Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful
Beautiful make up, love the detail of how the makeup is applied and products used and the transformations. An inspirational read.
Published 19 months ago by CVMB

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big sigh of disappointment
I received this book as a gift, but it turned out to be not what I thought it's going to be. To be honest I was really disappointed. It's not a typical step-by-step, how to do make-up book with lots of images and useful tips! It's more an inspirational book for an artist-to-be, written about the results of the make-up, that it can reflect mood, personality, give you more...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Ingrid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big sigh of disappointment, 16 Jan. 2013
I received this book as a gift, but it turned out to be not what I thought it's going to be. To be honest I was really disappointed. It's not a typical step-by-step, how to do make-up book with lots of images and useful tips! It's more an inspirational book for an artist-to-be, written about the results of the make-up, that it can reflect mood, personality, give you more confidence (which we already know!) or even transform a person.
Reading this book you can find out what make-up means to Scott Barnes (the author) and how he became a famous make-up artist. In the beginning of the book he introduces the reader to his 'beauty team', who all give their short story how they have met Scott and what kind of talented person he is.
There are quite few famous names in the book like Kim Kardashian, Kelly Rowland, Ivana Milicevic, Vanessa Williams, Shannen Doherty, Paris Hilton and more, whose make-up was done by Scott. What I didn't like about this is that I found out more about these celebrities and the author than about the make-up. After each photo of the celebrity comes the story how the author met that celebrity, a BRIEF description how was her make-up and hair done (not a step-by-step guide!), make-up that was used list (not useful, because it's not a full list, without prices too) and then celebrity's few words about 'the miracle worker'.
To be honest, some of the transformed celebrities look nothing like themselves and it's amazing. But not really useful, because you can't find out how it was done. Wouldn't recommend it to a friend and wouldn't buy myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face to Face (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful make up, love the detail of how the makeup is applied and products used and the transformations. An inspirational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Face to face Scott Barnes, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face to Face: Amazing New Looks and Inspiration from the Top Celebrity Makeup Artist (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my sister who is a makeup guru, she loves it and has found it to be a good read with fantastic makeup tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to follow, beautiful pictures and also provided good tips for products to buy, including ones on diets and health tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Face to Face: Amazing New Looks and Inspiration from the Top Celebrity, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
Malcolm Ley "Biker" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face to Face: Amazing New Looks and Inspiration from the Top Celebrity Makeup Artist (Hardcover)
Super book well written. shows all the tricks of the stars. I was amazed. Interested in makeup and style you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool pics, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face to Face: Amazing New Looks and Inspiration from the Top Celebrity Makeup Artist (Hardcover)
Cool pics. I thought there would be more technique on how to do step by step make up. Eg how Kim Kardashians make up is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Face to Face: Amazing New Looks and Inspiration from the Top Celebrity Makeup Artist
Used & New from: £9.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews