Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought a small slow cooker just to be able to use this book
I already cook 3 or 4 times a week with a "standard" 5 litre(ish) slowcooker. It's brilliant for making big chillis and curries and then having leftovers to freeze BUT sometimes you don't want to make a huge amount. That's where this book comes in.
I bought a 1.5L slowcooker for £12 and started cooking.
Being able to make 2 servings of tomato sauce for...
Published 16 months ago by helganog

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A UK version might be useful, but not this one.
I returned this on day of receipt. All the measurements are USA style & that I probably could live with, but I hadn't even heard if half the ingredients in the recipes. Not very good for British cooks.
Published 14 months ago by Mr. S. P. Lewis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought a small slow cooker just to be able to use this book, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already cook 3 or 4 times a week with a "standard" 5 litre(ish) slowcooker. It's brilliant for making big chillis and curries and then having leftovers to freeze BUT sometimes you don't want to make a huge amount. That's where this book comes in.
I bought a 1.5L slowcooker for £12 and started cooking.
Being able to make 2 servings of tomato sauce for pasta is brilliant, as is making 3 servings of pin-head oatmeal which would have burn to a crisp in the big crock.
I was intrigued by Sietan and bought some Vital wheat gluten off a well known auction site to give it a go. It turned out very well and I turned it into "crumbles" in a food processor and made spag bol! Delicious.
Very easy to follow recipes and most ingredients are reasonably accessible.
I now have both slow cookers out on the counter and in use most days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow cooker relevation - not just for vegans, 2 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
Undoubtedly a vegan slow cook book caters for a niche market - even more so when it is aimed at singles and couples. However this book did have me searching for mini slow cookers to buy and was a slow cooker revelation. Recipes are varied and cover all meals - from spreads and porridges for breakfast, to dips, main courses and puddings, as well as a section of spice blends. Recipes smartly written - for an evening meal ingredients are separated into morning ingredients which cook all day - and then evening ingredients which are added upon your return home and cooks for a shorter length of time. New (at least to me) slow cooker techniques abound - cooking vegetables in a parchment paper packet to keep them separate from the main dish, making risotto - no need to stand and stir it, layering dishes and cooking pasta using the absorption method. Who would think of making cookies in a slow cooker?

Most recipes are photographed, many have ideas for adaptations or to make soy, gluten or sugar free. It is an American book and the conversions of quantities are oddly precise - 122g of beans for example. (Common sense does suggest that such accuracy is not needed for the majority of the recipes.).

Stand out dishes to make are lasagne with nut ricotta, butternut squash macaroni, butterscotch rum sauce and slow cooker chocolate brownies.

Perfect for those new to slow cooking or with limited cooking facilities and suitable for all regardless of your diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegan meals for 1 or 2, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
Gives good intro to using a small slow cooker, includes options for gluten free oil free etc which is really useful. Recipes are already worked out for one or two people saving on the maths of adjusting downwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great intro, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
Lovely recipes,interesting variations and inspired way to use a slow cooker.
It is easy to follow and most american options can be substituted.
Pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy for solitary vegans!, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
This is one of the best vegan cookbooks I have bought. I have a tiny slow cooker, which is really useful, and now it really is used to the full. Her way of preparing dried beans (except kidney beans) is excellent; I love the idea of a bean-based fondue dip, kept warm in the slow cooker, to replace a cheese fondue, and without mimicking cheese flavour. It is an American book, but most of the ingredients are easy to find. I love this book! Inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have used it a lot, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
Great book which has given me a lot of ideas. I was unsure how useful a slow cooker would be - but I love it delicious healthy meals when I get home. It is an American book but I have not found it to be a problem, google is great for "translations". Pictures throughout this book gives a great introduction for vegans with a small slow cooker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
I love to cook in my kitchen side side to buy some books books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A UK version might be useful, but not this one., 13 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. S. P. Lewis "Steve" (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Slow Cooking for Two or Just for You: More than 100 Delicious One-Pot Meals for Your 1.5-Quart/Litre Slow Cooker (Paperback)
I returned this on day of receipt. All the measurements are USA style & that I probably could live with, but I hadn't even heard if half the ingredients in the recipes. Not very good for British cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews