Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more interesting way to learn c++ basics
This book provides a good introduction to the c++ language using game programming as its focus, but don't expect to get through it in a weekend if you're a beginner as you will need to complete all of the examples and actually practice programming to get the most from it. The beginning sections of the book move at a reasonable pace, however, the pace does increase later...
Published on 26 Aug 2005 by Jon T

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good way to learn the basics of C++
Excellent book for beginners to learn C++ using text based games.

After that read Beginning Game Programming by Morrison for an intro into graphical gaming and building a simple game engine.

As ever you have to learn TWO different SKILLS, first the language itself and then gaming techniques. Have fun.
Published on 30 May 2006 by D. DALBY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more interesting way to learn c++ basics, 26 Aug 2005
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
This book provides a good introduction to the c++ language using game programming as its focus, but don't expect to get through it in a weekend if you're a beginner as you will need to complete all of the examples and actually practice programming to get the most from it. The beginning sections of the book move at a reasonable pace, however, the pace does increase later in the book making it essential that you understand each chapter before you move on. The main focus of the book is to produce 'simple' text based games to give the reader a good grounding, and this is done very well, so therefore don't expect directx, opengl,sdl or any of the other graphics libraries to be covered here, but if you ultimately want to learn graphics or game programming, this book will definitely help you onto the bottom rung of the ladder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - A must read, 5 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
WOW. I have tought myself some C++ from another book but never really found that I understood some of the more advanced topics. So I picked up this book and didnt put it down. I went through the whole book in one weekend and my understanding of C++ concepts is much much stronger. Even the advanced stuff. The book takes you through with examples which make the learning feel very relevant, which I didnt find with another book I had as it just felt like learning C++ for the sake of it, the examples had no relevance. However this book is targeted in a games programming area which helps the learning process easier. I would say pick this up to learn C++ even if you're not interested in games. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very, very good, 24 April 2007
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
but a little confusing at times......i found myself reading the first chapter around 4 times while trying to grasp the basics....this book is not a replacement for a proper teacher, but is very good if your just starting out in the development industry.....also it only deals with programming for text based games, such as guess a number, or a basic hangman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good way to learn the basics of C++, 30 May 2006
By 
D. DALBY "hypnoticpower.org.uk" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners to learn C++ using text based games.

After that read Beginning Game Programming by Morrison for an intro into graphical gaming and building a simple game engine.

As ever you have to learn TWO different SKILLS, first the language itself and then gaming techniques. Have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beginning c++ game programming review, 21 Aug 2005
By 
cai martlew (United Kingdom, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
Ok in this book you learn what you need to write c++ programs and the structure of the c++ programming language. It comes with a CD with all you need to start and is clear about what you learn. Previous experience with programming helps but if you dont have any experience it will walk you through. Also as it's title says this is for someone beggining c++,not for some who is already farmiliar with the language. The book doesn't cover 3D graphics. P.s You may also want to brush up on your maths. This book is a good read for the aspiring game designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners., 9 Mar 2006
By 
P. chang "Chibi" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking i could create my own games to play. Not quite what i was expecting to get out of it. I did however manage to learn how to programme in "C" using this book. But failed to actually program any sort of 'graphical' games. It only teaches you text based games. (Yes, don't even expect to be making basic games like space invaders!)
The book teaches you how to program by using gaming examples. I found it much easier to read and get into programming with this book. Simply because i can relate to the game examples shown.
If you were expecting to create the next Halo game for the xBox 360 with this book. I think you may have your expectations a little too high. As a person who loves games, i recommend this to anyone who also loves games and wants to learn C++.
I got a free CD with my book which contains all the sample codes used in the book and free C++ development software (Bloodshed Dev-C++), so you can start coding straight away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars text based, 17 Jan 2006
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
This book assumes you have no knowledge of c++ and starts at the complete bottom. It doesn't cover grahpics, instead it does text based games. Recommended for a complete beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! The best c++ book i've read!, 1 Sep 2005
By 
G. Buckingham (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
This book has to be one of the best to learn C++
It has everything you need to know to get started, even if your not focusing on game programming, this book is an excellent guide, much better than some of them out there. After buying C++ books and finding that they all go down the same path of going to fast, this book has become a great suprise to me, it is informative, easy to understand and goes at just the right pace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginner book, 13 Mar 2007
By 
Paul Davies "CrazyRabies" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
This book does an excellent job assuming no prior C++ experience. Although this book does not cover any graphical programming, it teaches a solid foundation of basic structures and principles that are necessary to create other more advanced programs. I see a lot of negative reviews here based on the above sentence, if this is the case then I think you purchased the wrong book. It is an easy mistake considering the amount of choice out there, I can only say in future maybe a little research on the book wouldn't go amiss. Overall, it is a very good place to begin as it takes a different approach to the regular "Teach Yourself..." type books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to program games or graphics? Start here!, 25 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. J. Pirie "John" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) (Paperback)
This book assumes no previous knowledge of C++ and starts from the bottom. Slowly, the book builds up your skills of C++ and by the end you will have a fairly good knowledge of the language as a whole.

Everything on the CD worked a dream, compiled fine.

The author has a very strong distaste for Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 as a compiler. I used that compiler through this book and I managed to get it to compile everything. The free compiler he supplies works fine for the examples too.

This is the first step to programming games, or other graphical applications. If you want to get into this area, I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development)
Beginning C++ Game Programming (Premier Press Game Development) by Michael Dawson (Paperback - 13 May 2004)
20.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews