Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!
This does exactly what it says on the tin - and then some! I've bought numerous books on vegan cooking - but none appeal to my confirmed meat-eating hubby - he simply doesnt do beans or pasta or rice, so adding in some healthy animal free options has been murder. This is clearly laid out, and gives straightforward options for 'animal to veggie' replacements, and oodles...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Scally Cross

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Diappointing
Having been vegan for a number of years I was really hoping for new inspiration and ideas but did not get them. A lot of the ingredients are not readily available, well not where I live! May be ok for people new to a vegan diet.
Published 16 months ago by E Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
This does exactly what it says on the tin - and then some! I've bought numerous books on vegan cooking - but none appeal to my confirmed meat-eating hubby - he simply doesnt do beans or pasta or rice, so adding in some healthy animal free options has been murder. This is clearly laid out, and gives straightforward options for 'animal to veggie' replacements, and oodles of example recipes too! The imitation bacon bits recipe had him totally fooled! Some of the ingredients are american, so you need to be a little creative on the internet to source some of them -or spend time and money in Brighton (my nearest veggie haven). I still cant find 'vital wheat gluten flour' or tempeh - but i'll get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book full of usefull information, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
As a fairly new vegan baker with some disasters behind me I bought this book as it looked like just the thing to put me right. I realised that I was doing it all wrong before and by following the information and acually having more of an understanding after reading the book of the principles behind using the various ingredients for different reasons I am now much more successful! This book is a must for anyone wanting to bake and make vegan meals using existing cook books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete guide to Vegan Food substitutions, 13 April 2011
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
As a new vegan, I have found this book invaluable, as I can continue using old, favourite recipes, ones that I thought I would never be able to use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Stars!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
I usually give reviews that veer towards tough! But this book had me giddy when it arrived, came with me throughout the day to read on the way to work and while sitting in a café at lunch time. Its a veritable encyclopedia that really does what it says on the cover. There are charts for foods such as butter, eggs, cheese as well as foods that there are high rates of intolerance for, that allow you to instantly and directly replace them in any recipe, with a range of alternatives depending, on the recipe. There are also recipes for how to make the substitutes. Need blue cheese? Parmesan shavings - this is the place to go. Need mayonnaise or eggs for that chocolate cake batter or quiche - you got it here. Need Buttermilk - you got it here. Want to cut the flour out of the recipe you saw in a magazine - it's here, or want to make that creamy pepper sauce. Joy oh joy - its here.

I have spent hours and hours online trying to find answers to questions that are answered here back to back, in depth and comprehensively. If I could only own one book - this would be it. Six Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vegan substitions, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
Wonderful book! Very beatiful and very useful! Also very practical! It's a must have for any kitchen! It is divided by chapters according with the product you want to substitute! all vegan! but withou soy,, without gluten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The missing piece of the jigsaw, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Natasha Hanson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
This was just what I needed to reuse all the traditional recipe books that I already owned. And also had some great recipes of its own! Particularly like the pb&j dessert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genuis!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
there is not a better way to describe it... it brilliant, and thank you to the authors a vegan cook book with grams and ml/ l measurements! hooray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clever book, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
This is a great book, a worthy starting place for the new vegan. Full of ideas to get your teeth into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab fab fab, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
Brilliant book. So useful, user friendly. I love it. Useful for those with food allergies for information on replacing ingredients. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some lovely recipes but the index annoys me, 8 April 2012
By 
Helen B (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite (Paperback)
I do love this book and have used it many times now. The Vegan 'Parmesan' sprinkles and Dijon Portobello Steaks are basics I'm always using as is the Soya Milk Mayo. Another good thing is that (unlike a lot of US cookbooks) there are plenty of photos too. My only (tiny) niggle is the index - if you know what you want to make eg the Portobello steak if you look up P for Portobello or S for Steak there is no mention of the recipe as in the index is it is Mains and then under D for Dijon - annoying or what!
Still it's worth buying if you are Vegan (and particularly if you are new to veganism) some of the ingredients might need Googling for UK equivalents ie the word Meal us used as in Almond Meal where we call is Ground Almonds and also some ingredients can be a bit trickier to find ie Vital Wheat Gluten - which you can buy in the UK I might add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews