Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just What I Wanted, 14 Jan 2012
By 
E. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering: A Mark-Making Workbook for Crafters, Cardmakers, and Journal Artists (Paperback)
I was wondering last week if there could possibly be a book on MODERN calligraphy - I had in mind free, energetic, scrawly scripts - words made into art. Came to amazon and searched on 'modern calligraphy' - was thrilled to find someone had indeed written a book about it! This book did not disappoint - it's exactly what I was hoping for - full of exciting alphabets, ideas, beautiful works of art and inspiration. Extensive information on traditional calligraphy and alphabets too - all written in a very friendly and encouraging way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky and contemporary, 3 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering: A Mark-Making Workbook for Crafters, Cardmakers, and Journal Artists (Paperback)
I bought this book just based on the funky lettering on the cover! And boy it didn't disappoint. Have had fun pushing boundaries and developing a more contemporary style. Definitely recommend it. Looking forward to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering: A Mark-Making Workbook for Crafters, Cardmakers, and Journal Artists (Paperback)
This book is more suited to people who have experience of calligraphy. It demonstrates how calligraphy can be used to produce works of art, eg to make a paperweight or to put words around paintings etc. informative and thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST FOR A LONG TIME, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering: A Mark-Making Workbook for Crafters, Cardmakers, and Journal Artists (Paperback)
So many calligraphy books repeat the same old lists of styles: foundation, roman, italic . . . Ms Engelbrecht gors beyond. Very refreshing. Quite exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Project purchase, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was very well wrapped and very easy to open and it arrived early. Which I was pleeased about. I am in the process of learning how to write in the Calligraphy style. This book is very good as it shows you how to write in one of the different styles that come under the title of Calligraphy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 17 April 2013
By 
Sharon (Abingdon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this book as it is easy to access on my tablet. It provides useful tips and tricks together with information on the various types of fonts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering: A Mark-Making Workbook for Crafters, Cardmakers, and Journal Artists (Paperback)
This was a G&T and was well received. Good price and quick delivery made this. Good choice. I certainly wasn't given the cold shoulder after giving this as a gift so - result
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calligraphy book, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering: A Mark-Making Workbook for Crafters, Cardmakers, and Journal Artists (Paperback)
This is a great book with some fabulous ideas. Thoroughly recommend this to everyone who'd like to try something different. Hopefully with some practice I might get half as good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews