Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration
I thought this was a great book for inspiration and have flicked through it several times since I bought it. It is best used as a starting point for getting your own creativity going. The majority of cakes were stunning, although there were a couple that looked like my granny had made them. Curious how big a book would be if it had instructions for 1000 cakes?!
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by S. Brignall

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pictures ONLY
Please be aware that this book has pictures of cakes, cup cakes etc. ONLY.
There are no instructions or helpful hints, which is a shame.
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by Mamaness


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pictures ONLY, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
Please be aware that this book has pictures of cakes, cup cakes etc. ONLY.
There are no instructions or helpful hints, which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - Pictures only, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking there would be not only ideas but also how to decorate the cake with chosen idea. It is just a picture book. Ranging from professional to very amateur. save yourself the money and look at pictures online!

I would not have bought this book had I realised it was a picture book.
Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures!!!, 24 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
The title says it all!
This book is a collection of 1000 cakes and cupcakes. Under each picture the name of the person / company who made them and where in the world they come from is noted. That's it! No instructions. In fact, nothing else to read. Actually, that's not quite true - I've just checked and there are a few pages with recipes for frostings and a directory of cakes at back of book stating what was used to decorate each cake. I was looking forward to this book but if I'd realised it was just a book of nice photos I wouldn't have bothered and would have stuck to searching Google images for inspiration!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Picture book, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
Don't waste your money. All this woman has done is spend an afternoon searching google and stuck the pictures in a book. You can do this yourself. Of no use if you are interested in learning the techniques for cake decorating. I suppose it would be ok for inspiration if you are an accomplished cake decorator although I still think you may as well save your money and just do a google search. There is practically no text, it is pictures only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
Was very excited at the prospect of this book and had preordered it and was happy to recieve it and then i open it and was very disappointed that it is just a book of pictures and nothing else. I was thinking it was going to be a book with pictures and telling you how to make the decorations etc.
unfortunately sent it back as was very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO INSTRUCTIONS - PICTURES ONLY, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
I usually read reviews before I purchase a book but got carried away with the beautiful pictures in the 'Look Inside' Amazon offered. It is a beautiful book, but if you are looking for instructions don't buy this book. I really could have seen the same type of pictures of various cakes on the internet as is in this book. It is fine if you can decorate cakes which I can and I can copy from the book but it is a reference only book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Picture reference only, 23 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
Okay, the book is called 1000 deas for decorating cupcakes, cakes and cookies and it literally is a book full of pictures of cake/cupcake/cookies decorations with no explaination fo how to make them.

And the writer didn't even make those him/her self!

We live in an advanced internet world and if I really just wanted to look at pictures of cakes, I'll just google it and click on image to see all the ideas i can get for free!

I've returned the book as it is not usefull at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars about the book, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
the book is a really beautiful picture book.
Really good for ideas for the experienced cake decorator.
This book is not for a novice or beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 26 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
As everyone said, very misleading. Just a book full of pictures. How did this woman even make money for this? I assume many people, like me, assumed it had actual tips or at least guidelines to create the designs. Not so. And while the images are stunning, I haven't the first idea how to create them. Not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: 1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (Paperback)
I thought this was a great book for inspiration and have flicked through it several times since I bought it. It is best used as a starting point for getting your own creativity going. The majority of cakes were stunning, although there were a couple that looked like my granny had made them. Curious how big a book would be if it had instructions for 1000 cakes?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies
1000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies by Gina Brown (Paperback - 1 Nov 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews