Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only heathy but appetizing foods
Finally, a nutrition book that includes coffee, chocolate and...wait for it... butter!

Forget about the diet plans and the experts claiming they can change your life... If you really want to improve your diet this is the book to read. Not only is the information backed up with science, Jonny Bowden's writing is entertaining and even makes you laugh in places...
Published on 6 April 2007 by Curiosity Killed The Bookworm

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate somnoporific.
Boring and very clinical to read.
Keep expecting an assignment at the end of my read,
May use it to dip in and out of but more likely it'll be in the charity bag before Autumn.
Published 8 months ago by Mrs. Linda Fulton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only heathy but appetizing foods, 6 April 2007
By 
Curiosity Killed The Bookworm (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
Finally, a nutrition book that includes coffee, chocolate and...wait for it... butter!

Forget about the diet plans and the experts claiming they can change your life... If you really want to improve your diet this is the book to read. Not only is the information backed up with science, Jonny Bowden's writing is entertaining and even makes you laugh in places. Each food is illustrated in colour and actually makes you want to go and eat the stuff.

In addition to the above, there is no preaching about bad foods (other than trans fat which is fair enough). He explains the reasons why we should eat stuff and explains about the risks of chemicals on our food, when it's best to buy organic and the pros and cons of certain 'risks'.

I'm really looking forward to the cookbook when it's published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!, 5 Feb 2007
By 
Anna Kukhta (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
This is a beautifully presented book, a pleasure to look at with its crisp photos and clean layout. The content more than matches the promise of the aesthetics - it's packed with all sorts of gems, including:

* "Ask the Expert" top 10 food lists from various authorities who are either health writers or practitioners

* starred entries within the list of 150 foods, designating the cream of the crop

* a glossary that helpfully defines various nutrients, hormones, diseases, etc

* mini-lessons on such hot topics as the glycemic index, differentiation of fats, and eating organically

* interpretation of foods from homeopathic, Ayurvedic, and yoga nutritional therapy perspectives

The 150 selected foods are organised into chapters by food genres: Vegetables; Grains; Beans & Legumes; Fruits; Nuts, Seeds, and Nut Butters; Soy Foods; Dairy; Meat, Poultry, and Eggs; Fish and Seafood; Specialty Foods; Beverages; Herb, Spices, and Condiments; Oils; and Sweeteners. Each food listing carries an explanation of which nutrients makes it a winner, why these nutrients are so good for us, who in particular would benefit, and who's at risk and so should avoid that particular food. Jonny even frequently provides tips on selection and preparation.

So much of the information is fascinating, and often surprising. Discover that cashews are a member of the poison ivy family, while eggplant is actually a berry and falls into the nightshade grouping. Learn that raspberries are calorie for calorie one of the most high-fibre foods on the planet, and that spinach and tomatoes are great for your eyes thanks to the lutein in them. Determine how to convert unsalted butter to ghee, which is one of the finest cooking oils available and provides an important rejuvenating tonic for the mind, brain, and nervous system. And realize that country of origin of cheese affects its cancer-fighting, fat-reducing properties.

Although very entertaining, this book is still solidly backed by the science. The research presented is impressive, but Jonny is adept at making complex things simple. As a result, the book is an easy and engaging read - so much so that it feels a little like enjoying a conversation with Jonny over a cup of coffee (or, after reading this book, a glass of noni juice!).

If you want to understand what you're eating, its properties and how it affects your body, this well-considered book is a must-have. As a health and fitness trainer, I'm enthusiastically recommending this book to all my clients so they can achieve fat loss, health, and performance goals through informed dietary choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Treasure, 14 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviews this is a really nice book and very well illustrated. It is both a reference book and an enjoyable reading book.
It blows away many myths. People who know a lot about food and diet will still find much of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for people who want to eat foods for optimum health, 23 Dec 2010
By 
Donni Boo (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
I found this book very informative and useful in my pursuit of a healthy diet. It tells you which foods are good and why, such as those foods which help fight cancer and heart disease. A must if you're health concious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
I bought this book because of a recommendation by Olympic coach, Charles Poliquin. I read a lot of nutrition books and articles and I found this book to be different in a positive way. Good photographs and nice layout. The text is easy to read and understand, even though there is a lot of professional vocabulary. Also a lot of information not so common in other sources that has come very helpful in understanding what one is in fact eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will change your life, 29 Sep 2010
By 
G. Johnson "taxi driver" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
By far the best coffee table book of all time. Open on any page to learn something new and interesting. 95% of the foods featured are readily available in any supermarket. Its really easy to understand and also describes how certain foods will fight infections and prevent cancers,did you know onions are one of the best cancer fighting foods on the planet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has totally revolutionised my eating habits. It's very simple and well written. It's realistic and doesn't advocate faddy diets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, 14 July 2010
By 
M. Madanian (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
hi.
i am so very very happy with this book , it has helped me to appreciate and enjoy a wider variety of clean good foods.
it is well written and colorful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastico, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
Great book, with a lot of interesting facts. I never understood why some people went to the trouble of buying certain foods, I thought it looked the same so it must be the same. That couldn't be further from the truth, I'll never eat an apple that isn't organic again and eggs that are from caged hens.

If you care about your mental and/or physical health I would buy this book. There are many different foods that I didn't know existed, kale has became my favorite vegetable because of this book. I'm also a big fan of canned sardines in olive oil, it really surprised me how healthy they're.

I'd also like to say that eating healthy food is a lot more satisfying than eating junk. I'd pick a grass fed organic steak over a cheeseburger any day of the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 7 April 2011
By 
Glitterfoot (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. It can be used as a reference or just read as a book. At the moment, I'm looking up the food I eat every day in it. Its well laid out and very easy to read and browse though.

It has plenty of scientific information but without making your eyes glaze over. It's presented in a very user friendly fashion. Would recommend this book to anyone with even a vague interest in what and how they eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Only search this product's reviews