots of blood and the odd Byron quotation, this book becomes a story you're not likely to forget. I for one want don't want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute tour de force, 18 May 2008
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised when I finished this book to realise it was a fantasy masterwork rather than a sci fi masterwork, if anything it bares striking similarities to "I Am Legend", at least in its portrayal of vampires as something other than reanimated corpses or cursed undead.

While the existence of vampires, their possible reconciliation with mankind or continued existence as predators with dillusions of grandeur or supremacy, is essential to the plot it is also a spellbinding tale about Abner Marsh, unlikely and accidential hero, man of his word, riverboat captain and in some ways "everyman".

Marsh doesnt have any strong opinions about slavery, politics, things of that nature but his direct encounters with the vampires, experiencing debates about superiority and inferiority between mankind and the vampiric other he thinks again about slavery in the run up to what becomes the American civil war.

The Fevre Dream is the name of Marsh's riverboat which he gets as part of a deal with a strange nocturnal mysteryman, it is a dream realised for Marsh and becomes something of an obsession and before the book is concluded the reader is reminded and given cause to reflect in the most brilliant way. Other reviews have rightly considered have a lot to do with friendship (anyone who enjoyed The Changing Seasons, The Shawshank Redemption and The Body/Stand by Me would appreciate this book) but its also about dreams, Marsh's riverboat dream across his lifetime, the dreams and leitmotifs of the other characters, dark and light.

This book proved to be compelling, the pace is perfect, the descriptions exacting and never over done, I'm confident that if you give over the time to reading it you'll find it rewarding. One of those rare books which when you're finished you can say you didnt just read it, you "lived it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book not to be overlooked!, 4 Oct 2002
By 
Tim Tatton (Winchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I'm ashamed to admit that I had never heard of this book before, or even of its author. I purchased this book purely on impulse. Now I've finished it I can safely say it is one of the best novels I have ever read - in any genre. It is a minor masterpiece that deserves to be better acknowledged (at least as the best vampire novel ever written - better even the Bram's original!).
This book has everything - tons of atmosphere, horror, action, emotion, thought provoking morals and two excellent lead characters, plus one superb villian. Also (and maybe most importantly) Fevre Dream is simply a fun read.
Set around the mid nineteenth century the story may seem a little bizarre - a vampire riverboat captain riding the Mississippi searching for other vampires. But a good book is still a good book no matter what it's subject matter so even if your reading tastes does not usually include horror fantasy please still consider giving this a try. You will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT GRAPHIC NOVEL!, 1 Jun 2012
This review is from: George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream (Paperback)
1st off,regarding the review that was written by the woman who seemed to be disgusted at the fact that this book is a comic book/graphic novel & for that reason alone gave it 1 star,eventhough she wouldn't have read it because she bought it for her husband,this woman clearly is ignorant to the fact that some of the most mature & thoughtprovoking books ever written have been graphic novels,books such as PALASTINE,Maus,V for Vendetta & many many more.
As for Fevre Dream,this is a great book for fans of the vampire genre but by no means do you have to be a vamp' fan to love & appreciate this book.The art is really good for the most part & the actual story had me gripped from the 1st page to the last.Not an A+ but a very stong A!Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy reading, 14 Mar 2012
By 
B. Price "Mad NFL Dad" (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream (Paperback)
I don't read Vampire novels but I do like George RR Martin so I thought I'd give this a go. Well written with strong characters & a good plot, it kept my attention & kept me entertained. It would make a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampires without the Horror, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is set in 1857 in the American deep south, it revolves around steam ships and vampires. The vampires are not vicious and are portrayed as another race. The tone of the story is very atmospheric and never gets out of second gear. The action scenes are not overly aggressive as you might expect from a vampire story. The themes the story explores are what make it special such as racism, loyalty, hypocrisy and friendship. This book also has some of the best characters I have ever read - Abner Marsh is the main character, he is blunt, sarcastic but funny, unwilling to suffer fools and a man of integrity. Other characters such as Sour Billy Tipton who is one of the main foes, Hairy Mike, Mr Framm and the vampires Joshua York and Damon Julian all add to an interesting and riveting story. The book does contain some choice names for the slaves of that era and people reading shouldn't be offended as they are there to add authenticity to the story.

George RR Martin is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors. Dreamsongs BK 1 next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The immortality of friendship, 27 Oct 2003
Reading throught he other reviews on this page you would appreciate how wonderful this book actually is, but you may be misguided in your belief that this is a 'horror novel'. Simply put, it is not.
The novel features Vampires, sure enough a main staple of many a horror novel over the years, all the way back to Bram Stoker, but they are not the central feature of this story. The central and most important element to this whole tale is the theme of friendship and trust across whatever boundaries you should choose.
Abner is a financially broken man, disasters have consumed his minor shipping fleet and left him with a tired old ship. One night he is approached about building a new ship, one which will be his, but he will not have to pay for, on the condition that the financier is able to stop as often and as long as he chooses on the first voyage.
After a reticent start, the two men forge a partnership which develops into friendship.
The story is brilliantly woven and is a very easy read because, as my fellow reviewers have claimed, the book cannot be put down.
To the end you are gripped and involved with every twist and turn, atmosphere cradling you throughout.
But be warned, if you have a single emotional bone in your body, tears will be shed upon the final page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampires in the Southern US - but well written, 26 July 2010
By 
Fevre Dream, unlike Martin's epic Song of Ice and Fire series, is a standalone novel, set in our world - or our world with vampires. Set in the Southern US during the final years of slavery, the story echoes some of the work of Anne Rice in setting. However, it is better written, less predictable, and has a slightly different take on vampires, their origins and qualities.

The book is definitely thrilling and gripping and dramatic, and filled with convincing detail about the heydays of river steamshipping. If I were a great believer in auteur theory, I might point out that George R R Martin seems to favour characters who are confident to the point of arrogance, which can be their downfall. The story never gets boring, and never offers any comic relief. This is a story which takes itself seriously, and is well-written enough to earn the reader's complete engrossment in it.

The great writing, the completely authentic historical detail, the serious, but engrossing tone, and the larger-than-life characters showcase George R R Martin's writing in a novel which is completely different and separate from Song of Ice and Fire, but carries itself with the same confidence and bravado which sustains that long series of books. Well worth a read, and not just for Martin fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mississippi Joy-Ride., 22 May 2009
By 
R. Harris (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't read any of George R R Martins books before, but noting the plot all took place on one of my favorite rivers, I bought it. And, boy, was I glad! I was hooked. I was immediately transported to a paddle-boat on the Mississppi, not just any paddle-boat, but the Fevre Dream
The story of Abner Marsh and his partner Joshua York trundeling down to New Orleans was fantastic......you will have to read the book to find out what happened. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream
George R.R. Martin's Fevre Dream by Daniel Abraham (Paperback - 25 Nov 2011)
15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews