Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!
This is Garth Ennis' take on the survival horror genre and it is a real tour de force. All over the world people are degenerating into brutal, sadistic, psychopaths and turning on their fellow human beings. Each of them is marked with a cross-like scar (hence the title) on their faces, possibly as a judgement from God or perhaps as an echo back to the mediaeval sign for...
Published on 26 April 2012 by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not crossed, just a bit bored
I love Garth Ennis, he's one of the few writers I would buy if I saw his name on the cover simply because I know he can deliver. His series "The Boys" is superb and his past successes speak for themselves - Preacher, Chronicles of Wormwood, the Kev series, all gold. But Crossed? Uh... not so good.

The story is that an event happens - we don't know what it is,...
Published on 28 Feb. 2011 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
This is Garth Ennis' take on the survival horror genre and it is a real tour de force. All over the world people are degenerating into brutal, sadistic, psychopaths and turning on their fellow human beings. Each of them is marked with a cross-like scar (hence the title) on their faces, possibly as a judgement from God or perhaps as an echo back to the mediaeval sign for plague. These aren't shambling mindless zombies. They are intelligent, sneaky, tactical and co-operative. They can talk, use tools, guns, vehicles and tanks! This really is the stuff of nightmares.

Initially when I browsed through this what struck me was the art. The graphic depictions of violence, death, dismemberment and sexual nastiness. It looks like torture-porn in comic book form and it was easy to dismiss this as simply a gratuitous excuse for Mr Ennis to push his envelope as far as possible. But it isn't. You need that intense visceral shock to set the scene and break you out of that zombie cliché mindset.

Like all good fiction of this genre it is about what the survivors do and what they learn about themselves. How much of their humanity are they willing to sacrifice just to stay alive? How much would you? As the story progresses it is less and less about the shock and awe atrocities of the crossed and more about us and how we behave. The crossed are simply ourselves without any inhibitions and that is truly frightening.

Whilst the art is sickening in places it is expertly drawn by Jacen Burrows who worked with Mr Ennis to great effect on 303. He has an incredible gift for colour and lighting. The opening issues are a real treat in this respect. As the story progresses the pallet becomes dull and subdued however. This could be to reflect the survivors' despair and isolation or a realistic portrayal of the wilderness setting but there is an incredible midnight snow scene that really leaps out at you.

It is well written and there is usual moral message found in this genre that we are worse than them. In this tale we are them so there can be no doubt on this score. There are some great shocks, surprises and reveals and Mr Ennis really keeps you on your toes. The story is part contemporary and part flashback but there is no indication of the switch between the two. Just count the number of survivors and the more there are the further back in time you are so you can easily follow along.

Whilst it does not have the depth that his magnum opus Preacher did this is easily his best stand alone work. It is 10 issues (not the usual 6) and that really makes a difference to the pacing and breadth of this story and you really don't want it to end. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very very nasty, and funny to boot, 12 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. Timothy J. Franklin "Tim Franklin" (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
The fad for zombies / zomboids (fast or slow, living or other) has about run its course, which is all to the good. China Mieville pointed out the lethargy in the mode could only run a little while before the grisly edifice spluttered to its knees. Crossed is an attempt to reinvigorate (re-animate?) the genre by making zombies threatening again. The monsters in Crossed are alive, sexually rapacious, immune to pain and generally just vile. And they love what they do!

The monsters of crossed are (almost) shocking. There is no line Ennis won't cross in order to get a grim chuckle or confirm to you the hopelessness of the survivor's plight.

It's good, basically, and I recommend you go read, provided you can take your coffee black and sugary. The plot and all the rest is as you would expect - a band of survivors amble across America, gradually picked off by internecine strife and terrible luck. Ennis is really a very good character author, and the survivors he creates are likable, humored, varied, consistent, growing, failing... and yes, occasionally, being raped to death while their intestines slop out through a laceration in their stomach wall.

To whit - it's not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect!, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. Nicholas Hopkins "GLG" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Having just finished book one I thought this needed some balance to the poor reviews. Having left the works of comics behind some time ago sure to pure boredom with the inept scripts, rehashed americanisms and lack if visceral impact it was only through rediscovering the wonderful Deadworld (original) stores that I delved back in.

This us brutal stuff, no punches pulled...and sadly honest in it's slightly filmic view of human nature. The pitching it's pitch perfect, the characters not given too much time to get boring, and the violence truly gut wrenching.
Be warned, s some of the other reviewers have demonstrated, this requires an open and liberal mind to be appreciated. It is about pragmatic survival in the face of human nature at it's very worst.

For those of you who know what I'm taking about....enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not crossed, just a bit bored, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I love Garth Ennis, he's one of the few writers I would buy if I saw his name on the cover simply because I know he can deliver. His series "The Boys" is superb and his past successes speak for themselves - Preacher, Chronicles of Wormwood, the Kev series, all gold. But Crossed? Uh... not so good.

The story is that an event happens - we don't know what it is, we're never told, but the deepest darkest places in humanity's capabilities are suddenly unleashed and those who become infected or "crossed" become psychopathic rapist murderers. The few who survive, those whose story we follow, do their best to survive, wandering from place to place looking for food, shelter, basic things. And that's it.

It's a very threadbare plot to hang a nearly 200 page book on. Why is this happening? The tantalising reason is never expressed. An experiment gone wrong, alien forces, chemical weapons, Ennis doesn't care and the reader is just thrown into it. The characters? We barely know them, in fact the bare minimum again is told to us so that when they inevitably die in horrific ways, we don't care because we never knew them to start with.

The book seems to have been an excuse for Ennis and Burrows (who does an excellent job by the way drawing this book) to put together some of the most f-ed up scenes you've ever seen and then shrug as if to say "hey, that's humanity when you get right down to it".

Now I'm no prude so despite the excessive gore and violence throughout I won't say I was put off the book because of that, but what put me off the book ultimately was that it was boring. Surprisingly, yes it's a boring comic book from Garth Ennis. The characters wander about in a desolate landscape that we've seen countless times in films, and then occasionally something horrific happens like a murder and then they continue wandering about. Dull dialogue, characters in the barest sense, and no glimpse of a plot or a goal the characters were moving toward besides surviving the next attack of "crossed" people. So you just had a bunch of different landscapes filled with boring people saying nothing and continuing in this vein for 180+ pages.

Of course this hasn't put me off of Ennis or Burrows' work in the future but "Crossed" was certainly a disappointment. The lack of ideas besides highlighting the depravity of humans wasn't enough to make this book a worthwhile read, but worst of all for such a talented writer as Ennis was how boring it was, and that was more shocking than the violence within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous sex and violence, 26 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I got a copy of this bought me for Christmas by my sis who probably hasn't read it - she got it on the recommendation of a friend of hers in Ireland, so I'm not blaming her for this. Honestly though, this is the worst pile of crap I've ever read. Rape, mutilation & murder again & again, graphically portrayed in frame, for no good reason. Protagonists who frankly we have no reason to like or identify with at the start, who go through various depredations until they've all had to do some pretty s***ty stuff to stay alive. If you should manage to get to the end of this book, bravo, you put up with a load of drivel & a lot of voyeuristic violence and rape, but there's nothing good you will get to take away from this. Of all the thousands of well drawn graphic novels & TPBs out there, there are thousands you could get that are better than this. Read Flex Mentallo, or Promethea, or the latest Hawkeye series, or if you want Zombies, The Walking Dead, or Deadpool if you want random acts of violence - at least Deadpool is funny. This has no moral to it, nothing to say about our lives, no magic, no heroes, no loyal friends, nothing. Buy this as a first TPB for someone you want to never read another comic book, maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much at times....., 17 July 2010
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Ive become a fan of Ennis' work recently after getting into "The Boys" series which I highly recommend. When I heard about Crossed it was a must buy and once it was available on amazon I ordered straight away. Read it in two sittings and was generally happy but not amazed. It lacks the humour and charm that the boys has and at times feels like the graphic novel equivalent of the Saw films. Torture porn comes to mind. Sections of the book are hard to look at (one scene involving two parents and a small girl being caught by the crossed) while others just seem to be crude for the sake of it. Along with several images involving rape, torture, animal penis' and swearing kids the story falls behind the shock value and you end up just looking for the next shocking scene. Few characters are memorable and when they die you dont really care becuase lets face it, with what they go through dying doesnt seem that bad.
Its entertaining and I dont regret buying it but if your looking for a good apocalptic story Id go with the walking dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 25 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Simple really, if you like Garth Ennis you will like this. He's really pushed the boundaries of taboo on this one with one very memorable double page spread.
If you dont like Garth Ennis, dont buy it, you wont like it. Alternatively you could buy it, read it and give a 1 star review if you have the time and money to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Debauched!, 28 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
I both love and loath Garth Ennis. Sometimes he is just the best comic book writer around (Preacher, my favourite ever comic book series) and sometimes he runs a series too long, turning it to dire (The Boys). He is very often shocking and violent, sometimes just for the sake of being so. You think you know what you are going to get when you open one of his books, and often you underestimate how far he is going to push you.

This is one of those occasions. Crossed is a violent, gruesome, sadistic and cruel book and I loved it. A zombie-like virus takes over - a mystery infection that turns normal people into flesh-hungry, murdering, raping monsters. Every trace of a person is gone as they turn into cannibals, crazed, demented and lust-obsessed creatures. A cross appears on their face as they turn and they hunt down the last remaining humans in packs of growling terror.

This is basically a standard zombie comic - survivors try to survive. But these are no brain-eating, slow-walking zombies. They are horrific and terrifying and take every ounce of pleasure in each kill that they can.

And it's a great read. Yes, it's controversial and shocking, but it's fun and it's extreme - everything I love about Ennis without the nonsense that I hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very nice, and not very good, 18 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Read about some characters you don't really empathise or engage with get mangled, eaten, disembowelled, dismembered, etc, etc, etc in ever more gruesome ways until you finally get quite bored by it all.

There are quite a few things wrong with this book, but the main overriding one is that the main survivors are so bland that the intended shocking brutality met out on them by the Crossed rapidly diminishes to the point of apathy. I am all for pushing boundaries and taboos but this just comes across as seedy, slightly repulsive and desperate rather than stimulating and thought provoking.

There is an awful lot of good work out there by Garth Ennis, which is why this in particular is such a let down, the artwork is up with the usual excellent Burrows standards and is the only reason it gets 2 instead of 1 star

Hunt out their work for sure, but give this a miss, and if there is ever a second series I won't be getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Apocalyptic horror from the master!, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 TP (Paperback)
Garth Ennis has done it again. This is like Wlaking Dead but with bigger balls. Excellent storyline and brilliant artwork!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossed Volume 1 TP
Crossed Volume 1 TP by Garth Ennis (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
Used & New from: £9.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews