Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only heathy but appetizing foods
Finally, a nutrition book that includes coffee, chocolate and...wait for it... butter!

Forget about the diet plans and the experts claiming they can change your life... If you really want to improve your diet this is the book to read. Not only is the information backed up with science, Jonny Bowden's writing is entertaining and even makes you laugh in places...
Published on 6 April 2007 by Curiosity Killed The Bookworm

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate somnoporific.
Boring and very clinical to read.
Keep expecting an assignment at the end of my read,
May use it to dip in and out of but more likely it'll be in the charity bag before Autumn.
Published 13 months ago by Mrs. Linda Fulton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HEALTHIEST FOODS, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
I like to keep myself healthy and this book has open my eyes to foods which are good and not so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. S. M. Wellings "Fluffwump" (stroud UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
I just love this book, and have had my nose in it ever since it arrived, I love that it doesn't talk down to you, it doesn't assume that you are a brainless idiot like so many other books do and 10/10 for citing the research behind the info.My only improvement would be to anglicise it for readers across the pond, and also to have a list at the back, a synopsis of all of the foods with their important nutrients and what this is helpful for something like this ... Raisins - high in antioxidants, and Boron, helpful for bone health and to fight degenerative diseases, Not helpful for blood sugar or carb control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant book - buy it for an informative & potentially life changing effect!, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
This book has rave reviews and justifiably so. It is so informative & encouraging, easy to read format, beautifully presented and illustrated too. I am in the process of losing weight and its a great asset to have this book that encourages me to stay focused and reinforce the changes that I have made to the way I eat, also giving me a feel good factor each time I dip into it! The explanations for each entry are entertainingly written, easy to read, while giving the reader enough information to understand the science behind the reason that it is one of the 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth. Thank you to all the reviewers who take the time to leave them!
I own hundreds of books & this is one of my favourites in the life affirming genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, sound advice, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
I thought this book was a fascinating read. I got loads of ideas for new foods to try and I've already been experimenting and enjoying. I've also been passing advice on to friends and family who suffer with problems like arthritis, as this book makes suggestions of foods which may help.

I think it was a great idea to also include recommendations from other nutritionists, though often they were enforcing what Johnny is saying. I found his advice very honest, knowledgeable and trustworthy.

I found it sometimes was a little repetitive, but as most people would dip in and out rather than read it straight through, I don't really think this is a problem.

If you want to improve your health through eating good food, I'd highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about healthy eating, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
This book has everything you need to know about healthy eating. At the beginning he discusses Glycemic Index, Colestrol myths, and other useful stuff (I think anti-inflams and anti-oxidants are in there too). After that the book is well organised into sections for each type of food with a picture of that food (some of the foods are pretty obscure) and some clever insight into the health benefits of that food backed by research from leading universities. The information tends to talk about the food containing cancer fighting chemicals, anti-inflamatories, heart disease fighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic introduction but needs more recipes, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. D. Bird "Dan B" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
Reading through Bowden's book gives you some great ideas about how to make your diet more healthy and nutritious. However the book simply lists the foods and their health benefits. This is all very interesting, but I would have preferred more recipes which would give you ideas about how to introduce these foods into your daily diet. Overall a positive read though, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great variation for your Eating lifestyle!, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
Great book to vary, experiment and be reassured that your eating the right things. not only this it gives your explanations for goodness and indicators of why to avoid such food sources if you have medical conditions.

easy read, broken down into catorgories of food groups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excelent book, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
well happy with this book great price,delivery realy,realy interesting book to have.a got to have book will open your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous. Worth a read. Very interesting., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
Fabulous. Worth a read. Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and easy to read, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. LYONS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly layed out with well informed information.
The book works well as an e-book as it is divided into clear, short chapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews