Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A creative and fun mixed media drawing course
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:02 Mins
This is a book that grew out of the One Drawing a Day blog.

There are 42 interesting daily exercises aimed at giving you ideas on what to draw, and encourages encourage exploration and experimentation. Some involves drawing simple subjects around the house, some encourages you to draw outdoors, drawing the nature or people at a...
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by Parka

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drawing is essential
if like me you have lost the ability to draw after having a stroke,this book is helpful as the ideas get you thinking.Ive followed the lessons but I think it is going to take longer than six weeks.However,the main premise draw every day is good as practise may help me when Im thinking what shall I draw?Do have a go especially if you think you can't draw.Y
you may...
Published 16 months ago by J.enny Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A creative and fun mixed media drawing course, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
Length:: 1:02 Mins

This is a book that grew out of the One Drawing a Day blog.

There are 42 interesting daily exercises aimed at giving you ideas on what to draw, and encourages encourage exploration and experimentation. Some involves drawing simple subjects around the house, some encourages you to draw outdoors, drawing the nature or people at a cafe.

The instructions are minimal but give you a good starting point to generate more ideas on things you can draw. The exercises require you to find a subject to draw, something you can see and use a reference, and not on conjuring ideas from imagination. The drawing style you can use are suggested by the exercises. We're not talking about realistic representational drawings but more on the loose and expressive.

It's important to note that this is a mixed media book. There are lessons that require different materials, like charcoal, watercolour, crayon, bamboo pen, etc. If you don't already have them, it might be difficult to follow along. A lesson that requires using watercolour can't really be substituted with other materials without losing the point of the lesson.

This is not a book for beginners with absolutely no idea on how to draw. You can be asked to draw portraits, and that requires observation skills that are taught not in the book. However, it's a fine book to pair with beginner drawing books.

The ending gallery features the work of artists from Studio 1482, which author Veronica Lawlor is part of. Other artists includes Despina Georgiadis, Eddie Peña, Dominick Santise, Kati Nawrocki, Greg Betza, Michele Bedigian and Margaret Hurst.

I'll recommend this book to those who want to keep their mind creative, and those who just want to have fun drawing.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drawing is essential, 23 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if like me you have lost the ability to draw after having a stroke,this book is helpful as the ideas get you thinking.Ive followed the lessons but I think it is going to take longer than six weeks.However,the main premise draw every day is good as practise may help me when Im thinking what shall I draw?Do have a go especially if you think you can't draw.Y
you may surprise yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Freshening Up Your Approach to Drawing, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
This book has a lively, loose feel, but at its core contains a series of numbered exercises to get you out and about, drawing different subjects with various media, some of which may be unfamiliar.

It's put together by a team of 8 working illustrators (with the exercises split between them) so there's a variety of styles on show. As well as the artists' comments on their own sketches, there's also variations and tips relating to the exercises.

This book does not teach you how to draw; its a series of prompts to encourage people who already draw to freshen up their approach with some new techniques/media/ideas, and I think it does that quite successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
I like this book but my wife , for whom it was bought,does not. We are both experienced amateur artists. I have no problem finding subject matter all day every day but my wife seems to need more inspiration. I thought this book with its guiding format and examples of work ( which seems to me to be very much the sort of thing most of us actually achieve in sketchbooks ) would do the trick. It has not worked for her but I still think it is does what it sets out to do.A book for those starting on the drawing road perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for anyone who wants to draw, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Louise (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
The is a very inspiring book, full of exercises that kick start you, whether you are an amateur artist or a professional illustrator. The quality of the exercises and book 'tutors' is valuable, vigorous and contemporary. There is nothing twee here! Love it and use it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tool, a source, a companion, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always look and read works about drawing from scholarly treatises to how to manuals, in order to enrich and complement my own practise. I have embarked in an ambitious drawing and text project that will take another five years to finish. I found this book help me keep things in perspective, a source for ideas and a companion when I am in the 'how can I do this' mood.

Thanks

Sonia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help to overcome creative blocks, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter to encourage her to free her artistic skills and become expressive in her drawing, she has been using it regularly and it seems to work. Recommended for up-tight artists who need to just go for it and break all the rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes you want to draw., 24 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
As previous reviewers have said - this is not a 'How to book' but one to encourage you to get on and just draw. Wonderful illustrations and ideas for using different mediums. Good for those who are keen beginners or the more experienced artist who needs motivation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great inspiration..., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
...for a flagging wannabe artist...especially because one is required to use many different media & challenge oneself...it's like being back at college & after only 3 days has reinvigorated my art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to get you past artists block!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media (Paperback)
This is great for encouraging me and my son to just start putting marks on paper with different mediums without over-thinking the process. A good book which I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Drawing a Day: A 6-Week Course Exploring Creativity with Illustration and Mixed Media
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews