Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Enlightening Read!
This is one of the best books I have ever read on Elvis. It is great to have a 'fly on the wall' view of life with Elvis by someone who was actually there and who accompanied him on his journey. It is better still to read something that isn't sensationalised in order to generate sales. So many books have been written by people who never met Elvis and who make assumptions...
Published on 12 Oct. 2006 by Mr. P. M. Douglas

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'Quiet' Book by one of Elvis' better friends
Jerry Schilling can easily be considered one of Presley's most loyal and trusted friends.

Before meeting Elvis, Jerry was like any other obsessed fan. His dreams were exceeded when he met and was later hired by Presley. The book tells the whole story from Jerry's earliest recollection of first hearing of Elvis Presley through to working and partying with him,...
Published on 5 Nov. 2009 by tommyboo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Enlightening Read!, 12 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. P. M. Douglas (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best books I have ever read on Elvis. It is great to have a 'fly on the wall' view of life with Elvis by someone who was actually there and who accompanied him on his journey. It is better still to read something that isn't sensationalised in order to generate sales. So many books have been written by people who never met Elvis and who make assumptions as to his thoughts and feelings whereas Jerry Schilling gives a personal view of Elvis and the amazing life he led. A truly great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book it was a easy read with some very touching memories of a man who really loved Elvis as a true friend. From what he said I think Elvis had a lot of love for Jerry. I feel I know more about Elvis the very human being. We have all heard some unpleasant things about Elvis I the past but reading this book I could understand the frustrations of a man with such incredible talent being thwarted in his desire to do more challenging opportunities knowing that he tried several times to put a European tour together and the colonel put a stop to it. Also his great disappointment at not playing opposite Barbara Streisand in A star is borne also because of the colonel must have been a crushing blow for Elvis. It didn't become clear just why the colonel didn't want Elvis going abroad as he wouldn't have been able to accompany his as he was an illegal in the USA. He kept that quiet until the court case about all the money he had taken in the years he was Elvis' manager and only made it known so he couldn't be charged with anything as a man of no nationality . To me that shows what a deceitful man he was. That knowledge came from reading another book. He made some good business deals but always to his greater financial benefit. I also think people forget elvis came from very humble beginnings and was used to deferring to is elders add to that the fact that Elvis was never interested in the money side of things and it is easy to see why he was manipulated. His generosity is legendary but I never realised how much he gave to good causes. His thirst for spiritual knowledge tells me he was a man of great depth and understanding. I could wish that there were men around Elvis who could have fought his corner with his desire for more challenging and worthwhile projects to stretch Elvis' incredible talent. This book is a ver human look at the man so universally loved and admired by his millions of fans and as such a must read for them but also for people who didn't really understand the legend that was Elvis Aaron Presley. So thank you Jerry for a wonderful, compassionate and loving look into the life of the greatest entertainer who ever lived RIP Elvis we fan will always love and miss you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'Quiet' Book by one of Elvis' better friends, 5 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Jerry Schilling can easily be considered one of Presley's most loyal and trusted friends.

Before meeting Elvis, Jerry was like any other obsessed fan. His dreams were exceeded when he met and was later hired by Presley. The book tells the whole story from Jerry's earliest recollection of first hearing of Elvis Presley through to working and partying with him, almost to the end. You will learn about the good times as well as the frustrations. Jerry was there and witnessed it all.

If you are already well read on Elvis, much of the stories told in this book will sound familiar or even repetitively boring. To the uninitiated or the new fan, Jerry's book is a revelation without the sensationalism found in other "friends' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 25 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Nothing new but ok for a light read. The book is written from a friends perception of how he remembers past history, no nastiness or bitterness, enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must for any Elvis fan. Jerry takes you back to when it all began. He introduces you to Elvis the man, you learn about his humour, moods ,loves, and insecurities and not forgetting his generosity and the love he had for his fellow man/woman.. You read how humble this man could be I loved the way Jerry gives you his thoughts on events and his honesty. He didn't gloss over any imperfections but also doesn't dwell on them. With this book you see the full picture, the man as a whole. You can feel the love Jerry had and still has for Elvis as a friend and you feel the lose he is still feeling. This is a book will you read again and again and find things in it you read but didn't pick up the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT biography by one of Elvis Presley's best friends, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Paul Bradley "Paul Bradley" (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jerry Schilling's biography about his lifelong friendship with iconic rock singer Elvis Presley is an enjoyable read. It is clear from the first page that this was not going to be another derogatory account of the biggest star of the century but a telling of how proud the sensitive narrator has felt to be in the great man's company and how much he misses him today. Elvis comes across in this enjoyable book as a flawed but a very likable human being. The amount of respect that Jerry has for Elvis, Elvis' family and friends (and the usually reviled Colonel Tom Parker) is shown in this biography is a breath of fresh air from the tabloid material written about this exceptionally important pioneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Wonderful story of Elvis , I couldn't put the book down ! Even if your not an Elvis fan I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Written with grace and decency, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Jerry Schilling writes with real grace and love and dignity about his friend Elvis in this book. Starting off as the twelve year old in awe of the older boy (Elvis) at a football game, it gathers pace and the reader can see how these two young men's affection for each other develops into more of an equal, reciprocal , honest and loving friendship. All the adventures of their halcyon youth as young men about town in Memphis and California, the film sets, the girls, the cars, the motorcycles, the concerts and the difficulties and pressures of life on the road in the 70's are written about with real heart and one can picture it all in their head as one read it. Jerry was very lucky to have such a friend in Elvis but Elvis was also lucky to have a friend like Jerry, who's sheer, intrinsic decency, grit and independent spirit shines through. We know already how remarkable Elvis was but Jerry comes through also as a pretty interesting guy and the reader can see why Elvis had so much respect for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Big Yawn, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
H. Evans (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
This is one of the worst books I have ever read about Elvis. Jerry comes across as a nice guy who does not want to cause any offence, but in doing so the stories are disjointed and well plain boring ! His recollections of Pricilla reek especially of being economical with the truth. Avoid this book at all costs !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Friend Speaks, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last the book Elvis fans have been waiting for. Jerry Schilling writes with compassion about his friend who just happened to be the most famous entertainer on the planet. Read this book if you want to find out about the real Elvis. If you want scandal look elsewhere. The best Elvis book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley
Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley by Jerry Schilling (Paperback - 28 Aug. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews