Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring
a book written by a very grounded analyst, while not being a self help book at all, is deeply inspiring and helpful. Many books written by analysts are airy fairy and intellectual, this writer has the true gift of a broad spectrum of knowledge which he seems to have digested and then writeis lucidly and clearly about concepts that many people find unintelligible. weel...
Published on 2 May 2006 by claire odeon hershman

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life
I appologise for the review i entered for this book, afraid I had got the wrong book, The title of the book that I was commentating on was- Proof of Heaven by Dr Eben Alexander. Mary Wilding-Smith
Published 13 months ago by Mrs M L Wilding-Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 2 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a book written by a very grounded analyst, while not being a self help book at all, is deeply inspiring and helpful. Many books written by analysts are airy fairy and intellectual, this writer has the true gift of a broad spectrum of knowledge which he seems to have digested and then writeis lucidly and clearly about concepts that many people find unintelligible. weel worth the effort to work along with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly important book, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up (Paperback)
It is refreshing to find a book amidst the current 'positive-thinking', 'psychology-lite' and New Age climate that tells it like it is.

Jungian analyst James Hollis goes to the root of most of our ailments at the onset of the second half of life by presenting the conflicting needs and wants of the 'ego' and the 'Self', a struggle that is key to our psychological and spiritual development.

In this struggle, Hollis tells, suffering has a role to play. 'The struggle for growth' he declares, 'is not for us alone. It's not self-indulgent. It is our duty, and service, to those around us as well.'

An elucidating volume with an urgent message for our personal and collective transformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up (Paperback)
Very enlightening book. A must for all those of a certain age.(Have to submit 8 more words. No wonder I don't normally fill these bloody thins in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up (Paperback)
Found this book very helpful when considering my life now. If you are in the second half of life you will find something here to move you forward and manage the loss of youthful expectations and dreams. there are real answers for finding joy in this book. Recommend it highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finding meaning in the second half of life, 20 Feb 2013
This review is from: Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up (Paperback)
I was drawn to the book by the title and it has not disappointed. It is not easy to understand and I shall have to give it a further reading but there is much in here to comfort and inspire. It is not a quick fix book, it is challenging and its message that suffering is a prerequisite to spiritual growth is not one that many will be keen to hear. However, it does promise rewards for those who are willing and ready to heed its message. I shall be reading more of Hollis' work. He certainly is an expert in his field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up (Paperback)
I appologise for the review i entered for this book, afraid I had got the wrong book, The title of the book that I was commentating on was- Proof of Heaven by Dr Eben Alexander. Mary Wilding-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for someone else, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up (Paperback)
Bought this for someone else no idea what its like. They were very keen on this author and rated his books highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae000f0c)

This product

Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life: How to Finally, Really Grow Up
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews