Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Must Read Seth Godin
If you've read any of Seth Godins books you've probably got a good take on "new marketing". If you haven't you need to get up to speed. Either way this book is a must read.
Building on the themes of Purple Cow and his previous writing, this "Liars" further defines why a new approach to marketing is absolutely necessary and describes what that new approach might...
Published on 31 May 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Stories and Experiences Help Attract and Retain Customers
All Marketers Are Liars is one of Seth Godin's better marketing books. If you have a choice between reading Purple Cow and All Marketers Are Liars, opt for this one.

The book is based on the observation that customers want to align with offerings and services that reinforce their positive self-images. I'm sure that idea isn't new to you. Otherwise, why would...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Stories and Experiences Help Attract and Retain Customers, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
All Marketers Are Liars is one of Seth Godin's better marketing books. If you have a choice between reading Purple Cow and All Marketers Are Liars, opt for this one.

The book is based on the observation that customers want to align with offerings and services that reinforce their positive self-images. I'm sure that idea isn't new to you. Otherwise, why would someone pay ten times as much for an item of frequently poor quality that has five cents worth of a brand image stitched into its front?

The book builds from these premises:

1. Don't waste your time trying to educate people about what their worldview should be or what your offerings are. Instead just slip into their preconceptions in a comfortable, authentic way.

2. You won't be noticed unless you fit into their worldview and seem to offer something new that they value.

3. An effective, authentic story can help you make a better and more lasting first impression.

4. Most of the future "experience" of your story will be assumed by customers who want to believe that you are what you say you are.

The book takes a little long to make those points. I found myself wishing this were a tightly edited article rather than a meandering book.

Part of Godin's "promise" to his fans is that he will "shake things up." As a result, the title is deliberately misleading to make people pick the book up . . . because ever customer has been lied to my a marketer or sales person. There's nothing new there. His "new" point for those who haven't studied marketing is that customers like a little sizzle with their steak.

If you know about the emotional value of a brand, this book is a waste of your time. If you think that people only care about product and service features, you need this book.

If you really want to learn about storytelling, I suggest you become acquainted with Stephen Denning's fine books on the subject. If you want to develop a sound foundation in marketing, see Phil Kotler's books.

If you want to be entertained without learning too much, stick with Mr. Godin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Must Read Seth Godin, 31 May 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (London, London, GB) - See all my reviews
If you've read any of Seth Godins books you've probably got a good take on "new marketing". If you haven't you need to get up to speed. Either way this book is a must read.
Building on the themes of Purple Cow and his previous writing, this "Liars" further defines why a new approach to marketing is absolutely necessary and describes what that new approach might be.
To quote from the book;
"There are only two things that separate success from failure in most organisations today:
1. Invent stuff worth talking about
2. Tell Stories about what you've invented"
As you'd expect from a book that celebrates storytelling, its a good read. The book is full of great examples to support his views and lots of very quotable stories and anecdotes.
If you're in business I think you need to read this. And I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To be read, 6 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Marketers Are Liars: The Underground Classic That Explains How Marketing Really Works--And Why Authenticity Is the Best Marketing of All (Paperback)
A good book to read if you're interested or concerned by marketing, sales or entrepreneurship. The idea described is very simple: can be understood by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational read, 18 May 2007
By 
Mr. G. P. Mills "GPM Networking" (Newcastle upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would have scored this as 4.5 if it was possible. It only failed to get top marks from me because there was a bit of repetition/reinforcement of the central themes. Really well written. An easy going style getting across some points that in other hands would have been overly complicated (such as Peter Fisks Marketing Genius). Anyone who is wondering why their marketing campaigns are not working should read this book. Specifying your benefits is not good enough anymore - no one believes you. You have to wrap it up in a good story that resonates with your target audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book from Seth Godin, 15 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read book for anyone trying to make themselves heard in a busy marketplace.
This book builds on Godin's earlier books and, if you haven't already read any, I would recommend starting with Purple Cow (and possibly Free Prize Inside) before this one.
The book drives home the point that you first need to have a truly remarkable product that appeals to a narrowly defined group of early adopters who are ready to "lie" to themselves (ie convince themselves) that your offering is outstanding in some way. They will then spread the word for you in a way that you simply could not do as a marketer (because no-one would believe you) until your product or service becomes mainstream.
Seth uses some excellent examples but you will quickly come up with your own ideas of products and services that have followed exactly this path.
Seth Godin also takes his own advice in the way he packages and propagates his remarkable ideas (so don't be put off by the quirky title).
Buy these books now, before they become mainstream!
Phil Gott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great marketing book, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite it was published almost 10 years ago, despite all the changes we faced this last decade, the thoughts and concepts Seth talks about are pretty up to date. I just loved to read about the "worldview" concept and the need to "frame" the comunication to that if you want to succeed.
I love books like this one: doesn't teach how to do it in detail, but makes you think how you can do it better using something new that you haven't thought about before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They Lied?!! The bastards!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Marketers Are Liars: The Underground Classic That Explains How Marketing Really Works--And Why Authenticity Is the Best Marketing of All (Paperback)
Ok so they didnt really lie, they just told the truth in a very selective fashion.Why? Because they have to!

Im a bit of a marketing neewbie but i have to say that I consider this one of the most eye opening books iv ever read.
Godin explains how the same fundamental tactics are employed time and time again by advertisers, politicians, newspapers, religious establishments etc to influence the average joe on the street.

Godins writing style is casual and jargon free and he seems to make it his mission to help people think for themselves and not become mindless sheep. Its the kind of book you will read in just a few hours, but you'll remember its lesson forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Marketers Are Liars: The Underground Classic That Explains How Marketing Really Works--And Why Authenticity Is the Best Marketing of All (Paperback)
One of the best books of Seth Godin. One of those books that stay current forever

If you're interested in storytelling this is your book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 13 Nov 2009
This is one of Seth Godin's easier reads - but is no less valuable for that. On the contrary, there is lots of though provoking material between the covers. I actually recommend this book to my staff as required reading, and I get good reports back from them. I think the thesis is an interesting one - It's one of those books where you end up in a place where you feel you already knew some of that intuitively, but never really took time out to think it through. I think it's well worth taking the time to both read this book and think through the implications!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a 3 page essay., 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: All Marketers Are Liars: The Underground Classic That Explains How Marketing Really Works--And Why Authenticity Is the Best Marketing of All (Paperback)
He says in the book that he really had a ghostwriter named Mo Samuels write this book around a 3 page outline.

Then he says this is just a trick played to illustrate a worldview.

I am inclined to believe that the book was based off of a 3 page outline and that he is using the very methods he describes in the book to market the book as more fleshed out than it really is. He even dedicates the book to someone named Mo.

There were a few good points and anecdotes in the book. I put exactly two paragraphs from the book into my personal notes. It about all the value that I needed to take from this book. Everything else is either common sense, possibly a fake anecdote, or pure filler.

Someone named Donald? Wrote a review that sums up 5 or so points that the book laid out. You can read that review and save your time instead of reading the whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews