Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very very nasty, and funny to boot
The fad for zombies / zomboids (fast or slow, living or other) has about run its course, which is all to the good. China Mieville pointed out the lethargy in the mode could only run a little while before the grisly edifice spluttered to its knees. Crossed is an attempt to reinvigorate (re-animate?) the genre by making zombies threatening again. The monsters in Crossed are...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Mr. Timothy J. Franklin

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much at times.....
Ive become a fan of Ennis' work recently after getting into "The Boys" series which I highly recommend. When I heard about Crossed it was a must buy and once it was available on amazon I ordered straight away. Read it in two sittings and was generally happy but not amazed. It lacks the humour and charm that the boys has and at times feels like the graphic novel equivalent...
Published on 17 July 2010 by liamwebster19


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very very nasty, and funny to boot, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Timothy J. Franklin "Tim Franklin" (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
The fad for zombies / zomboids (fast or slow, living or other) has about run its course, which is all to the good. China Mieville pointed out the lethargy in the mode could only run a little while before the grisly edifice spluttered to its knees. Crossed is an attempt to reinvigorate (re-animate?) the genre by making zombies threatening again. The monsters in Crossed are alive, sexually rapacious, immune to pain and generally just vile. And they love what they do!

The monsters of crossed are (almost) shocking. There is no line Ennis won't cross in order to get a grim chuckle or confirm to you the hopelessness of the survivor's plight.

It's good, basically, and I recommend you go read, provided you can take your coffee black and sugary. The plot and all the rest is as you would expect - a band of survivors amble across America, gradually picked off by internecine strife and terrible luck. Ennis is really a very good character author, and the survivors he creates are likable, humored, varied, consistent, growing, failing... and yes, occasionally, being raped to death while their intestines slop out through a laceration in their stomach wall.

To whit - it's not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much at times....., 17 July 2010
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
Ive become a fan of Ennis' work recently after getting into "The Boys" series which I highly recommend. When I heard about Crossed it was a must buy and once it was available on amazon I ordered straight away. Read it in two sittings and was generally happy but not amazed. It lacks the humour and charm that the boys has and at times feels like the graphic novel equivalent of the Saw films. Torture porn comes to mind. Sections of the book are hard to look at (one scene involving two parents and a small girl being caught by the crossed) while others just seem to be crude for the sake of it. Along with several images involving rape, torture, animal penis' and swearing kids the story falls behind the shock value and you end up just looking for the next shocking scene. Few characters are memorable and when they die you dont really care becuase lets face it, with what they go through dying doesnt seem that bad.
Its entertaining and I dont regret buying it but if your looking for a good apocalptic story Id go with the walking dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect!, 24 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. Nicholas Hopkins "GLG" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
Having just finished book one I thought this needed some balance to the poor reviews. Having left the works of comics behind some time ago sure to pure boredom with the inept scripts, rehashed americanisms and lack if visceral impact it was only through rediscovering the wonderful Deadworld (original) stores that I delved back in.

This us brutal stuff, no punches pulled...and sadly honest in it's slightly filmic view of human nature. The pitching it's pitch perfect, the characters not given too much time to get boring, and the violence truly gut wrenching.
Be warned, s some of the other reviewers have demonstrated, this requires an open and liberal mind to be appreciated. It is about pragmatic survival in the face of human nature at it's very worst.

For those of you who know what I'm taking about....enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh, What a letdown!, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
I love Garth Ennis, The Boys, Preacher, his work on Constantine. But this, this is just ridiculous. I'm not one of those easily offended fools. I love gory s*** but this is just gory for the sake of it. I really don't see the point in this book and this story being told. It's as if Garth Ennis is testing the reader and how long they can read for. I read this while in hospital and made myself finish it but I did not enjoy it. No character development at all. It's easy to compare this to the walking dead books with the similar theme, with the walking dead I care about Rick & his family (in the books at least) and the other characters because I get to know them. With this I really don't care for the characters. The main character is simply an avatar for the reader at first but then he becomes annoying, the sort of main/supporting women is an annoying demanding bitch. After several chapters I realised I didn't know the characters names, but I didn't care, I didn't care about them or what happened to them. But my main gripe with this book is how sick it is, it's just sick because Ennis wants it to be not because its necessary to the plot or anything. A child getting ripped apart could have easily been done of panel. It just left a real sour taste in my mouth and I would not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
This is Garth Ennis' take on the survival horror genre and it is a real tour de force. All over the world people are degenerating into brutal, sadistic, psychopaths and turning on their fellow human beings. Each of them is marked with a cross-like scar (hence the title) on their faces, possibly as a judgement from God or perhaps as an echo back to the mediaeval sign for plague. These aren't shambling mindless zombies. They are intelligent, sneaky, tactical and co-operative. They can talk, use tools, guns, vehicles and tanks! This really is the stuff of nightmares.

Initially when I browsed through this what struck me was the art. The graphic depictions of violence, death, dismemberment and sexual nastiness. It looks like torture-porn in comic book form and it was easy to dismiss this as simply a gratuitous excuse for Mr Ennis to push his envelope as far as possible. But it isn't. You need that intense visceral shock to set the scene and break you out of that zombie cliché mindset.

Like all good fiction of this genre it is about what the survivors do and what they learn about themselves. How much of their humanity are they willing to sacrifice just to stay alive? How much would you? As the story progresses it is less and less about the shock and awe atrocities of the crossed and more about us and how we behave. The crossed are simply ourselves without any inhibitions and that is truly frightening.

Whilst the art is sickening in places it is expertly drawn by Jacen Burrows who worked with Mr Ennis to great effect on 303. He has an incredible gift for colour and lighting. The opening issues are a real treat in this respect. As the story progresses the pallet becomes dull and subdued however. This could be to reflect the survivors' despair and isolation or a realistic portrayal of the wilderness setting but there is an incredible midnight snow scene that really leaps out at you.

It is well written and there is usual moral message found in this genre that we are worse than them. In this tale we are them so there can be no doubt on this score. There are some great shocks, surprises and reveals and Mr Ennis really keeps you on your toes. The story is part contemporary and part flashback but there is no indication of the switch between the two. Just count the number of survivors and the more there are the further back in time you are so you can easily follow along.

Whilst it does not have the depth that his magnum opus Preacher did this is easily his best stand alone work. It is 10 issues (not the usual 6) and that really makes a difference to the pacing and breadth of this story and you really don't want it to end. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
Simple really, if you like Garth Ennis you will like this. He's really pushed the boundaries of taboo on this one with one very memorable double page spread.
If you dont like Garth Ennis, dont buy it, you wont like it. Alternatively you could buy it, read it and give a 1 star review if you have the time and money to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Apocalyptic horror from the master!, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
Garth Ennis has done it again. This is like Wlaking Dead but with bigger balls. Excellent storyline and brilliant artwork!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cruelty porn - in comic form!, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
Over the 9 issues that made up the initial run of 'Crossed' in comic book format, my views on Ennis & Burrows post-apocalyptic horror show veered from shock and awe to mock and bore(d)...and back again. I couldn't get my head around the truly horrendous scenario, and the black, choking evil of the Crossed. Ennis and Burrows created a world gone bad beyond nightmares and for that, the series is well worth a look.

But.

Whereas Ennis & Burrows effectively (effortlessly even) create the bad guys, their downfall is in the characters they create to counter-balance them. The 'good guys' / survivors are just not interesting, apart from the woman and her child, and you just lose interest in their efforts to evade the Crossed. The only tension and suspense generated is in the womans struggle to keep her boy alive and out of the reach of the Crossed. There are some moments when the dynamics of the group start to get a little interesting, but their characters are pretty bland. Maybe that's the point.

I love Ennis work, and Burrows is a perfect artistic foil for his twisted, beyond black comedy of horrors. And Crossed is worth it - just. But if you want an introduction to Ennis' work, try The Boys: The Name of the Game v. 1. If you want a post-apocalyptic drama, try 'The Walking Dead Volume 1: Days Gone Bye: Days Gone Bye v. 1'.

And when you do read 'Crossed', don't forget to check out Warren Ellis'Warren Ellis' Blackgas and see if you can spot the difference. They go together very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous sex and violence, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
I got a copy of this bought me for Christmas by my sis who probably hasn't read it - she got it on the recommendation of a friend of hers in Ireland, so I'm not blaming her for this. Honestly though, this is the worst pile of crap I've ever read. Rape, mutilation & murder again & again, graphically portrayed in frame, for no good reason. Protagonists who frankly we have no reason to like or identify with at the start, who go through various depredations until they've all had to do some pretty s***ty stuff to stay alive. If you should manage to get to the end of this book, bravo, you put up with a load of drivel & a lot of voyeuristic violence and rape, but there's nothing good you will get to take away from this. Of all the thousands of well drawn graphic novels & TPBs out there, there are thousands you could get that are better than this. Read Flex Mentallo, or Promethea, or the latest Hawkeye series, or if you want Zombies, The Walking Dead, or Deadpool if you want random acts of violence - at least Deadpool is funny. This has no moral to it, nothing to say about our lives, no magic, no heroes, no loyal friends, nothing. Buy this as a first TPB for someone you want to never read another comic book, maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for children!, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossed Volume 1 (Paperback)
Not for everyone, with ultra violence and gore, if you can get beyond this the story of survival is a gripping as that in The Walking Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossed Volume 1
Crossed Volume 1 by Garth Ennis (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews