Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read but not sure it's the full story.
Hatching Twitter is a great read, telling the story of how Twitter rose, somewhat haphazardly from Blogger and then Odeo. The story focuses on the backgrounds, personalities and infighting between the four co-founders (Noah Glass, Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone, Evan Williams) and it's a fascinating read. You're left wondering how the company was ever successful given the...
Published 12 months ago by NeilC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The author pines for a world where business doesn't involve.. erm... businesss
There's a fantastic amount of detail and depth in this story of the birth of Twitter, however the character assassination of Jack Dorsey along with the casting of the money men of the tech world (ie. the ones who make it possible) reduces the credibility of the book as a whole.
Published 12 months ago by James Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read but not sure it's the full story., 2 Jan 2014
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Paperback)
Hatching Twitter is a great read, telling the story of how Twitter rose, somewhat haphazardly from Blogger and then Odeo. The story focuses on the backgrounds, personalities and infighting between the four co-founders (Noah Glass, Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone, Evan Williams) and it's a fascinating read. You're left wondering how the company was ever successful given the dysfunction throughout its history. I thoroughly enjoyed the book but I would have two complaints. Firstly, this book takes the Evan Williams side throughout and he was clearly one of the more active participants (though all four co-founders were interviewed). Jack Dorsey in particular gets a very rough treatment being characterised as incompetent, narrow-minded, scheming and Machiavellian at various points. Maybe this is correct, but I couldn't help feel that the book lacked balance. Secondly, the book focuses almost solely on the people, not the product. It would have been fascinating to see how the product developed, how features were decided and added, and how the service we know today took shape. But this is sadly glossed over at best.

In summary, a great read, had me gripped, but has left me wanting to get another perspective and learn more about the company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read about an increasingly complex organisation, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
Having been a user of Twitter since 2008, I was interested to read the background to the company and understand how someone was able to create such a disruptive technology out of a seemingly simple idea.

The book tells the surprisingly tumultuous story about the inception of Twitter and the internal power struggles between the various invent... err, co-founders of the company. It takes the reader through the key characters of the company in its humble beginnings and attempts to give insight into the minds of Ev, Jack, Biz, Noah and everyone else as they adapt to the increasing maturity of the Twitter.

The Good:
- It's a great story about egos, emotions, and the birth of a disruptive technology out of a side project. It genuinely inspires budding technology entrepreneurs who think they need the killer idea up front. My favourite quote of the book is the sign hanging in their office saying "Let's make better mistakes tomorrow".
- Cameos from Mark Zuckerberg, President Medvedev and Snoop Dogg are very entertaining and give an insight into the rollercoaster early days of the company
- Nick Bilton seems to have been given great access to current and former Twitter employees, founders, board of directors etc. to be able to give such an in-depth account of movements in an organisation.

The Other:
- It's entirely a matter of personal taste, but I personally found the language to, at times, start sounding like fiction which threw me off a couple of times. The scene is set with such description that I wonder whether this is artistic license or a description given by an interviewee.

Example "It was dark outside as the rain pelted Dick Costolo's car relentlessly. He gripped the steering wheel with both hands trying to concentrate on the dark road. He was exhausted after the long flight from Indianapolis, where he had been speaking at a conference about Twitter. A few more miles, he thought, and I'll be home, out of these wet clothes"

Personally, I like non-fiction books that are detailed, but very matter-of-fact. This book has a different perspective which some people may find enjoyable.

Overall - Very enjoyable book, which I am pleased is being turned into a movie so people who may not be reading it, can still enjoy the story of Twitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hatching Twitter - Nick Bilton, 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Paperback)
I discovered Twitter a couple of years ago and just assumed it magically appeared online in its slick world changing format. This fascinating read documents the technological and emotional roller coaster from its accidental conception to the revolutionary social network it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
I can't comment on the accuracy of the content and this version of events of the forming of Twitter and at times the writing is a little on the unnecessarily flowery side (reminded me of reading a story written by a college student). However, this was a really good read and I enjoyed it a lot. One of the better (in terms of entertainment at least) bios of a tech company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting insight, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
Amazing Twitter is only 6 years old. Fascinating book.
Not sure how much it comes across as talent or luck that brought such huge success. I guess both. Right time and place is the key to success. But a lot of the time it reads as though they didn't know what they were doing...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The author pines for a world where business doesn't involve.. erm... businesss, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
There's a fantastic amount of detail and depth in this story of the birth of Twitter, however the character assassination of Jack Dorsey along with the casting of the money men of the tech world (ie. the ones who make it possible) reduces the credibility of the book as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
pleasantly narrative, states the facts in a gripping and non-sensationalist manner. it does cast heroes and villains, though, and one wonders how heroic or villainous these characters really were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great account of how Twitter came about, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Stu Greenham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
Worth a read! Interesting how much back stabbing was involved to get Twitter where it is today. Although very hollywoodised, the story is still a great one that should be told :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING, 25 Aug 2014
By 
AM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Paperback)
This book tells the story of Twitter from inception through to recent time and it's a gripping read. To steal the byline from the cover, it is a story of "money, power, friendship and betrayal" that reads like a fictional tale if we didn't know that Twitter was real.

Having read this and The Facebook Effect, I think this book is worthy of being made into a movie and is even more fascinating than the Facebook history. A 'story' of how a bad idea grew into a new, slightly crazy idea as a desperate measure to keep going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, full of interesting anecdotes and background, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatching Twitter (Kindle Edition)
I read the book in one sitting. So easy to read but also so informative. A great background to the Twitter story and lots of material for the Twitter Case Study as part of our Dimensions of Strategy series. The board room dramas, so fascinating. Perhaps the book should be called "Hatcheting at Twitter". A must read for start ups in social media, perhaps. John Ashcroft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hatching Twitter: A True Story of Money, Power, Friendship, and Betrayal
Used & New from: £4.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews