Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Enlightening Read!
This is one of the best books I have ever read on Elvis. It is great to have a 'fly on the wall' view of life with Elvis by someone who was actually there and who accompanied him on his journey. It is better still to read something that isn't sensationalised in order to generate sales. So many books have been written by people who never met Elvis and who make assumptions...
Published on 12 Oct 2006 by Mr. P. M. Douglas

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read
Nothing new but ok for a light read. The book is written from a friends perception of how he remembers past history, no nastiness or bitterness, enjoyable reading.
Published on 25 Aug 2007 by Marnei


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 25 Aug 2007
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Nothing new but ok for a light read. The book is written from a friends perception of how he remembers past history, no nastiness or bitterness, enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Enlightening Read!, 12 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. P. M. Douglas (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best books I have ever read on Elvis. It is great to have a 'fly on the wall' view of life with Elvis by someone who was actually there and who accompanied him on his journey. It is better still to read something that isn't sensationalised in order to generate sales. So many books have been written by people who never met Elvis and who make assumptions as to his thoughts and feelings whereas Jerry Schilling gives a personal view of Elvis and the amazing life he led. A truly great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book it was a easy read with some very touching memories of a man who really loved Elvis as a true friend. From what he said I think Elvis had a lot of love for Jerry. I feel I know more about Elvis the very human being. We have all heard some unpleasant things about Elvis I the past but reading this book I could understand the frustrations of a man with such incredible talent being thwarted in his desire to do more challenging opportunities knowing that he tried several times to put a European tour together and the colonel put a stop to it. Also his great disappointment at not playing opposite Barbara Streisand in A star is borne also because of the colonel must have been a crushing blow for Elvis. It didn't become clear just why the colonel didn't want Elvis going abroad as he wouldn't have been able to accompany his as he was an illegal in the USA. He kept that quiet until the court case about all the money he had taken in the years he was Elvis' manager and only made it known so he couldn't be charged with anything as a man of no nationality . To me that shows what a deceitful man he was. That knowledge came from reading another book. He made some good business deals but always to his greater financial benefit. I also think people forget elvis came from very humble beginnings and was used to deferring to is elders add to that the fact that Elvis was never interested in the money side of things and it is easy to see why he was manipulated. His generosity is legendary but I never realised how much he gave to good causes. His thirst for spiritual knowledge tells me he was a man of great depth and understanding. I could wish that there were men around Elvis who could have fought his corner with his desire for more challenging and worthwhile projects to stretch Elvis' incredible talent. This book is a ver human look at the man so universally loved and admired by his millions of fans and as such a must read for them but also for people who didn't really understand the legend that was Elvis Aaron Presley. So thank you Jerry for a wonderful, compassionate and loving look into the life of the greatest entertainer who ever lived RIP Elvis we fan will always love and miss you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'Quiet' Book by one of Elvis' better friends, 5 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Jerry Schilling can easily be considered one of Presley's most loyal and trusted friends.

Before meeting Elvis, Jerry was like any other obsessed fan. His dreams were exceeded when he met and was later hired by Presley. The book tells the whole story from Jerry's earliest recollection of first hearing of Elvis Presley through to working and partying with him, almost to the end. You will learn about the good times as well as the frustrations. Jerry was there and witnessed it all.

If you are already well read on Elvis, much of the stories told in this book will sound familiar or even repetitively boring. To the uninitiated or the new fan, Jerry's book is a revelation without the sensationalism found in other "friends' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Wonderful story of Elvis , I couldn't put the book down ! Even if your not an Elvis fan I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my best friend, 28 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Jerry, you wrote in this book that Elvis was your best friend. But you left him in February 1976,18 month before he died. In the most vulnerable period of his life. OK. We already know the picture of Elvis's last year and a half. Peter Guralnick already described his downward spiral into drugs, fear, ilnesees, paranoia....But if Elvis was your best friend you should stay with him until the end and maybe try to save him. OK, some many others would reply: how can you save Elvis from his self distructive behavior? Maybe it's right but not 100% percent. Elvis bought you a house roughly one year before you left him. You described in your book one last meeting with him in Landover, Maryland in the summer of 1976 and you wrote "Elvis gave a good show that night". Just like that? Your book is warm, funny, so I believe you was a good friend of Elvis. But something is missing, Jerry is very diplomat regarding Priscilla, the other girls, the Mafia members, the guns and the drugs. About the drugs: if you took the uppers and downers just only 48 hours after you went with Elvis on first trip to California and realize that "living better to chemistry" is dangerous so why didn't you talk to Elvis right away? i think you was afraid being fired on the spot. I like the book, i believe in sincere friendship, but, Jerry, I believe you are knowing a lot more stories about Elvis and you chosed to not offend anyone (the members of the Mafia, Priscilla, even Colonel Parker). So, it's a good book, but a carefully constructed clean image of the greatest singer of the XX'th century with all his contradictions and faults. I read a lot of books about Elvis and, again, I am very sad about the tragedy of a genius who appeared supernatural in the eyes of the others, including his inner circle, but in reality was only a human being like everybody else. Thank you nonetheless, Jerry, for the stories regarding Eric Clapton, Led Zeppelin, The Beatles, I think these are very enjoyable news to all the fans.

P.S. After 2 years i reread the book. And now I have more mixed feeling about it. Jerry admited after seeing the "Elvis in concert" 1977 TV special: "I think Elvis was pitiful and I never seen him looking so unwell" So I have to ask you one more time: What about the October 1974 shows when he fell to his knees? The July 1975 Asheville concerts when Elvis shot in the chest Dr. Nick and insulted the Sweet inspirations and Kathy on stage? The august 1975 Vegas shows when Elvis was so weak phisically? You have the responsability of not talking to Elvis much openly (not with diplomacy) about his drug problem and the deteriorating quality of his shows. At least Red, Sonny, Lamar had the guts to do that.And after Elvis separated from Linda Thompson, in November 1976, you must had speak with the Colonel and Vernon and also with Priscilla(which you are in such cordial terms) to do something. Unless you painted a landscape when after Elvis' death, you had a very good relation with the Colonel and also you had been part of Elvis presley Enterprises. So all were happy after Elvis's death might do I ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars me and a guy named elvis;my lifelong friendship with elvis presley, 2 July 2008
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
best book i have read about elvis.jerry told things about elvis and himself which were personal and those are the things we want to know it felt as if all his wonderfull work(songs)were captured in this book along with all of their family and friends what an adventure.elvis was an amazing man thats why i am a fan but jerry was not just his employer but as the book says lifelong friend,like normal people they had their ups and downs.well done jerry couldent put the book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars true content, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You could feel you were there with Jerry and Elvis, I have read this several times and still fascinating how Elvis suffered simply because he wanted to sing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful. A must read, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Thankyou Jerry Schilling for your heartfelt memories and anecdotes..it made me hug it to my chest when I had read it. How could anyone but Elvis have been Elvis Presley.. beautiful. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not really impressed, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Expected more from insider view, maybe I'm just weary of same memories regurgitated. Nice guy though. Not a bit jealous of lifestyle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley
Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley by Jerry Schilling (Paperback - 28 Aug 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews