Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I've not done a great deal of the recipes from this book, but the ones I've tried (especially the cookies) are very good indeed. It's true that the author relies on the commercial egg replacers a bit too much, but these are the only recipes that actually render the egg replacer useable!
Published on 12 Feb 2008 by Mr. Bryan S. Roberts

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy on the egg replacer!
Not a bad book and I've been happy with the recipes I've tried. However I find myself skimming through and turning to a different book fairly often mainly due to the many recipes using the commercial egg replacer. I've no idea if I can get hold of that (in UK?) but I'd never want to - I try to avoid that kind of synthetic product as a rule. Not all recipes use it by any...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by S. Oakley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Bryan S. Roberts (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
I've not done a great deal of the recipes from this book, but the ones I've tried (especially the cookies) are very good indeed. It's true that the author relies on the commercial egg replacers a bit too much, but these are the only recipes that actually render the egg replacer useable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for vegans who love baking..., 12 May 2008
By 
Ms. R. King (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
I bought this book and was utterly impressed when I received it. It's a big thick book full of loads of great photos. Well written with loads of recipes this is definitely worth every penny. I have already made a couple of things and plan on making many more. I missed baking when I became a vegan as I didn't have any suitable recipes. Now I am making up for lost time....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific vegan resource, 11 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
I've had this book for about a year and a half now and I think it's great. It is a really good resource because it covers just about every kind of cake, muffin or cookie that you can think of, plus some recipes for things you wouldn't ordinarily expect to get in a dessert cookbook, such as waffles, almond milk, pretzels, cinnamon rolls, sorbets, shakes and smoothies. In the introduction, and a few brief interludes throughout the book, the author talks about her journey towards becoming a vegan and reasons for avoiding milk and eggs, plus advice on making the transition to veganism. These sections are not at all preachy and are very useful if you want to explain your reasoning to others without getting up on a soapbox. There is also a really good appendix with basic baking information, recommendations for vegan products, and resources and further reading.

All the recipes that I've tried from this book have been really delicious. A few have been real hits with people who aren't vegans and had no idea they were eating a vegan dessert -- spiced cocoa muffins and blueberry orange bundt cake in particular. A couple of the recipes have become real staples in our household: banana chocolate chip muffins and blueberry lemon muffins (both of which I make substituting soy yogurt for the oil in the recipe, in order to reduce the fat content, with wonderful results). And the chocolate cake has been my daughter's birthday cake for two years' running (gobbled up by the children at her birthday party!).

Most of the recipes call for ingredients that are easy to find, even here in England. Please don't let other reviewers' critical comments about the use of egg replacer powder put you off this cookbook. Ms Patrick-Goudreau doesn't use it in all her recipes and I'm sure when she does there is a good reason -- the recipes all seem very well tested so I'm convinced that where egg replacer powder is used it's because it's the best choice for that particular recipe, as it is very useful in binding ingredients together. There seems to be a bit of a bias against it from some vegans, but it really isn't tricky to use and I'm sure in a blind taste test no one would be able to tell if a dessert contains it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive., 3 Sep 2008
By 
Ms. C. Rodway (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
This is a great all round book with good layout and lots of nice photos. It covers lots of basic recipes so there is something for every occasion. I've made the Apple Cake twice and it is really delicious, and, importantly, looks good - making it all the more impressive when served to non-vegans. Not all the recipes call for egg replacer - lots give flax seeds as the main replacer or as an option. I would definitely recommend this book, along with Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, for anyone interested in vegan baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy on the egg replacer!, 29 Oct 2011
By 
S. Oakley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
Not a bad book and I've been happy with the recipes I've tried. However I find myself skimming through and turning to a different book fairly often mainly due to the many recipes using the commercial egg replacer. I've no idea if I can get hold of that (in UK?) but I'd never want to - I try to avoid that kind of synthetic product as a rule. Not all recipes use it by any means but it stops this from being a must-have vegan cookbook in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 22 Nov 2008
By 
Rose M. Glover "Rose" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
Colleen Patrick Godreau has created the most beautiful, well thought out book on vegan baking. I listen to her podcast a lot ( Its called "Food for thought" if anyones interested!) and she is overwhelmingly inspiring and her enthusiasm, joy and talent bounce off each page of this delightful informative book ( She has small sections where she talks about cow's milk, eggs etc throughout the book ) I true-ly cannot recommend this book enough!! Try the chocolate bread pudding!
Oh , and yes she does use egg replacer in some recipes , but explains how to make whatever it is without the replacer and something else instead, and she really only uses it a few times, and whats wrong with it anyway? Its great stuff! It works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Miss R. Lonsdale "Business Fweek" (Swindon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
I have a shelf full of baking books and I have to say this is by far the best. This book greatly improved my baking skills. Thanks to Colleen for taking the time to provide tips and information about different ingredients and how they work within a recipe. Colleen also writes an intro as to how she became vegan, for any person interested in animal welfare this will speak volumes to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes!, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
At least the recipes we've tried so far have been really great, especially the German apple cake. Better than most similar non-vegan recipes! I have to admit that I was a bit suspicious when my better half ordered this book, as we aren't vegans, and sometimes vegan cooking is a bit "lacking," but with these recipes I really could turn vegan, at least when it comes to baking :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful recipes from a truly remarkable writer, 21 July 2009
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
I absolutely adore this book and its writer, Coleen Patrick G.
(sorry I never remember how to spell your French? surname!!)
I tried a LOT of the recipes and in all the ones I tried I never had to use
an egg substitute, so stop whining about that and just try the many recipes that use flaxseeds instead or just baking soda.
This author impressed me for her personality , which radiates from the book. SHe made me a much better cook (my partner can't believe how lucky he is as he's getting all these amazing and fat-free vegan muffins and biscuits and quick breads etc. etc..). I love this book, HIghly recommend it to inexperienced cook as well as experienced. The pictures are beautiful too and most of all, if you're new to veganism, the book is also filled with very clear and interesting information about it. A great book and a great gift if you know someone vegan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ab Fab!!, 12 May 2014
By 
L. J. Afif (Dubai) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets (Paperback)
So far, I've made the Baklava, the Apple strudel, the Raspberry oatmeal bars and the Apple muffins and I can honestly say every one was a 10/10!!!! Ok, so they're not all super healthy but I wanted to make indulgent vegan desserts, and why not? The recipes are easy to follow, most have pictures and there are lots of useful tips too. Go for it, you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joy of Vegan Baking: The Compassionate Cooks' Traditional Treats and Sinful Sweets
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews