Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars46
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2011
As a fairly new vegan baker with some disasters behind me I bought this book as it looked like just the thing to put me right. I realised that I was doing it all wrong before and by following the information and acually having more of an understanding after reading the book of the principles behind using the various ingredients for different reasons I am now much more successful! This book is a must for anyone wanting to bake and make vegan meals using existing cook books.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
As a new vegan, I have found this book invaluable, as I can continue using old, favourite recipes, ones that I thought I would never be able to use again.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
This does exactly what it says on the tin - and then some! I've bought numerous books on vegan cooking - but none appeal to my confirmed meat-eating hubby - he simply doesnt do beans or pasta or rice, so adding in some healthy animal free options has been murder. This is clearly laid out, and gives straightforward options for 'animal to veggie' replacements, and oodles of example recipes too! The imitation bacon bits recipe had him totally fooled! Some of the ingredients are american, so you need to be a little creative on the internet to source some of them -or spend time and money in Brighton (my nearest veggie haven). I still cant find 'vital wheat gluten flour' or tempeh - but i'll get there.
1010 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Wonderful book! Very beatiful and very useful! Also very practical! It's a must have for any kitchen! It is divided by chapters according with the product you want to substitute! all vegan! but withou soy,, without gluten
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
there is not a better way to describe it... it brilliant, and thank you to the authors a vegan cook book with grams and ml/ l measurements! hooray!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
I usually give reviews that veer towards tough! But this book had me giddy when it arrived, came with me throughout the day to read on the way to work and while sitting in a café at lunch time. Its a veritable encyclopedia that really does what it says on the cover. There are charts for foods such as butter, eggs, cheese as well as foods that there are high rates of intolerance for, that allow you to instantly and directly replace them in any recipe, with a range of alternatives depending, on the recipe. There are also recipes for how to make the substitutes. Need blue cheese? Parmesan shavings - this is the place to go. Need mayonnaise or eggs for that chocolate cake batter or quiche - you got it here. Need Buttermilk - you got it here. Want to cut the flour out of the recipe you saw in a magazine - it's here, or want to make that creamy pepper sauce. Joy oh joy - its here.

I have spent hours and hours online trying to find answers to questions that are answered here back to back, in depth and comprehensively. If I could only own one book - this would be it. Six Stars
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
This was just what I needed to reuse all the traditional recipe books that I already owned. And also had some great recipes of its own! Particularly like the pb&j dessert
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
This is a great book, a worthy starting place for the new vegan. Full of ideas to get your teeth into.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This is useful information, but some of the products listed as alternatives are not all that readily available in the UK.
It does what it says and provides alternatives that do help with a restricted diet.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Brilliant book. So useful, user friendly. I love it. Useful for those with food allergies for information on replacing ingredients. Excellent
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)